We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go back to Days Inn Little Creek again and again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach to your Saves list
M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7950 Shore Drive, Norfolk, VA 23518 (Formerly Days Inn Norfolk)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Long Island New York
1 review
“I would go back to Days Inn Little Creek again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

The first time my fiance' and I stayed at this wonderful hotel was in March 2010. We rented a King size room which much to our surprise, was exactly that...KING size. The stay was so amazing that when we decided to go back in April of course we would not think of staying anywhere else. Our second trip in April, we brought his daughter down with us. She LOVED it. The staff is courteous, friendly and accomodating. The overall appearance of this hotel is lovely, from the lobby to the rooms. Both visits our room had a safe, refirgerator, microwave, coffee pot (with coffee), hair dryer and enough pillows to keep us all very comfortable. Also we needed an iron and that was made available for us asap. I'm still amazed at the size of these rooms, we were not tripping all over each other. I travel often and must say that these beds are the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. They offer a complimentary breakfast in the main lobby that was really good. There is also a pool at this location, they're getting it ready for the summer months ahead but unfortunately it was closed at the time of our visit. This hotel is near everything, the Naval bases, shopping, Virginia Beach and a ton of restaurants. Needless to say, when we return to Virginia we would not stay anywhere else. Thank you so much to the entire Staff at Days Inn Norfolk for making our stay there a pleasantly memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    10
    8
    32
See reviews for
22
16
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

This hotel was extremely accomodating to our family. We were a large group staying here for our cousin's wedding and the hotel gave us great rooms, that had clean linen, clean bathroom, internet service and complimentary breakfast. Anything we needed, they would respond or do for us immediately. The staff always had a smile on their face and made us really feel welcome, for first time visitors to Norfolk, Virginia. The complimentary breakfast is so delicous, and graciously extended breakfast hours for us while we got all the little ones ready for the day. We would definitely stay here again!!!..Two thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

The Days Inn on Shore drive fulfils all your basic accommodation needs if you are on a budget. Granted for a visit to Downtown Norfolk it is quite out of the way, but the price easily compensated that fact. The rooms are your standard motel-rooms, but were impeccably clean. I definitely liked the two desks in my King room. Be aware that this hotel is close to a somewhat busy road, so if you are a light sleeper like me, this might be a bit problematic.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Good location, staff was friendly although they were foreign and we had a difficult time explaining to them that the room we had was filthy. Well, the carpet was anyway, making the "non-smoking" room smell like a number of things including smoke, mold, and that 'wet dog' smell. Trying to get another room was futile as this was a holiday weekend so we toughed it out for 3 days but won't be going back there again and we don't recommend it to anyone else. With one caveat. We only saw one room so the other's may be far better. Good luck!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

The phrase "you get what you pay for" is right for this Days Inn. Upon arrival we thought we hit the jackpot, pool looked nice, lots of chairs and clean. Lady at desk helpful and friendly. The room-was a disaster. 1.We had a kitchenette that consisted of a stove that had one working burner (we think) the other 3 had no drip pans, and covered with grease and old food. 2. Microwave was filithy inside and out with leftover food splattered on it.3. Dried up food on the walls. 4. All countertops,end tables and sitting table were filthy, I washed them off myself and showed it to the "head of housekeeping" she just stared at it. 5. Refrigerator covered with rust outside, not plugged in, and smelled like it had been closed for quite a while, only good for keeping soda or beer cold, NOT FOR FOOD storage.6.TV was on an extension cord that reached across the room to a plug behind the refrigerator, had to finagle it around to work. 7.All mirrors were splattered with tootpaste that was dried on from previous occupants. 8. Front window had greasy swirls like someone had attempted to clean but stopped. 9. Front door was covered in soda/liquid that was dried on. 10. Bathroom-toilet tank top covered with dirt, behind door had some crud that was still there when we left four days later. 11. Tub wouldn't hold water and was too gross to even bathe in, towels could have been used as sandpaper and it took housekeeping two days to bring us clean ones as we were "missed by the computer" and we reminded the front desk daily about fresh towels. 12. carpets were never vacuumed and left your feet black after walking on them. 13. sheets although clean did not fit the bed and came off as soon as you got into the bed. 14. tea bags and sweeteners looked as though they had been there from the Civil War. 15. dressers were stained (like someone had used them to hold food that they were afraid to put into the cabinets) so we lived out of our suitcases the four days. 16. kitchenette had no dishes or pots or pans, do they expect people on vacation to bring a set of dishes, utensils and pots and pans? There were no vacant rooms due to several military reunions that weekend. 18. unfortunately we didn't notice that we had booked a smoking room (neither of us smoke) this was our fault but even Febreze and Oust and a scented candle couldn't mask over the smoke smell. this was without a doubt the worst motel ever. Days Inn Corporate should look into some of these reviews and "take a trip" and review this Days Inn. This room was booked through PriceLine and paid in advance, with a reasonable rating. PriceLine should go along with Days Inn corporate on a road trip.
Please ask for room 151 and bring your own kitchen supplies, lysol, and room deodorizer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbum235
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

I have been to many hotels in my life and this was the worst one for my family. Wish I would have read the reviews before booking. (lesson to be learned) The parking lot was unsafe feeling. They over powdered their carpets with too much carpet freshner, it was not vaccummed up and even was left in a chair. Pine needles and debri laying on carpets. Remote control didn't work, TV was so smeared up from improper cleaning. All stands were sticky and had spots on them. Dresser drawers had dirt inside. (wouldn't put my clothes in there) Big burnt hole in the chair. Carpet floors were sticky and will turn your feet black. Bathroom floor not cleaned well.One bed sheet had a hole in it and towels were rough not fresh feeling. Thank Godness we were only there long enough to sleep, but that was an uneasy feeling with the room being dirty.And the price for this room is way to much 89.00 a night. Parents please be careful when choosing this hotel. Its more for construction workers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed in this "hotel" on 7/3/09 & 7/4/09. It was the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel! It started with the first room we were given. We walked in and there was a musty smell. Upon further investigating, we found the gasket of the refrigerator covered in black mold, there were chunks of mold growing in the freezer and black mold spots on the carpet around the refrigerator. I went to the front office and told them what I found and they said they would send someone to clean it, I told them I wanted a different room. We were moved to the second room, which smelled better when we walked in but over the next 2 days of our stay, we discovered numerous items that were below standards. 1. The mattress was wore out and sunk in the middle. 2. There were stains of some sort on the exposed box springs. 3. There were used Q-tips behind the night stand. 4. The night stand had "TRICK WAS HERE" carved in it. 5. There was dirt and trash in the corners. 6. There were stains on the covers. 7. There were dead bugs under the sheets. 8. The new roll of toilet paper was placed on top of the empty cardboard roll from the previous roll and not on the holder. 9. There was a used bar of soap in the shower with hair on it. 10. There was one outlet that had an adapter to allow 2 lights, the TV, microwave & refrigerator to all be plugged in at the same time. 11. The dresser was warped and sagged in the middle. 12. On the morning of the second day, the staff just walked right in our room with out knocking and then when we told them to come back later, they left without closing the door. 13. We later called to have houskeeping clean the room and no one ever did. 14. The complimentary tea bags in the room looked like they had gotten wet and then dried but were not changed. 15. The front desk staff was not friendly and couldn't understand simple English. 16. The bananas placed out for the Continental breakfast were old and brusied with the seames already cracked open. This stay really put a damper on what should have been a fun July 4th weekend. I will NEVER stay at another Days Inn and if the other hotels in the "Wyndham Worldwide family of hotel brands" are maintained in the same way, I will not stay at any of those either.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach

Address: 7950 Shore Drive, Norfolk, VA 23518 (Formerly Days Inn Norfolk)
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet friendly M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach offers a free breakfast, outdoor pool, exercise room, and guest laundry facilities. Additional amenities are free parking and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Little Creek Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Days Inn
Days Inn Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.