We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lobby Layout and Suites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 West Brambleton Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Raleigh
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Lovely Lobby Layout and Suites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

Intro
We just spent three nights over Thanksgiving at this hotel and loved the lobby and the suite. The architecture is refreshing with bright modern colors and surfaces that invite you to have a seat and strike up a conversation with a person sitting nearby.
Selection of this hotel
We have been traveling to Norfolk on business for about 20 years, and began staying at Marriotts 5 years ago. Normally we choose the Marriott Waterside because of its location and wonderful views. We could not resist the holiday rate of $89. a night including a hot breakfast and a light dinner. We are glad we tried this Residence Inn because it was a pleasant stay with clean, modern surroundings.
The Room
We were put in 919 on the top floor; it is a large room with a complete kitchen and a small kitchen table, which was perfect for one computer. The desk housed the other computer, and we could both work and enjoy the free internet without one of us having to camp out on the bed or sofa. The ottoman stored under the coffee table worked great as a foot rest under the desk. Usually I have to turn a trash can upside down for my feet. The flat screen TV pivoted so that we could view it from the living room/kitchen area or from the king bed, which was set off in its own nook. There were plenty of choices on cable including the History and Food channels.
There were two huge sets of windows with natural light in both areas of the room, which looked out over the parking garage just across the street and was much quieter than the other side of the hotel on Brambleton, a very busy road with lots of sirens being the main access to Sentara Norfolk General Hospital. If sirens bother you, earphones or a sleeping pill may be necessary because this hotel is in the middle of downtown Norfolk, and the streets can be noisy if you are used to a quiet neighborhood.
The bath had a large sink area open to the bedroom and a good sized shower/commode room with a wide door. Unlike many small hotel baths, it did not feel as if you would be knocked off the toilet if someone opened the bathroom door while you were doing your business. We like roomy baths at home, too. We did not look at the one bedroom suites.
The Lobby and Eating Area
The new floor plan uses an open first floor with plenty of sites to meet friends or use your laptop. The furniture is comfortable in reds and browns with colorful pillows on the sofa, just like at home. The many different textures and colors of wall and floor tiles, tabletops, chairs, sofas, and decorations are quite cheerful. We found the lobby to be quite comfortable and would certainly enjoy spending time there if we were staying more than a day. It is wonderful having a place you can go and relax outside of your room if you are there for the whole day or especially a week or longer.
The Gym and Pool
The gym has mostly treadmills and step machines. The one exercise bike worked fine; bring headphones for the TV mounted above the handlebars. There were free weights but no cable machines. The pool is small but quite nice for walking in circles. The hot pool/jacuzzi works well, too. This area is noisy if there are children present, so be prepared for an echo chamber if you are not alone. There is not a shower/dressing area in the pool, so it is easier to change in your room.
Breakfast and Dinner
The buffet style breakfast offered numerous choices; the scrambled eggs were great each morning, and we also enjoyed the bowl of fresh fruit. Cold cereal, oatmeal, yogurt and waffles were also available. USA Today and the Wall Street Journal were provided each morning.
A light dinner was available; the one night we ate there was a fresh salad area with lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, etc. The entree was chicken nuggets, and the meal was plenty for us as we do not usually eat a large meal at night. The other two nights we ate at 456 Fish and Shula's, our favorite restaurant downstairs in the Waterside. Both are excellent places for dinner and less than a 15 minute walk from the Residence Inn.
Parking
There is a wonderful York Street public garage across the street from the hotel; the daily rate of $15. is reasonable. We enjoyed being able to leave the garage as many times as we wanted each day without additional charges. Parking on the street is scarce, and the security of a staffed and lit parking garage is wonderful especially if you are going out alone at night.
Area attractions
Do not miss the free Chrysler Museum if you are staying downtown. If you have a car, also visit the Mariners' Museum in Newport News. Nauticus is within walking distance as well as the locally owned Prince Bookstore (across the street from the Waterside) and Chocolage, which are both fabulous lunch stops. If you have a sudden Nordstom attack, head to MacArthur Mall just a few blocks down the road. We love their cafe as well.
Service
The staff did their job well and seem to like working here. They all talked with us and could answer our questions. We feel that the service in most Marriott properties is good, and this one passed the test. The place is clean and well kept, and everything worked during our stay. While the hotel is only 6 months old, we have stayed in many new non-Marriott hotels where nothing seems to work well.
Conclusion
We definitely would stay here again because we like the modern, yet comfortable atmosphere and the convenient location. The suite feels like an apartment or home rather than a hotel, and this is welcome when you spend too many nights on the road each year.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    65
    10
    13
    2
See reviews for
52
35
12
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

I had booked a Queen Suite, expecting 2 of my collegues to check in later in the evening, as they had a long drive in. While i waited, I fixed my dinner and took a bath. Got extra towels and a repair done very quickly by a great employee while I waited for my friends. Sitting in my PJ's, I get a call that they couldn't make it to the hotel that night and would drive the rest of the way to our meeting in the morning. So here I was on a fixed budget and a very larger suite. I called the Front Desk and they couldn't have been better. Moved me to the top floor, downsized my room (which was still very beautiful and what a view!) and didn't charge me one cent more as if I had checked into the smaller room earlier. Now that is a great hotel. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Being a family of 4 w/ 2 small children we ONLY and I mean ONLY stay in Marriott Residence Inn's because of the convience of having a suite and the friendliness/ helpfulness of the staff- well usually. We stay in about 6 differnent Residence Inn's a year form 3-5 days at a time and this one by far dropped the ball. Lets just say that based on our experiences( I actually called and complained for the first time EVER!) we will NOT stay or reccommend this hotel! Until they gain experience I would really stear clear of this hotel. Oh and another hassel was you have to park across the street in a parking garage and then shelp all your stuff over to the hotel, not an easy feat w/ 2 kids and a dog!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I am a Marriot Platinum level. I have stayed at over 110 Marriots this year alone in 8 countries.

Bar none, this is the WORST Marriot that i have ever stayed at.

The room are fine - clean and new -- you have to walk a ways for a food establishment (nearest restaurant is three blocks away) - parking sucks since you either feed a parking meter or use a parking garage across the street that belongs to the City -- but the thing that made it bad is the mamangement.

They have idiotic rules -- like no checking in prior to 3:00PM. Made three of us wait for almost an hour becuase we thought that the rooms weren't ready because they were dirty but found out later from the Front Desk staff that the Management told them not to allow anyone to check in early becuase they have a policy against Early Check-Ins.. You have got to be kidding!!! . Plenty of other Marriots in the area to stay at -- trust me - until they get a new manager i will NEVER stay at this one again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Residence Inn in downtown Norfolk for one night over Labor Day. We had not been to a Residence Inn before, so we were very pleased with the layout of amenities in our room.

We booked the 1 bedroom suite, which included a kitchen with a 2 burner stove, a microwave, stainless steel fridge, and even a dishwasher. The kitchen also included a small amount of glasses and cups for our use. The living area was seperate from the bedroom, but both were furnished with a 42" LG LCD TV. The bathroom was clean and very nice as well.

We are definitely Marriott people, and our room fit the bill. The hotel's location wasn't in the prettiest area, but we felt safe at all times. Just be prepared to pay $12 for parking in the garage across the street.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast U.S.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed here in July 2009 while in Norfolk for a wedding. Our room (king efficiency suite) was fantastic; enormous bed/sitting area and a "kitchenette" that was almost as big as, and more modern than, my kitchen at home -- even had a full-sized fridge and a dishwasher, as well as dish detergent and towels, plates, utensils, etc. Bathroom wasn't huge, but did have the sink separate from the toilet/tub, which I love when traveling with another person.

There were some kinks, probably because the place is new: as another reviewer writes, it was hard to find some basic information (breakfast time, true location of local attractions, local maps), although the front desk staff was always helpful when asked for info in person or on the phone. Upon check-in, I discovered a pair of women's underpants just under the bed (on the floor, not in the bedding). My partner convinced me not to flip out about it, especially because the rest of the room was truly clean, but the housekeeping staff ought to be more careful.

We were part of a wedding group that used this hotel as its "official" location, and there were some kinks -- even though my reservation confirmation showed the wedding affiliation, the front desk forgot to give us (and other guests) our welcome basket from the bride and groom when we checked in. Also, parking is tricky: there is a municipal garage across the street from the back of the property, and while it is certainly conveniently located, it's necessary to pay every time you go out, then start over when you return. Unless it's a weekend, in which case parking seems to be free. Unless it's a weekend with a special event, in which case parking is $5 upon entry, cash only. Let's just say the parking roulette got a bit wearing after our third in/out.

Biggest complaint: the hotel seems to have only two luggage carts for the entire property. That's ridiculous for a large hotel in the middle of a tourist, military, and business district. We had to carry our luggage (a LOT because of the wedding) in and out of the hotel. Yes, we did ask for a cart at the front desk, and were told that there weren't any additional ones available. Good thing we're both strong and healthy.

Finally, the location is splendid. It's about a 30-minute drive to Virginia Beach, and many of the downtown Norfolk attractions are within walking distance. Norfolk seems to be a city on the rise, with visible efforts to make downtown culturally vibrant. The city was a nice surprise, and the hotel was a great home base.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We absolutely enjoyed our stay. We had a 2 bedroom suite. The room was very clean and smelled very nice. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. Exercise room was roomy for a hotel gym. Pool was small but nice and so was the hot tub. Pets are allowed for a flat $100 fee. Only bad thing was parking. There is a public garage across the street that charges $12.00 per night or you pay $1.00 hourly if you are in and out. The hotel is fairly new and so nice. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Address: 227 West Brambleton Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#9 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.