We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 West Brambleton Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the start everything was great for this Marriott property, the front desk staff was outstanding and hotel staff was great....The location was perfect because everything was within walking distance and I love the hot breakfast every morning....When I am in Norfolk I will always stay at this location....

Mike T

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time out to share your wonderful review . We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast that we provide. Cant wait for you to come back and stay with us again!


Audrinna H.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    68
    11
    13
    3
See reviews for
53
38
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved this hotel. Our review is based on the convinces included in the room (full kitchen, dining table desk, sofa, 2 tvs, bedroom)
I am still looking for the perfect room when we travel.
We had to call housekeeping to clean the kitchen including the fridge, the dining table, desk, bathroom vanity.

Room Tip: Located within walking distance to restaurants. The Local rail system is across from hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your nice review of our hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are walking distance to many restaurants which makes it covenant for our guest to go out get a bite to eat and walk around the city. We hope to see you in the future.


Sincerely,

Audrinna H.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel missed the mark on several things:
1. Service - the front desk representative needs some serious customer service training
2. Cleanliness - probably the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed
3. Amenities - not what is expected

After receiving the worst customer service I have ever received from a front desk representative (and I travel a lot). I checked into a dirty room where the alarm was going off. I unplugged the alarm and it would still not turn off. As thin as the walls are in this hotel, I'm truly surprised that the other people on the adjacent rooms didnt call down to the front desk to complain.

I visit Norfolk often for work and this was my first and last time at this hotel. I highly recommend the Sheraton; professional service, clean rooms, better location (on the water) and much better amenities.

Room Tip: Stay at the Sheraton... Not at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I would like to apologize for your recent stay with us here at the Residence Inn. We have spoken with our team about your review to assure this was an isolated issue. If your travels bring you back to Norfolk we hope we get the chance to accommodate you.

Sincerely,

Audrinna H.
Assistant General Manager
Residence Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The location is good - we were able to be within walking distance to some great restaurants (Haikkado is an awesome Japanese restaurant, the Abbey, etc). Some quick highlights:

-Clean and modern
-The suites are amazing (from microwave, dishwasher, fridge, stovetop)
-The complimentary breakfast is awesome and delicious - beats most complimentary breakfasts
-A couple of the nights, there is also a complimentary dinner
-Gym is suitable (some treadmills, recumbent bikes, ellipticals and free weights)
-Pool & jacuzzi
-Garage parking is literally across the street ($18 per day but never full; go into the garage and bring your parking ticket with you when you check in)

The only down side that I found was the Wifi was not the greatest.

Definitely worth the $ - would strongly recommend if you are staying in the downtown area.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time while staying with us here in Downtown Norfolk. We are upgrading our internet to make it faster! Great things are happening here at the Residence Inn. Hope you come back to visit us soon.

Sincerely,

Audrinna H.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

I am not certain why some have reviewed this as a great location. I found it awkward to get to and without amenities nearby, i.e. restaurants, pubs, shopping, street life. But, on the other hand, it was very quiet (street quiet) for a downtown hotel. It is walking distance to the Chrysler Museum and the Glass Studio, and we visited both. I am accustomed to having a wine and cheese social hour at all of the other Marriott RI's I have stayed and this one advertised such, but as it turns out this only occurs on Monday, Tuesday and every other Wednesday! Hum. Breakfast was fine, both hot and cold offerings, and no one was rushing you out past the ending hour. There is no parking and you must park across the street at $18 per day (this was not readily apparent in the booking info). The staff were pleasant and our king suite was quite nice with complete kitchen and seating areas; a very good value even with the parking added.

Room Tip: This hotel allows pets (which is nice for pet owners). If you are not a pet owner and perhaps have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Thank you for your review. Our social hour for Residence Inn will be changing the beginning of April. A lot of new things coming out we are very excited! We are glad you got to experience the Chrysler museum and glass blowing. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Audrinna H.
Assistant General Manger
227 W. Brambleton Ave
Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone: 757-842-6216
Fax: 757-842-6217
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

The staff here really work hard to keep this a quality hotel and the best bang for your buck in Downtown Norfolk. We had a wonderful evening walk to a great restaurant a mile away and passed so many wonderful sites. The hotel is very close to the beautiful pedestrian path that is IDEAL for morning running as well. The breakfast in the hotel was great! The gym is very good as well but only for when you can't enjoy the wonderful running nearby! Free valet parking is a great plus here too. The rooms are Marriott quality and you will want to come back here for your next stay. I know I will!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2015
We would like to thank you for your awesome review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Residence Inn Downtown Marriott. Our hotel is in a wonderful area for running and site seeing also. Unfortunately we do not offer free valet parking at this property. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Audrinna H.
Assistant General Manger
227 W. Brambleton Ave
Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone: 757-842-6216
Fax: 757-842-6217
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

I stayed here in May for an extended stay, and this one even topped that! One huge change that was noticeable was the food. Great great breakfast and they also offer dinner 2-3 times a week which is unheard of to be included with your stay. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, pancakes, potatoes, sausage, waffles, breads and cereals. Dinner was fajitas one night with salad bar and hot dogs/nachos and salad next night with homemade warm chocolate chip cookies for dessert! Customer service is top notch. Everyone you come in contact with says hello or speaks. Great workout room, pool and jacuzzi. There's a fantastic Harris Teeter grocery store five minutes away off of Colonial to stock your fully equipped kitchen for your extended stay. MacArthur Center is a ten minute walk which is the mall with a huge cinema. Great restaurants in walking distance - the Freemason Abbey is a MUST!!!! Best meal we ever had. Read my review on it for more information.

When you have to spend time away from home, the Marriott Residence Inn makes it as comfortable as possible. Wifi is free which is another plus and parking is immediately across the street in the parking garage with easy in and out access when you have your ticket validated at the front desk upon check in. Great sleeping conditions - curtains totally make the room black for good naps in the afternoon. Comfy beds! One suggestion - the tub floor is extremely slick. Almost fell on two occasions. Would not be good for senior citizens especially. If there is anything you can do to fix this I would highly recommend before someone gets hurt. But again, this is the only place to stay for a fantastic experience in downtown Norfolk.

Room Tip: On the backside of hotel near parking garage away from Brambleton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
We want to thank you for your wonderful review. If your plans bring you back to Norfolk we do hope you again stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott.

In April Marriott will be rolling out a new "Mix" for social. New exciting things to come!

Sincerely,

Audrinna H.
Assistant General Manger
227 W. Brambleton Ave
Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone: 757-842-6216
Fax: 757-842-6217
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Address: 227 West Brambleton Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#9 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.