We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    35
    26
    42
See reviews for
61
28
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We reserved a non-smoking room, arrived at 1:15am and was given a smoking room with both locks on door broken. Desk manager was not accomodating. Would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Let me thank you for taking the time to put the comment. Sorry for the inconvenience you had during your stay, you had mde the reservation thru hotels.com and they had book the smoking room. And the lock you are talking about is not the lock was a latch and that was not broken it was safety latch and it will crack open the door not all the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This Super 8 was wonderfully located right next to the ocean! We watched the sunset from the second-floor balcony and took a night beach walk. The beach access is right in the hotel parking lot. The room was well appointed, clean, and well maintained, fitting our family of five easily. The breakfast provided was basic, including carbs, fruits, and yogurts. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on improvement and making guest experience the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustburg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is an older hotel and the rates are very inexpense. The employees were very nice. If you are looking for an inexpense place close to Virginia Beach and local stores etc. this is the place to stay. It's older but you get what you pay for. No bugs, no problems and a nights sleep! We were able to walk the beach that night it's that close. I would go back for sure! I only wish they allowed pets.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on improvement and making guest experience the best it can be. Hope to see you in future when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay

Address: 1010 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503 (Formerly Quality Inn Bayview/Naval Base)
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake
Super Eight Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;