We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but corridors could use some paint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Save Saved
You added Norfolk Waterside Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   235 E Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice room but corridors could use some paint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I think it's a pity about the paintwork in the corridors because it's the only reason I can think of for not rating it 5/5. I found the staff very friendly and efficient, especially Grace in reception. The girl who dealt with my reservation was great too, unfortunately I can't remember her name as I booked it a couple of months prior to my trip.
The only other downside is that the bars close at 11pm prompt, even to residents which I found unusual and wasn't popular with others watch a football game that had 13 mins. left in the fourth quarter. If you go there check out the descrete bar at the top of the stair case, especially if you're with your partner. The open fire looks great, even if it is gas (I presume), and has more comfortable seating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We are presently in the middle of a renovation of all our guest rooms and hallway. Both of these areas are receiving new wallpaper and rug. The next time you visit us, you can give us a 5/5. Please accept our sincere apology for closing the bar during the game. This should never happen and had been addressed with all of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    176
    67
    26
    25
See reviews for
67
104
28
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and everything was excellent, would recommend if you are coming to Norfolk! Bar/restaurant serves great steaks and burgers and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Gym is well equipped, although pool is small and very shallow (they claim 3 ft deep, but I reckon it's only just over 2ft).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our great food and helpful and friendly service in Shula's 347 Grill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during the Thanksgiving holiday. We were there to spend the holiday with family. The room had a great view of the harbor, being on the 23rd floor; it was spacious and as with other Marriott properties in this category, the bed was very comfy and the linens high-end. It was right smack in downtown Norfolk and walking distance to the mall and other points of interest. Obviously, we spent Black Friday shopping at MacArthur Mall which is only two blocks from the hotel. We had access to the Concierge Suite for breakfast and the food was good with a lot of variety. I would stay there again when visiting my niece and her family who lives 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent visit over the holiday week. As you discovered during your visit, we are very fortunate to be centrally located in downtown Norfolk close to shopping, restaurants, museums, and Town Point Park. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our food and services in the Concierge Lounge. The next time you visit your niece, we hope you will come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I spent 4 days at the Marriott in Norfolk for a business meeting. The rooms were spacious (by hotel standards) the beds confortable, the rooms were quiet and clean. The staff were very cordial and helpful. The convention facilities were excellent and the central location to downtown Norfolk was great.

The indoor pool was average size, rectangular, and allowed limited lap swimming. The exercise facilities were well equipped with many types of machines and weights. Overall very good.

I would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. If every guest would describe us as "clean and guite rooms" and "very cordial and helpful staff," we would be very happy. If you ever take a golf outing in the Hampton Roads area, please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The following is an email I sent to the Assistant General Manager on Nov. 20th. I have heard nothing back, so I am expressing my experience here:

I am writing to you today to share my experience I had in your hotel while visiting the second floor lounge area last night, Nov. 19. I am new to the Hampton Roads area and I wanted to get out and visit some places where I could enjoy a drink and time with my book. I found the lounge area on the second floor the perfect spot. As soon as I found the perfect place by the fire in a wonderful leather wing back chair surrounded by the soft lighting, dark wood, and the subtle sound of the old time jazz in the background. I quickly was relaxed and into the book I had brought along. This area that you have created is a haven for me. The only thing that could have made it better, was if I was offered a drink to go along. This is where I was left disappointed. The gentleman that was working the lounge last night, while great and personable with the other patrons, completely ignored me the entire two and half hours I spent there. During this time, I observed him making his rounds ensuring the comfort of other guests as well as helping new guests to their seats and taking orders for drinks. As he passed by multiple times, I even began to make it a point to look up at him so that he would not feel as if he were interrupting my reading. Over the course of the evening, not once did he even acknowledge my presence. I became frustrated and left. I did happen to find another great spot across the street at the Sheraton where a great bartender served me and we even discussed the book I was reading. I would much rather have stayed at your establishment as I still think you have the perfect area for me to unwind in, however, will I receive the same lack of service again if I return? I am not writing to try to seek compensation for my experience, seeing how I did not spend any money. I am just sharing with you so that you may have the opportunity to address the issue and hopefully improve the service. Had the bartender offered to get me a drink, or see a menu (as I would have indulged in a light meal as well after watching the Dr. sitting next to me enjoy his), or even just a "Good evening, may I get you anything?" would have been great.

Thank you for giving me a moment of your time and listening to my concerns. I do believe you have a fantastic product, and with some tweaks, you could make it a world class establishment!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to our piano lounge. Welcome to the area and you are correct when you stated that you had found the perfect spot to relax and enjoy your book. Please accept our sincere apology for the problem you had with our service and non-response to your earlier communication. This is not typical of the service and personal commitment to excellence that we strive to achieve here at the hotel. If you are ever in the mood to enjoy a relaxing evening, come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is the second time we stayed here to attend a formal event in their ball room. Last year there were several small housekeeping problems - small ones, but too many for a hotel of this caliber. This year, however, everything was very nice. The room was clean, the staff very friendly and the ballroom event was wonderful. We wished there were more than the three coffee packs (for a one-cup machine) and there were hardly any coffee condiments at all. We would have liked enough for two cups each. Also, we could not find any information on TV channels which was a little frustrating. Otherwise, we were pleasantly surprised after last year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit. We are glad that the issues you experienced last year were not present on this visit. Our goal is to improve out product and service to each and everyone of our guests with every new experience. Your comments have been shared with all departments in order to improve our service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My family, friends, and I stayed here for my college graduation. The accommodations were excellent. I have visited the Norfolk Marriott several times during my time in Hampton Roads for evening events, business events, and school functions. They have always been very accommodating. A great location to stay in when you want to visit Norfolk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Congratulations on your graduation and thank you for letting us be a part of this joyous day. We are glad that you stay with us during your visits to Norfolk and that we can continue to be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Address: 235 E Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#9 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Waterside Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.