We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Norfolk Naval Base to your Saves list
Quality Inn Norfolk Naval Base
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8051 Hampton Blvd., Norfolk, VA 23505 (Formerly Comfort Inn Norfolk Naval Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I had a list of hotels recommended by the school and went down it until I found one close to my meeting room in my price range. Danielle, who took my reservation, was very professional and helpful. When I got into the city (for the first time), I took a wrong turn and called the hotel in a panic. Danielle was again working the front desk and determined where I was and read the map to me over the phone until I got back on Hampton Blvd. The room I had was very good for the money and I found all of the guests and staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    7
    7
    15
See reviews for
12
10
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Our first room about gagged you with the smell of mold and/or mildew. I think if we had stayed in that room, we would end up sick. I went to the office to request a different room and the guy quickly gave me a new one. The second room was on the other side of the building and when we went over there, we noticed there was a condemned room directly on the other side of the building from our first room. I can only imagine it was due to mold and it is spreading through the walls.
The second room did not smell as bad, but it seemed as though they used a lot of air freshener to cover up the smell. We went back to the office and checked out 5 minutes later. Luckily, they gave us a full refund.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1QualityGM, Manager at Quality Inn Norfolk Naval Base, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
I would like to thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We take these issues very seriously, a mold issue could cause alot of harm and expense to a property and its guests. I will point out the room on the other side was hit by a car ( no one was hurt ). I expect the repairs to begin this week. If you feel you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to call me anytime. John H General Manager 757-451-0000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

thanks you for all the great assistance and service

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We reserved a king/no smoking. Apparently the room had been previously a smoking room as it definitely had the distinct odor of smoke. The carpet was pretty stained. So much so, that I didn't want to walk around with my shoes off. The staff (both front desk and the lady who took care of the breakfast area) were rather sullen. They definitely weren't the friendliest bunch of people I met on this trip. We only chose to stay here because the Best Westerns were too expensive in Norfolk and this was cheap enough and close to the Naval Base.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

Overall, the rooms were so-so and ok., but next time I come to town, I will stay somewhere else because:

The Internet didn't work,
Hotel staff was rude and wouldn't properly process our tax-exempt invoice for government employees.
The advertised continental breakfast lacked juices, yogurts and fruit so I had to eat breakfast elsewhere. The staff couldn't care less.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1QualityGM, John H GM at Quality Inn Norfolk Naval Base, responded to this review, January 29, 2010
I am sorry to hear your stay was not 100% satifactory and I apologize for that. Unfortunately the state and federal governments have strict guidelines as to whom may be considered tax exempt and certain criteria must be met. Our staff is always here to assist our guests withany and all issues immediately as soon as they are brought to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

I booked this place a few days prior to family road trip on a Labour day weekend to Virginia Beach. Due to high cost in Virginia Beach, I opted to go a bit further to save on accommodations. Prior to calling the hotel for a price quote, I was getting higher prices on places such as Expedia. I am glad I was able to speak to Kelly from Quality Inn. She provided excellent customer service, prompt answers, and lower price. Upon arrival, after 12 hours of driving, the front desk staff were very helpful, promptly checked us in and provided tip on places to eat.
Only downside is the small washroom space, no microwave in the room, and lack of storage space. There were 4 of us sharing a 2 double bed standard room.
Please note, we used our car to travel back and forth between Virginia Beach and Norfolk. We used our vehicle to look for food and to wander around the area. Restaurants are within 3 miles North of Hwy 13. A good Chinese buffet place was Dynasty. They had sushi, fish, crabs, and Mongolian grill. Lunch on Saturday was $7 per person. Good price and good food.


I am glad to have stayed at this place. Tthey had ample parking, next to the highway exits, clean rooms, quite location despite being next to an airport, and great price. I would recommend to stay here. Just a quick note, If you are a choice hotel member, it is better to book thru the website in order to obtain extra points.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

Our extended family stayed in three rooms for two nights. All of us were very unhappy. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, bathroom light was burned out, the floors were dirty (old toothpicks on the floor) and stained, and SOMEONE HAD LEFT THEIR DIRTY CLOTHES IN THE ROOM. The front desk check in took forever. The manager sat in his office for quite a long time while many of us waited in line. One room was not properly reserved inspite of 4 phone calls before the stay. We were charged $10 more than the quote I was given when I called to book rooms on the phone. The breaksfast was good.
This place is a dump, and very poorly managed.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty, and the beds were VERY uncomfortable
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1QualityGM, John H GM at Quality Inn Norfolk Naval Base, responded to this review, January 29, 2010
I am sorry to see you were still not satisfied. After we had spoken and I had discounted an extra room that was not reseved I had felt you were satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Address: 8051 Hampton Blvd., Norfolk, VA 23505 (Formerly Comfort Inn Norfolk Naval Station)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Norfolk Naval Base 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of the hotel's 120 rooms are tastefully decorated and designed with you comfort in mind. Guests are offered comfortable double beds or king accommodations, along with friendly service. Business travelers and tourists will find the up-to-date amenities convenient, and will make their stay productive and enjoyable. Our superior staff is waiting to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Norfolk Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Norfolk Naval Base Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Norfolk Naval Base, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.