We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I expected...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Military Family Rate
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Central, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what I expected...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in Norfolk for two days, I chose this hotel because I know the Hampton Inn brand, and always know what I am going to get.

Other then the TV that bearly worked (I saw a note on the day of my departure, that stated new 32" plasma tv's were coming the following day), everything was fine.

The breakfast was hot, hotel staff were pleasant. Exactly what I have come to expect .... no matter which Hampton Inn. If I had one wish....the Hampton Inn's would offer ceramic coffee mugs...those little plastic cups seem like a waste, and not envoronmentally friendly.

And, I did end up skipping my morning workout....the treadmill was older and not in tip-top condition.

Overall, if I were coming back to Norfolk, VA...I would stay at the Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    78
    33
    14
    13
See reviews for
76
32
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

This hotel has been the best Hilton stay I have ever had! It is close to the base and Interstate, and in a safe part of town. If you are coming to visit you family in the Navy or Marines, this is the place to stay!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Arrived at the Hampton Inn last night for a one night work stay. The front desk attendant seemed a little distracted and I'm still not sure that he wasn't the only person working that evening. Got my room and it was okay. View was of the containers and the Hardee's. My colleague had bigger problems as the clerk kept giving him keys to rooms that were occupied.

My biggest gripe was the layout of the bathroom. The towels didn't hang and I found them under the sink. I'm sure it was to save space, but a pain when you're getting out of the shower. I also noticed that the desk and the chair were totally different heights. So be aware that if you're planning to do work here, you'll want to put the laptop on your lap, otherwise you'll feel like a puppeteer. And the business center is essentially out in the open right across from the front desk, which I found odd.

I like Hampton Inns. A lot. Just not this one. If you have business at the Naval Base, then this might be okay. If not, keep on looking. I know I'm going to.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I arrived at the hotel around 10:30 PM. From the outside it doesn't look grand but the lobby was clean and inviting. The desk attendant was very friendly and accommodating.

The room was great! Very clean and homey. Even the smallest details like the air vents and the grout in the shower were spotless! The room was comfortable with a nice AC unit.

The only very small negatives I have with this property were that there weren't too many actual sit down restaurants close by and that there were very few channels on the tv.

Fantastic property overall.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Internet was pretty slow and handicapped parking is too far from the elevators.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

If you are looking for friendly service, stay here. The staff were nice and somewhat knowledgeable about the area. All things considered, I would not stay here again. The complimentary breakfast was lack luster to inedible. The room cleanliness was sub par. In addition, they only had one computer in their business center. We only paid $30 a night, so like I said "it is what it is". Hampton Inn is owned by the Hilton corp and we did expect better.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We try to stay at a Hampton Inn when we travel and have never been disappointed . Each one has its own flavor overtone which complements Hampton's service foundation. Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base is another star within the Hampton family.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Address: 8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#9 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn is the perfect place to stay if looking for hotels in Norfolk, VA near the Naval Base. Our hotel is conveniently located to one of the largest Naval ports in the world and is minutes from Old Dominion University, the USS Wisconsin, Nauticus Maritime Museum, and Chrysler Museum. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed in 1 king or 2 doubles. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.