We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will exceed expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1387 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Alhambra, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Will exceed expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am orginally from Virginia. I moved away & come back often to visit and stay with friends & family. This trip, however, I needed to actually book a hotel. I searched for one near the airport as I assumed that would be convenient. This hotel received the best ratings. I wasn't expecting much since it was low priced and near the airport but was pleasantly surprised at how great it was!

Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. Check-in was quick and efficient. We had a very nice room on the 4th floor. A huge king sized bed that was very comfortable. Though they lose a few points with only having down pillows. I prefer a more supportive pillow. Though I did not ask if they had any I could substitute. So if this is important you may want to ask in advance. Large flatscreen tv, desk & chair were also in the room. Everything was clean and neat and in great condition.

The sink was outside the actual bathroom which I liked. It helps when more than one person is trying top get ready. The bathroom itself was pretty standard. Nice sized tub. My only complaint being that the shower head was really far up on the wall so by the time the water hits you the pressure isn't as good. But definitely not a deal breaker. Bathroom was clean. Our toilet didn't flush very well but you adapt.

There were also the standard amenities...hairdryer, iron, ironing board. But also a microwave and refrigerator. Very nice! The hotel also offer self laundry facilities. They even have detergent for you to purchase. Just bring your quarters! They also offer free continental breakfast but we did not partake.

We kept the fan on our air conditioner on all night because we prefer white noise so I can't say if the hotel was particularly noisy or not. It did not seem so.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

Please note that the only reason I didn't give a 5 or "excellent" rating was more the location than the hotel itself. While I felt very safe there, the surrounding area isn't as nice as you would like it to be. However, lots of restaurants (fast food type) and shops have popped up and it does seem to be nicer than in previous years.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    102
    36
    8
    11
See reviews for
168
72
46
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had to plan a last minute trip from Connecticut to the Norfolk, Virginia area for a job interview. I needed a pet friendly hotel otherwise I wouldn't have been able to make this trip happen. I was extremely pleased to learn that this hotel accommodated pets. That was a plus in my book! Audrey was a very helpful and professional young lady that facilitated booking my reservation. She was so kind and understanding to my last minute travel needs. When I arrived I was greeted by Ashley who also was very professional in her job duties.These two women should be recognized for polite customer service and I thank them so much for their help. I compliment them both for their help and appreciate their kindness. I was very happy with the accommodations here at La Quinta and I would definitely stay there again in the future. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here being a little more affordable for my large family, pet, and close enough to drive to the beach. Everything was great expect for the breakfast, however there is an IHOP across the street which was wonderful! Only complaint was the uncomfortable beds and pillows after waking up...ergh! Hopefully, they will be replaced soon. Most of our time was not spent in the hotel, but at the beach which was a very short 10 minute drive to VA beach. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Second time I have stayed here at the La Quinta in Norfolk near the airport. I stay here because my flights out leave very early in the morning and the hotel is just a short drive to the airport. The girls at the front desk are super nice and very accommodating. The rooms are clean, they have nice TV's, nice sheets and pillows, comfortable beds, great a/c and nice hot showers. The breakfast is good as well. Can't beat this place for the money!! Great value. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I find La Quinta Inns can be very varied in their "presentability" . This one is a nice one. It rates in the class with a good Holiday Inn Express. Neat and clean. It will be very acceptable to you for a hotel in this class level.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This would've been a 4 or 5 star review but for the breakfast service. It was 6-9, which is pretty standard for a weekday. Usually though this means no new food will be brought out after 9 and maybe hot plates will be switched off, but they won't pack things away till 9:30. I got down to the lobby at 9:02 and already everything but the coffee machine and yoghurts had been put away. I wasn't the only one down late, some families turned up at 9:10-15 and couldn't have anything as even the coffee machine had been switched off by then. You'd expect a grace period of at least 15mins. Everything else about the hotel was fine though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport

Address: 1387 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Norfolk Airport
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
La Quinta Norfolk
Norfolk La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.