We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel, Good location to the Navy Base.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Military Family Rate
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Older Hotel, Good location to the Navy Base.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Good Staff, Hotel is older but well maintained, pool and hot tub. Walking distance to several fast food restaurants and a ruby tuesday. Location is a plus if you are doing business in the Norfolk Naval Base.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    78
    33
    14
    13
See reviews for
76
32
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

After a stay from HELL at another hotel...I checked in after telling the clerk of my nightmare she matched the rate I was paying with approval from her manager of course...My room was very clean..breakfast was great every morning. I felt like they went out of there way to make my extended stay as close to home as possible.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Woke up and went downstairs for breakfast- noticed a familiar looking car go past the window on a tow truck- it was mine!! Front desk said my car alarm was going off all night bothering people. They didn't know whose car it was and tried a few rooms to try to find out whose it was but gave up.

I'm not unreasonable and I understand why they would have it towed- if they hadn't taken my car info when I checked in! They even needed my license plate number! Why do they take this info if I am going to find out about an issue with my car by seeing it riding off on a tow truck. Morons.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel and we were not impressed. The staff were the only plus that we could see...They are very friendly and helpful which was nice. I got a little scared when I saw a sign on the front door that said you had to be buzzed in after 10pm which was for the hotel guests safety..The room was not as clean as I am used to from a Hampton Inn. The rug looked very worn and the bathroom toliet kept running all night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This Hampton Inn was friendly clean and lived up to its wonderful name. The room was very clean also the bed was very comfortable. Unlike other hotels that have few stations to watch we was well entertained the entire night by movies on the stations they provided . Rooms was a nice size with a sitting chair with foot rest also a desk for free internet which works great. This is enough space for a total of 4. They also provide you with lots of personal items and towels. If your looking for a great place thats pieceful,clean this is the place. They also provide you with a free hot breakfast yummy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

This hotel was amazing in so many ways. After cancelling my reservation in Hampton (due to bed bugs-ugh!), I ended up in Norfolk at this hotel. My colleagues and I were pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. Everyone said hello, from the front desk staff to housekeeping. Our rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. There were so many freebies including breakfast, water bottles, a newspaper, and a take away breakfast if you didn't have time.

There were only two things I would've changed. The gym equipment is pretty old and there were only three machines (one elliptical, one treadmill, and one bike), but it was sufficient. Also, there is a train and naval base nearby. The train was loud, but I never heard it after midnight. Sometimes the planes flying by woke me up. But honestly, these were minor things compared to how great this place was. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

I am always a little leary about hotels before I book, ESPECIALLY if they are under 4-stars. However- this hotel had gotten such good reviews and the pictures on the site were tempting so I booked for the Labor Day weekend and used my govt ID- knocked my rate down to $80/night. (Much better than any of the other hotels near/on VA Beach as that was why I booked this trip.)

Instead of a long write-up, I'll just give you reasons why I would definitely stay at this hotel again:

Pluses
- IMMACULATELY CLEAN
- Front Desk let me early check-in at 10 AM! Check-in is normally at 2 or 3 PM.
- Complimentary breakfast wad pretty darn good.
- Room was beautifully appointed.
- Parking was free.
- On a main road surrounded by plenty of fast food places, restaurants, convenience stores, etc.
- Only about 20 mins drive to VA Beach oceanfront.
- Quiet and peaceful hotel.

Minus
- The area is a bit industrial (but you're by a naval base-so what do you really expect?)
- No view

All in all, I had a pleasant stay. The front desk staff were the BEST!!! Very pleasant and accomodating (early check-in without a hassle always makes or breaks a hotel for me!) I would definitely stay here again if visiting VA Beach rather than paying triple for a beachfront hotel. My room here actually rivaled that of the Marriott Marquis in Atlanta and that place is 4.5 stars! :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Address: 8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#9 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn is the perfect place to stay if looking for hotels in Norfolk, VA near the Naval Base. Our hotel is conveniently located to one of the largest Naval ports in the world and is minutes from Old Dominion University, the USS Wisconsin, Nauticus Maritime Museum, and Chrysler Museum. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed in 1 king or 2 doubles. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.