We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sight to see!”
Review of Norfolk Naval Base

9079 Hampton Blvd., Norfolk, VA 23505
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #6 of 26 attractions in Norfolk
Type: Military Bases/ Facilities
Activities: Group tours/bus tour, Group tours/walking tour
Description: The oldest naval port in the United States that offers guided tours.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    37
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Norfolk Naval Base
See the most recent reviews
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing sight to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We went to visit my brother who is stationed there and he gave me a tour of the base. If you are ever curious where your tax dollars go and want to see what they are spent on, then go here! Those rows of ships are a reminder of how great we really are! I dont hink its open to the general public, but can always call and ask.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Tourists deserve better!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My Lady and I were born and reared in Norfolk thru high school. At 70, I’ve returned and retired in Norfolk, and she often visits from New York. The Navy and the Norfolk Naval Base have been an indelible part of our formative years. Perhaps it was just a bad day … but our bus tour with narration was just poorly done. Tourists deserve better!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Navy Exchange”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I really enjoy thie NEX, it is so big! You will find everything. I always take the day to go shop then have lunch. The commissary is also huge and you can go grocery shopping also! Everything in on spot. Love prices most of all.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

While it was interesting to visit the largest naval base in the world, it was disappointing that we didn't get closer to the ships and that the bus drove by them so quickly with no pause at all except for at one point far from the shore where we were allowed to take pictures from the bus. The active duty sailor who narrated the tour had given the tour so many times that she talked so fast and made several mistakes, having to repeat what she said. She also couldn't answer some basic questions. The tour needs to be revitalized because it could be very, very interesting.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tour of Naval Station Very Worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

You can get some idea of the activity on the world's largest naval base with this bus tour. The tour leaves from the tour office adjacent to Gate 5 on Hampton Blvd. An active duty sailor or officer narrates the tour (sometimes speaking very quickly, so you have to listen carefully). Various facilities like gyms, living and dining are pointed out along the way. The bus makes the trip down the road adjacent to the docks and ships in port are pointed out and their highlights mentioned. The aircraft carriers Teddy Roosevelt and George H. B. Bush were in port yesterday along with various support ships. No pictures are allowed along the docks or within several blocks, but pictures in other areas are allowed. The remaining State residences built for the 1907 world exposition are also on the route. Most of us do not have access to this facility, so this is an interesting peek behind the scenes. Tickets are sold on a first come first served basis. The cost is adults $10 and seniors $5, and the tour lasts 50 min.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norfolk Naval Base also viewed

 

Been to Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Naval Base, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.