We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay - 00” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay to your Saves list
Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1010 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503 (Formerly Quality Inn Bayview/Naval Base)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
GAINESVILLE
1 review
“Stay - 00”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I understand that we were near the coast in a warmer environment. We found roaches scurrying in the room. We also had a noisy air conditioner which made watching TV and sleeping challenging. The room also had little maintenance issues (holes in walls from failed wall anchors, refrigerator needed a replacement magnetic seal, clean carpet to remove stains, curtains that would stay closed to limit others looking in from the outside to name a few. We got what we paid for,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, Manager at Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Let me thank you for taking the time to address this matter to our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.All things which were pointed by you has been taken care of. Our super 8 is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Thanks Rick Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    37
    29
    45
See reviews for
62
30
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

When I arrived and was given the room number, my key didn't work for the room. Then once I had the room, the air conditioning didnt' work. I was given another room, but the TV didn't work properly. The remote didn't work at all. The matresses were worn and I wasn't able to get additonal towels when I asked for them. I wa told that they could only allow a selected amount of towels per room. I was given 2 towels, 2 hand towels, 2 wash cloths, and 1 floor towel. The hairdryer didn't work, so I was unable to dry my hair after washing it. If you ignore all of these setback, my stay would be nice, but I was there with my daughter to attend my cousin's wedding and I was not pleased at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick P, Manager at Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank You for taking time to review us. I am sorry to hear all these issues. We will make sure that it doesn't happen again. Also due to your inconvenience you were already compensated $25 at checkout.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAGSBORO
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Enjoyed the stay. very friendly and situated right on the water. willstay again. could use a little better wifi signal in the room. overall nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick P, Manager at Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for taking a time to finishing the review. Hope to see you next time when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay

Address: 1010 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503 (Formerly Quality Inn Bayview/Naval Base)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake
Super Eight Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.