We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the worst hotel experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay to your Saves list
Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1010 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503 (Formerly Quality Inn Bayview/Naval Base)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    35
    28
    43
See reviews for
61
28
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Horrible hotel...dirty rooms...crackers and dust all over the floor...spiders, bugs...
complimentary breakfast?- coffee and cereal...no service at all...the door lock in our room was broked, the refridgerator didn't work... a lady promised to send a maintainance worker...we stayed from Saturday and left on Monday...nobody showed up...nobody was care about anybody or anything...

Room Tip: Do not book! Do not go there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, Manager at Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Let me thank you for taking the time to address this matter to our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. You willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated. Our super 8 is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We took our usual family vacation... 3 rooms for 4 nights each 1200 in room fees. The rooms had sand all in them... piles in 2 of them... and grit in the other 2... one of the rooms (mine) i guess hasnt been rented out in forever there were no tissues and there were spider webs all in the place with baby spiders and some kind of fruit fly (didnt have any fruit with me) overall this time was very horrible to be truthful i might try the motel across from the pier next year. I cant believe how things have gotten over the past 6 years that i have been going down there and using this particular motel. Please do something to try and make it up to me and my family because the front desk didnt want to hear it and the maid service all she said was oh sorry but then left the mess??? what kind of service is that showing your faithful customers? My nephew even got shocked turning the light on by the switch, please tell me whats up with that?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, Manager at Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to put down the review. I am sorry for what happened during your stay, also when you notified at the desk about the same and when I came and check all the things at that time nothing was found and you told me that it was there and kind of things and then you told me that you want some kind of compensation on your room as you brought all the people here and there room not clean but on asking to show what is dirty you cannot find anything like what had mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay

Address: 1010 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503 (Formerly Quality Inn Bayview/Naval Base)
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake
Super Eight Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.