We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay to your Saves list
Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1010 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503 (Formerly Quality Inn Bayview/Naval Base)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    48
    42
    74
See reviews for
97
42
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I give this hotel a highly favorable review mainly for being just what I expected. A decent room at a fair price and located in a nice area. Check in was easy and fast. Had my room key in less than 5 min. The gentleman at the counter was pleasant. Checked out my room and was pleased with what I saw. From other reviews I read I thought I would see a disaster but all I see is a nice comfy king size bed with oh so soft fluffy pillows. Floor, bathroom, fridge, microwave are all clean. Nothing ratty or broken. My room has a regular TV. Not the flat screens everyone is so used to now these days. I don't care what kind of TV it is, every channel is clear and reception just fine. The beach is just a few steps away. It's right behind the hotel, so that's a big plus. I love the view as well. You can see the lights of the Hampton Roads Bridge Tunnel. I will definitely return to this hotel again someday. Quiet and pleasant. I picked the right time to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, Manager at Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on improvement and making guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Again, thank you for your comments and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews after we booked the rooms, wasn't quite sure about the place, but when we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. Yes the outside needs some tlc, but it was not bad. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the ac was working just fine. Some work needs to be done on the outside the hotel and I'm sure some of the rooms do to, but for the 3 of us it was a great week. If we ever go back, would like to stay again at the hotel. We stayed the week of August 16 - 23, 2013. Thanks to a great staff as well!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, Manager at Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for let us accommodate you and your family on your vacation and taking the time to put a review for the hotel, hope to see you again in the near future when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

we thought due to the location it would be nice. we had been driving all around looking for a hotel in a decent area. as we got closer the area began to change. when we arrived checked in and then opened the door and were mortified. being 2am and not from the area we stayed till the sun came up and got out at first light. complained to front desk asked to speak with manager she said he would call me he never did. never took a minute to offer any discount as the room was not cheap. so when they take time to respond to this like it seems like they care.... they don't or they would have called

Room Tip: stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, Manager at Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Let me thank you for taking the time to address this matter to our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. As hospitality professionals we try our best to resolve concerns and offer the best service possible. Having said, that I would like to extend a sincerely apology for your stay and the events described in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
Americas Best Value Inn
#22 of 39 in Norfolk
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn Lake Wright
#19 of 39 in Norfolk
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Northwest Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#33 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay

Address: 1010 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503 (Formerly Quality Inn Bayview/Naval Base)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake
Super Eight Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.