We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 West Brambleton Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“excellent location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here for two nights while we traveled to the Eastern Shore during the day and back to Norfolk for dinner each night. Overall, have to say that I enjoyed my stay as I usually do with the Residence Inn line. Room was nice, despite one main elevator area these moved quickly and there was rarely a wait, was able to bring my two dogs (always a plus), staff as extremely friendly and helpful, plus decent breakfast each morning. Planned on using some of the other facilities-swimming pool, exercise room, but we stayed too busy. Not certain about the reviewer who said this was in a bad neighborhood. The hotel is on the edge of the Ghent neighborhood which is very nice. Of course you are also adjacent to downtown which does bring a few wanderers in the area. Did not notice anything unusual the first night, but the second night one individual kept hanging outside the front door and periodically popping into the lobby. Thought he was a guest until the doors were locked for the night. Walked the dogs at 6:30 to find a rather large group of homeless people just hanging out. Thought they might be seedy guests at first, but when they were sprawled out sleeping still in the lobby at 11:30 realized what they were doing. This is my one complaint was that it took the staff a long time to realize these individuals were not in fact staying at the hotel. Despite this if I am back in Norfolk I will stay here again. The quality and location of the hotel overrides this one minor concern.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters what room, but would choose the third floor again. Just far enough away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We did have a rather large multi-day concert in the area during your stay. We had guests that chose to congregate in the lobby verse head to their rooms so not to disturb other guests. All of these people were registered guests.

We look forward to having you back as our guest on your next trip into the area.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    69
    11
    14
    3
See reviews for
53
40
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recently spent one night at the Residence Inn while visiting the Norfolk attractions. The Residence Inn is in a perfect location for walking to the "restaurant row" and the USS Wisconsin. They offered a competitive rate - the same as staying at Marriotts located near the airport. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. I had visited Norfolk over three years earlier, and was attempting to find the same restaurant at which I had eaten, but didn't remember the name. The desk clerk help me recollect all the details I could remember, and narrowed down the options to two possibilities. And the restaurant ended up being one of them! The room was clean and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was superb with burritos, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, cereals, muffins, etc. a staff member was always on hand to refresh the foods. The only negative was paying $18 for parking in the structure adjacent to the hotel. The hotel doesn't have free parking. The structure across the street, however, is very convenient for access to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We hope you have a chance to come back and spend a few more days in Norfolk and at the Residence Inn Downtown.

Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Best Regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My family came to Virginia beach for the Kar Dance competition. We decided to stay in Norfolk instead of on the beach which turned out to be a great choice. The location of this hotel was 15-20 minutes from the beach with access to several places to eat, which were not available on in the VA beach area. I would also like to mention the service I recieved from the front desk, especially, from Denzel. Upon arrival to the hotel, they had placed us in a room that was not work for my family. (especially my wife :) ) Denzel made the necessary change to put us in a room which made us happy. Denzel also displayed the potential of a manager, or GM. I appreciated how he was able to accomadate me and my family. Good Job.

Room Tip: Go buy your food and cook. Food stores down the street. Saves big dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review.

You are correct we are just a few minutes from Virginia Beach.

We hope your children had a great time at the dance completition.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A business trip took me to Norfolk Virginia where my company set me up at this hotel. The hotel staff is terrific the rooms are clean and big. The area isn't the best but this was a working trip. Not the best place for a vacation. All in all I was very satisfied.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We wish you would have had a a few days to relax. We have so many things to do in the Norfolk area, from historical museums, Botanical Garden, Norfolk Zoo, McArthur Museum and Nauticus with the USS Wisconsin, as well as fishing, trails and the world's largest naval base.

We do hope you have a chance to come back and play.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Ephraim, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I recently spent 4 days and 3 nights at this hotel. Excellent and friendly staff. Everyone from the concierge to the maintenance staff greet you with a "hello", "good morning/afternoon/evening" or a "how are you?".

The rooms are nice-sized with every modern day feature available, including a fully functional kitchenette complete with stove, oven, microwave, full sized fridge and dishwasher. The cabinets are stocked with utensils, dinnerware and cooking supplies. Wifi was pretty strong, too.

Nice, comfortable bed, though the sleeper sofa could have been more comfortable.

Very large lobby with plenty of seating and tables. Several TVs. Continental breakfast was superb with a nice selection of food (though I prefer more meat, less breakfast cereals).

The parking situation could be better. The garage across the street maxes out at $10/day, but since we were in a large group (a youth hockey team), we were comped for the parking.

Walking distance to the Chrysler Museum, MacArthur Center (mall), The Scope sports arena/Chrysler Hall and attractions around the Elizabeth River. Some nice diners and restaurants are nearby as well as some halls for live music.

The gym is typical of most hotels...small with a sparse amount of weights and primarily cardio. A better choice would be the YMCA a couple of blocks away. Small, indoor pool and hot tub. Free towels in both facilities.

Overall they did a pretty good job handling 15 families and teen aged hockey players.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We did enjoy having your team here in the hotel.

The parking garage is a city garage and is not an overnight parking facility. The hotel incurs an additional cost for lighting and security which is why are parking fees appear higher then the city daily fee.

We do hope you have an opportunity to return to Noroflk and the Residence Inn Downtown.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Front desk staff were very nice and helpful. Found housekeeping could use some improvement or at least better checks after room was cleaned. We actually had to ask for toilet paper after being out for the day and into the evening. Trash was emptied but new bags were not put in also had to ask for dishwasher soap too. The rates were reasonable for the two bed room we stayed in and parking in the garage was included, not sure it that is because we have Platinum status with the hotel rewards but that was great because garage seemed expensive. Parking is across the road which can at times be inconvenient. Hotel close to a light rail stop (The Tide Light Rail) which was very handy. Lots of restaurants in the area and Waterside was walking distance. We did walk a bit after dark one evening after dinner from Waterside I would just advise as with any city you be mindful of your surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I do wish we would have known about your housekeeping issues while you were here. We have several new housekeepers with us this summer an I apologize we did not inspect your room as well as we should have.

We will use your comments in our morning huddle meetings to train our entire team on how we could have done better to correct your issues so the next guest does not experience the same thing.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was a very clean, contemporary themed hotel. It has nine floor levels of rooms with most of the usual comforts of an apartment. Each room is very spacious and has its own kitchenette. We were here for a wedding. Beware, there are very few fast food restaurants or Walgreens / CVS stores nearby. However, the USS Wisconsin Battleship & Nauticus museum, the harbor and other attractions are just blocks away. Also, this hotel is close to the freeway. There is also a three floor level mall with a movie theatre nearby. There are sports bars and a few clubs only a couple of blocks away. One last thing... Parking is not free at this hotel. I think it's $18 / day with unlimited in & out privileges. The parking structure is right across the street from the hotel and is shared with other businesses. Hotel guests were asked to only park on the 3rd & 4th levels.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are centrally located near many attractions, shopping and restaurants. If your travels bring you back to the Norfolk area we do hope you chose to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Address: 227 West Brambleton Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.