We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Save Saved
You added Norfolk Waterside Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   235 E Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as part of a convention. Two of the elevators kept breaking down during our stay. They had two conventions in the hotel at one time.
I found the hotel a little run down. Ripped rug, and wallpaper in our room. Safety hazard with the fridge under sink and cord plugged in next to sink. Room was clean and beds are super comfortable but the pillows were flat. The service/housekeeper area on our floor was filthy and the staff kept the door open for all guest to see.
Parking is in the municipal lots on both sides of the hotel. Pool area was nice but you got to carry your chair out to the outside deck if you want to be outside and catch some sun. This hotel does have coin operated washer dryer - which is great.
Free wifi in the lobby, lounge and convention center was intermittent. No free wifi in rooms.
We tried to order room service one night but nobody answered the phone, we walk down to Shula steakhouse (way overpriced for the quality of food) and got it to take out. From then on we didn't eat at the hotel, there are enough great local places nearby to satisfy.
This hotel is downtown and on weekends the surrounding area is a ghost town. The smaller restaurants open on weekdays.
It is an easy walk to the light rail, McArthur mall, USS Wisconsin and the waterfront area with ferry access to Portsmoth. Across the street is a great breakfast place D'egg. Granby St is the street with a lot of restaurant offerings and is a short walk. Brick house diner ( mon-fri) on St. Paul's is another great breakfast spot or Bean There coffee shop. Try the 3 way cafe for unique lunch, on Plume St.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit. Please accept our sincere apology for being "average." We are scheduled for a renovation of our guest rooms starting at the end of this year which would alleviate the majority of the issues. Your comments have been shared with all departments to help improve our service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    178
    69
    27
    25
See reviews for
68
105
28
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I checked into this hotel on Septemter 27, 2012 to attend an appointment.My first experience was the bell man and his ability to inform me of some wonderful kid friendly things to do at the waterside as I did have my young son with me.I had a wonderful view of norfolk waterside from our room.Along with the fabulous cleanliness of the room and hotel itself.The conceirge lounge gave me a chance to sit back relax and enjoy our morning breakfast and evening snack.The chef and hostess in the conceirge lounge were A++.To bad I didn't get their names i would love to send them a thank huge thanks.I would highly recommend this hotel and will be back again when we visit the norfolk, virginia area.

Room Tip: Just ask the wonderful front desk crew and they truly make every effort to accomaodate your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent visit. The most memorable part of a trip is normally not anything physical but the interactions you have with people. We are glad that our staff made this such a wonderful part of your stay. The next time you head south on 95, please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here last weekend. Overall a nice hotel. We decided late minute to go to Norfolk. We always stay in Marriott so this was my first choice..We got a great rate and the room was overall nice and clean...I do not think the bed we had was a king even though the front desk told us it was...If so it is the smallest King I have ever seen. We had a the breakfast buffet (included in the rate) and it was very nice. Overall we would definitely stay there again...nice water or city views, nice restaurants close by, but do not valet park your car 26 dollars, you can park in the same parking deck across the street for 12 dollars a night. Just a tip :) My only complaint would be the elevator doors and escalators were crazy loud, like they needed some type of maintenance. Sounds silly I know, but seriously you could hear if from our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the noise problem with the elevator and escalator. Your comments have been shared with our engineering department to resolve thse issues. We are glad that we could provide you a nice, clean room and a central location to visit our fine city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We recently attended a convention for Submarine Veterans and can't speak highly enough about the wonderful service. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. Staff was very helpful and
friendly. We're amazed how professional the food service was at the banquet; delicious and hot! Hotel is conveniently located to shopping and restaurants. This hotel was tops of all the conventions we have attended.
D. Schmidt

Room Tip: It is convenient to be near elevator as we are seniors. Would prefer a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. Thank you for your service and it was truly an honor and pleasure taking care of you and your guests during the Submarine Veterans Convention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hotel is in good location. Near light rail stop, near McArthur Mall, Harbor Park, Town Point Park and Nauticus.

I-264 is conveniently nearby.

Great restaurants nearby

Hooters, Outback, Joe's Crab Shack, Freemason Abbey, Shula's 357, d'Egg Diner

All in walking distance.

Nice place to stay. Convention center facilities are top notch.

Only knock is that Wi Fi is not free in rooms, just in LobbyAreas.


For breakfast skip hotel prices and go directly across the street to D' Egg Diner.

Also, Starbucks is next door to D'Egg restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We are very fortunate to be centrally located in downtown Norfolk as you pointed out in your review. All of our staff are always striving to take care of our guests to the best of their ability and to be "top notch" at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice hotel, great staff. Rooms are comfortable and clean. A couple issues: I really wanted a room with a balcony. For whatever reason, not all rooms have balconies...not sure why, especially on the water side. Apparently the hotel can't reserve rooms with balconies, it's first come first serve, or so I was told. When we checked in, all the balcony rooms were taken. The next day I checked to see if any became available, the desk clerk said no, but check in later because someone who reserved one might cancel. I was a little confused because I was told several times rooms with balconies can't be reserved. Our other issues is we paid for valet parking, only to find out someone keyed our vehicle the first night - a large, deep scratch across the front of our new truck. The truck was parked on the side lot, next to the sidewalk - with no fence. Not very secure, for valet parking. When we told the attendants, they kept our vehicle in the front lot where its more secure. We filed a claim and hope it is taken care of - I don't believe it is resolved yet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Do not think that this review is for the Norfolk Waterside Marriott because none of our rooms have balconies and our valet lot is on the 10th floor of a parking garage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Waterside Hotel during a weekend wedding of some friends. The hotel was in a great location, easy to walk everywhere in Norfolk. It is also right on the water, great to walk one block and see all of the boats.
The hotel is a bit outdated but our room was comfortable and clean. When the hotel is full the elevators can take forever.
The exercise room was surprisingly nice, lots of equipment and plenty of machines.
The only real downside of our stay was that the ice machines on most floors were broken or empty!
Tip for parking: Valet is $26 per day or you can self park right across the street. Marriott charges $19 to park there but you can just pay the parking attendant on your way out for only $12 per day. I wish the Marriott had shared this info with us!!

Room Tip: The views are best from rooms higher in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We are glad that we could provide you with a clean and comfortable room. Your comments have be shared with our engineering department to fix the ice machines. The difference in parking fees is that one allows for in and out access and the $12 is a one-time fee. Please accept our sincere apology is we did not inform you of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Address: 235 E Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Waterside Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.