We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bath” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay to your Saves list
Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1010 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503 (Formerly Quality Inn Bayview/Naval Base)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    35
    26
    42
See reviews for
61
28
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I tried to get something cheap, close to the ocean and I did. Problem is this place was worth much less than the advertised price. When we walked in my wife saw fecal material on the toilet seat. The carpet and bedding was fair, but when a roach fell off the ceiling onto my wife that was it. This place is in a cheaper end of town and the other guests looked like drunks and hookers hanging out in folding chairs on the balcony. Police were in the parking lot when we arrived. My wife went down to tell the clerk we were leaving and she gave us our refund, but by time we went to check out the shift had changed and the gentleman we tried to talk to did not understand us and we couldn't understand him. I almost never write a bad review, you can check, so take this as a warning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Let me thank you for taking the time to address this matter to our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. As hospitality professionals we try our best to resolve concerns and offer the best service possible. Having said, that I would like to extend a sincerely apology for your stay and the events described in your review. All of our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and deodorized between guests but in this case it would appear that we may not have achieved success. If you would like to call the hotel and speak to me directly I would like to further learn from your experience and invite you to visit us later this season and offer us a chance to redeem ourselves in your mind. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We reserved a non-smoking room, arrived at 1:15am and was given a smoking room with both locks on door broken. Desk manager was not accomodating. Would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Let me thank you for taking the time to put the comment. Sorry for the inconvenience you had during your stay, you had mde the reservation thru hotels.com and they had book the smoking room. And the lock you are talking about is not the lock was a latch and that was not broken it was safety latch and it will crack open the door not all the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay

Address: 1010 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503 (Formerly Quality Inn Bayview/Naval Base)
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake
Super Eight Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.