We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Work at NAVSTA Norfolk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Military Family Rate
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Location for Work at NAVSTA Norfolk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Can't beat the location for Government work at NAVSTA Norfolk - 5 minutes to Gate 5 and "the world's largest NEX". Close-by grocery store and restaurants a plus. Service and breakfast were excellent, but this hotel is showing its age. Could use some updating to command the rate this hotel charges as well as an evening beer/wine service to stay competitive with downtown hotels. Also, all rooms should come standard with mini refrigerators and microwaves (could use some kitchen utensils as well, as rooms currently so equipped demand a higher rate as "kitchenettes").

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    74
    33
    14
    13
See reviews for
69
30
22
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Staff is very efficient. Check-in and check-out were both really quick. Complementary breakfast is high quality. WiFi and heating unit worked well. The only thing left to be desired was a refrigerator and/or microwave in the room. Other than that, I really couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My Wife and I stayed here on a weekend visit to Norfolk, VA. I am retired US Navy and have traveled all over the world. This was and outstanding hotel. The staff was Very Helpful, the Breakfast was quite nice, the Bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. We plan on returning. There are not to many business that honor our military by offering a military discount. I thank Hampton Inn for offering that discount.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel location, amenities and the staff were great. The price was also reasonable. The comforters were really clean and soft, plenty of good pillows. Plenty of parking. Walking distance to Food Lion and other restaurants. Coffee and tea always available in the lobby, coffee lovers, it is good coffee too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St. Lucie Florida, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I've used this Hampton Inn for years doing business on the base. It's getting old and it appears Hilton is not overly eager to keep it up to the standard of most of their other properties. Access door broken, printers broken, no hot water. A night came off my bill for the trouble of not getting a shower, but since my company actually benefited, I would rather have paid and had a shower!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopemills, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

When I stay at a Hampton I'm never disappointed. The only thing I didn't like about this stay was that I didn't have a fridge in my room. I found out that only the king rooms have fridges. I'll be back because my son is stationed there at Norfolk Naval Station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have pretty high standards of cleanliness when it comes to staying in hotels. Although I view online reviews with guarded skepticism, I decided to select this hotel for my first business trip to the Norfolk Naval Base. Luckily, the positive reviews for this hotel were true. In December I was scheduled for a second trip to the Norfolk Naval Base. Choosing this hotel for my second stay was a no-brainer. Although it appears to be an older hotel, it is very clean and a well-maintained property. The staff is very courteous and helpful and will greet you with a smile and ask if they can help you with anything. The breakfast bar has a good selection of hot and cold food items. With the location being as close as you can get to the naval base without actually being on base, it's perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Address: 8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#9 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn is the perfect place to stay if looking for hotels in Norfolk, VA near the Naval Base. Our hotel is conveniently located to one of the largest Naval ports in the world and is minutes from Old Dominion University, the USS Wisconsin, Nauticus Maritime Museum, and Chrysler Museum. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed in 1 king or 2 doubles. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.