We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norfolk VA. Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Norfolk Waterside Marriott to your Saves list
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   235 E Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Norfolk VA. Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a nice hotel, comfortable & clean & well located. However, there is a $ 10.00 daily fee
for WiFi. I think that is pretty sad in view of the fact that Holiday Inn Express & Hampton Inns
both offer free WiFi. Anything to gouge a customer, I guess. Anyway, it leaves me with a bad
Impression in an otherwise pleasant stay. Shame on Marriott !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay, and the service that our staff provided. Your comments will be expressed to them. We are fully aware that you have many choices in hotels and are happy that you continue to allow us to the opportunity of serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    199
    81
    31
    26
See reviews for
77
116
28
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Spent 3 nights here on business. Hotel is a typical Marriott but the location is great, right on the river and close to downtown Norfolk. USS Wisconsin and the McArthur Centre are both just a short walk away and the ferry to Potsmouth departs from just outside. I had a good sized room on the 6th floor with a comfortable bed and views of the dockyard and Portsmouth. The breakfast buffet was OK with omlettes made to order and the restaurant overlooks the river. Other pluses were the friendly staff and free wifi. Would definitely consider staying here again when in Norfolk.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We do hope that you will find your way back to Norfolk and to the Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel sometime soon. Thank you very much for your review which mentions our convenient proximity to the Downtown Entertainment District with its many dining and entertainment options. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Robert Henley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent last weekend in Norfolk with four friends to attend the NATO Festival and Tattoo. We had a delightful time. We stayed at the Marriott in rooms overlooking the water. Everything was up to Marriott's usual standards. The Tattoo is always wonderful and inspiring. We had attended the Tattoo in Edinburg last August and Norfolk's is, while not as big, was just as enjoyable. We always leave with our feelings of patriotism renewed. The parade the next day was even better than last year and we especially enjoyed the performance of the Celtic singers. It is held right outside of the hotel, so very convenient. After the parade we visited the Botanical Gardens, riding the tram around the grounds. After dinner in Virginia Beach, we returned to the Marriott. We retired to the second floor lounge and enjoyed Irish Coffees sitting in front of the fireplace. Another perfect weekend at a Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
On behalf of the entire team, thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel We are so humbled by your feedback and we truly value your loyalty!

Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day to exceed our guests’ expectations always striving for Excellence. We can’t wait till our next opportunity to serve you and your family when your travels next bring you to Norfolk.

Thank you,

Robert Henley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I organised an event in this hotel on 11-12 April 2013 and stayed here for 6 days. The rooms have been refurbished and are well decorated. The rooms were clean although we had an East facing room and after mid-day the sun was blasting our room – air conditioning wasn’t working properly - someone already posted a complain about this – resulting in a ‘hot’ room during the stay. The rooms are not equipped with a safe which is strange for a Marriott Hotel and those available at reception were all out of action. Pay-tv is very expensive (around $22 for a movie) plus they charge you ‘satellite charges’ and local taxes if you check out – somewhat mis-leading as this is nowhere mentioned. We had access to the business lounge – available food is disappointing with only one day during my stay the availability of a chef to cook an omelet. Opening times are confusing as well – on the right near the entrance there is a sign with the opening times which is different from the times – which you can barely see – on the entrance door. Resulting in turning up for breakfast past the opening time! Also why is it closed on a Saturday? Our event went well but banqueting lacked some imagination and customer services. During coffee/tea breaks they would all disappear and if you needed anything (like extra tea bags or coffee cups) they were nowhere to find! We were not very impressed with the food served including desserts for our event – again not up to Marriott standards - not great for the money paid. Last but not least they overcharged me by around $1000.00 but when you point this out they don’t want to know! They took my money and it has now been two weeks but no answer from anyone. Someone posted a similar experience – it is ashame because they DO give you the impression they are industry professionals!

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the halls (the corner ones) are quite good - take the ones looking out on the Sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
It is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels they did not have their expectations met nor does it reflect the high standards of customer service that we set. While we never like to read that one of our guests has experienced poor service, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. Thank you for sharing your story with us.

Thank you,

Robert Henley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My stay here was on Marriott Points. At Marriott Hotels you get upgraded if you are Gold status or higher on free stays which is a nice perk. I stayed here years ago when this property was a top notch Marriott Hotel. Maybe I came at a bad time. You can't beat the beds at these properties and my Concierge room was top notch. However all hot tubs were out of order and the whole spa area looked run-down. Breakfast service was questionable at best. Overall service and staff friendliness was not up to par with other Marriott properties I have stay at in the past. I am glad I did not pay cash for this room and would have rather used my points elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced during your last visit. Unfortunately, the spa pump broke and a new one was sent to us and is now fixed. We are still continuing with the hotel renovations with the guest rooms, hallways, concierge lounge and lobby complete. Your comments about breakfast have been shared with the food and beverage department to help improve our service to all of our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stay at this hotel when i go on the Spirit of Norfolk. Great location for views of the city and the water. Hotel is in walking distance of restaurants and attractions. Large clean room and friendly staff. Will stay here everytime I'm in Norfolk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. As you are aware from your other visits, we are centrally located to all the downtown attractions. So the next time you take a cruise on the Spirit of Norfolk, please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for two nights while visiting my brother in Norfolk. Seemed convenient to most of the downtown attractions, although we didn't really go to any of them. The bed was soft and comfortable, which is most important. Room was clean and well decorated. Will likely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. We are glad that we could provide you a soft, comfortable bed and a clean room. The next time you come to Norfolk to visit your brother, you know where to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Address: 235 E Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Waterside Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.