We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for Everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nauticus National Maritime Center

Nauticus National Maritime Center
1 Waterside Dr, Norfolk, VA 23510
757 664 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 29 Attractions in Norfolk
Type: Specialty Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Educational site that allows visitors to learn about sea with interactive exhibits and touch pools.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My son and I recently visited the Nauticus after visiting it perhaps 10 years ago. I would definitely say the museum has something for all ages. He's a 16 year old history buff and we spent at least 2.5 hours self touring the deck and various levels of the USS Wisconsin. Tons of information! Inside there are many many hands on activities for little ones from playing dress up in various sailor uniforms to a hands on shark petting exhibit or horseshoe crab display. I highly recommend a stop at the Nauticus if you are in Norfolk or looking for a quick day trip from the beach. It is also in walking distance to several chain restaurants - Joe's Crab Shack, Outback, Hooters - which all share a river view. There is also a closely neighborhood on Grandby Street with many smaller local options. Nearby hotels include the Sheraton and a Marriott.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    87
    24
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washigton, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband wanted to see the Wisconsin and we ended up spending the ENTIRE day there. We did the Spy Ship activity which I think helped keep myself and daughter interested; however, it has you going back and forth on the same parts of the ship so my husband didn't get to see the things he wanted to before the ship closed. So depending on what you want to get out of your visit..... you may or may not want to do that.
There was not a restaurant onsite so that was a disappointment and something I wish I had known.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zelienople
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We thought this Center may be somewhat dull, but we were wrong. It was very interesting with displays that made sense. We made the trip to tour the Battleship Wisconsin which is on display beside the Center. The Wisconsin, with it's long Military history was the highlight of the Nauticus Center

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A great way to spend a few hours, facilities were clean and the exhibits are all well put together -the staffing is nice and helpful. There is no lack of things to learn, do, and see. Fun for the whole family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lot of things didn't work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I know for a hands on museum things are bound to be broken or computer simulators tend to crash but it was a bummer for my little brother who was excited to try the hands on exhibits. Thank goodness the U.S.S. Wisconsin saved the date. A very beautiful ship.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nauticus National Maritime Center also viewed

 

Been to Nauticus National Maritime Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nauticus National Maritime Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.