We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just "Okay".” 3 of 5 stars
Review of M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach to your Saves list
M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7950 Shore Drive, Norfolk, VA 23518 (Formerly Days Inn Norfolk)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just "Okay".”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Stayed one night, saturday, 28 Aug. Rooms showed evidence of water damage, carpet pulled away from walls, baseboards missing. No mildew smell. No odors noted. Stayed in a no smoking room. One of two bedlamps did not work. One of the chairs in our room had a broken back. Plumbing worked as designed, great shower experience with plenty of hot water. Could hear the person in the room above us when they moved around. did not hear any loud televsions from nearby rooms. Slept well and woke up refreshed. I must give the outdoor pool an excellent rating, it was clean and well maintained. The workout room was closed and showed signs of water damage to the walls when I looked through the glass door. Parking spaces were tight. The hotel is on a road with a median so you have to turn right when you leave and find a turn around if you want to go the other way, minor inconvenience. The continental breakfast was a bust for me. Everything was a "carb". cold cereal, toast, blueberry muffins, orange juice, apple juice, milk, and coffee. We went to Hardees to get a biscuit. Room was 93.00 or so with tax, which was a good price for the area. The local area is just outside a naval base and not appropriate for those who wish to walk and discover, at least not a night. Loud and vocal locals were on the streets and walking by. I can see why some said they did not like the surrounding area. There is a Mcdonalds just down the street you can walk too, but once again, I would only do that during daylight hours. the Econolodge is directly across the street. Nothing in the local area to really explore. This hotel is good for someone who just needs an economical warm bed for the night without the frills you usually find in the better hotels. The wireless worked excellent the whole time. The staff was really good, smiled, and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    10
    8
    32
See reviews for
23
16
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Our stay at the Days Inn was very pleasant. The management and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, clean and quiet. Restaurants, stores, etc... were minutes away. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

The first time my fiance' and I stayed at this wonderful hotel was in March 2010. We rented a King size room which much to our surprise, was exactly that...KING size. The stay was so amazing that when we decided to go back in April of course we would not think of staying anywhere else. Our second trip in April, we brought his daughter down with us. She LOVED it. The staff is courteous, friendly and accomodating. The overall appearance of this hotel is lovely, from the lobby to the rooms. Both visits our room had a safe, refirgerator, microwave, coffee pot (with coffee), hair dryer and enough pillows to keep us all very comfortable. Also we needed an iron and that was made available for us asap. I'm still amazed at the size of these rooms, we were not tripping all over each other. I travel often and must say that these beds are the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. They offer a complimentary breakfast in the main lobby that was really good. There is also a pool at this location, they're getting it ready for the summer months ahead but unfortunately it was closed at the time of our visit. This hotel is near everything, the Naval bases, shopping, Virginia Beach and a ton of restaurants. Needless to say, when we return to Virginia we would not stay anywhere else. Thank you so much to the entire Staff at Days Inn Norfolk for making our stay there a pleasantly memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

This hotel was extremely accomodating to our family. We were a large group staying here for our cousin's wedding and the hotel gave us great rooms, that had clean linen, clean bathroom, internet service and complimentary breakfast. Anything we needed, they would respond or do for us immediately. The staff always had a smile on their face and made us really feel welcome, for first time visitors to Norfolk, Virginia. The complimentary breakfast is so delicous, and graciously extended breakfast hours for us while we got all the little ones ready for the day. We would definitely stay here again!!!..Two thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

The Days Inn on Shore drive fulfils all your basic accommodation needs if you are on a budget. Granted for a visit to Downtown Norfolk it is quite out of the way, but the price easily compensated that fact. The rooms are your standard motel-rooms, but were impeccably clean. I definitely liked the two desks in my King room. Be aware that this hotel is close to a somewhat busy road, so if you are a light sleeper like me, this might be a bit problematic.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Good location, staff was friendly although they were foreign and we had a difficult time explaining to them that the room we had was filthy. Well, the carpet was anyway, making the "non-smoking" room smell like a number of things including smoke, mold, and that 'wet dog' smell. Trying to get another room was futile as this was a holiday weekend so we toughed it out for 3 days but won't be going back there again and we don't recommend it to anyone else. With one caveat. We only saw one room so the other's may be far better. Good luck!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

The phrase "you get what you pay for" is right for this Days Inn. Upon arrival we thought we hit the jackpot, pool looked nice, lots of chairs and clean. Lady at desk helpful and friendly. The room-was a disaster. 1.We had a kitchenette that consisted of a stove that had one working burner (we think) the other 3 had no drip pans, and covered with grease and old food. 2. Microwave was filithy inside and out with leftover food splattered on it.3. Dried up food on the walls. 4. All countertops,end tables and sitting table were filthy, I washed them off myself and showed it to the "head of housekeeping" she just stared at it. 5. Refrigerator covered with rust outside, not plugged in, and smelled like it had been closed for quite a while, only good for keeping soda or beer cold, NOT FOR FOOD storage.6.TV was on an extension cord that reached across the room to a plug behind the refrigerator, had to finagle it around to work. 7.All mirrors were splattered with tootpaste that was dried on from previous occupants. 8. Front window had greasy swirls like someone had attempted to clean but stopped. 9. Front door was covered in soda/liquid that was dried on. 10. Bathroom-toilet tank top covered with dirt, behind door had some crud that was still there when we left four days later. 11. Tub wouldn't hold water and was too gross to even bathe in, towels could have been used as sandpaper and it took housekeeping two days to bring us clean ones as we were "missed by the computer" and we reminded the front desk daily about fresh towels. 12. carpets were never vacuumed and left your feet black after walking on them. 13. sheets although clean did not fit the bed and came off as soon as you got into the bed. 14. tea bags and sweeteners looked as though they had been there from the Civil War. 15. dressers were stained (like someone had used them to hold food that they were afraid to put into the cabinets) so we lived out of our suitcases the four days. 16. kitchenette had no dishes or pots or pans, do they expect people on vacation to bring a set of dishes, utensils and pots and pans? There were no vacant rooms due to several military reunions that weekend. 18. unfortunately we didn't notice that we had booked a smoking room (neither of us smoke) this was our fault but even Febreze and Oust and a scented candle couldn't mask over the smoke smell. this was without a doubt the worst motel ever. Days Inn Corporate should look into some of these reviews and "take a trip" and review this Days Inn. This room was booked through PriceLine and paid in advance, with a reasonable rating. PriceLine should go along with Days Inn corporate on a road trip.
Please ask for room 151 and bring your own kitchen supplies, lysol, and room deodorizer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach

Address: 7950 Shore Drive, Norfolk, VA 23518 (Formerly Days Inn Norfolk)
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet friendly M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach offers a free breakfast, outdoor pool, exercise room, and guest laundry facilities. Additional amenities are free parking and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Little Creek Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Days Inn
Days Inn Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.