We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusually stylish for Madeira but a bit 'cold'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estalagem da Ponta do Sol

Save Saved
You added Estalagem da Ponta do Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Estalagem da Ponta do Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta da Rochinha, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-121, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Unusually stylish for Madeira but a bit 'cold'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just got back from a stay at the hotel. First the positives: the views from the seaview rooms and from the general areas of the hotel are spectacular! The clifftop pool is fantastic. The drinks in the bar were great. The room itself was quite average though. Stylish yes, but not finished to a standard that I expected. I find that, if you run a 'design hotel' then the finishing must be immaculate and the materials first class but this was not always the case: dark 'stripes' in the wall, the ceiling in the bathroom was messy, etc. The size of the room is very good, the bathroom is rather small (if you're 'big' then you can hardly sit on the toilet next to the washbasin - to clarify: I'm not 'big'). Some staff are wonderful (esp in the bar), some not so much. We stayed in 2 other hotels in Madeira on this trip and there the staff were brilliant. The thing that disappointed me was the food though. Breakfast was average. Also, the parking situation is horrendous!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    63
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
27
170
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duns, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for a week in June as part of a package holiday with Simply Travel and found to our delight that the hotel, it's staff and its location confirmed all of the many favourable reviews written written about them.this designer hotel is quite definitely the best "overseas" hotel we have stayed in. All of the staff went out of their way to make you most welcome and the rooms were comfortable and spacious with a large balcony with views to "die for". The food was first class. Massive breakfasts with just about everything on offer (except I'm afraid for this Scot marmalade!) and a comprehensive dinner menu very well prepared at reasonable prices.A very useful service offered is the free courtesy minibus which runs daily trips to Funchal, neighbouring towns and levada walks. If we can afford it we shall certainly return - it is a treat not to be missed.

Room Tip: An upper side room with views of the sea and the town 305-308
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

it was like a fairy tale when we arrived, the view from the room is incredible. We thought to eat at different restaurants but it was so delicious in the hotel that we have eaten there every day.
the staff is so friendly and helpful, really class.
On the beautiful pool it was so quiet you can hear whistling the birds.
Highly recommended.
belgium.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view is really very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We slept in the town in Hotel Vila which is run by the same company as this one so will only share my views on the restaurant where we dined twice.

AMBIENT: Not too big, comfortable chairs, well sized tables and a great view over the town and the sea. The hotel is a design hotel, can't tell how the rooms look but the common areas looked very nice and unique. Really enjoyed sipping a caipirinha while sitting under a palm tree and staring at the sea. One can see though that this place was built some 10 years back so toilets could use some renovation.

FOOD: The best we had on Madeira. A had a steak and a risotto with prawns. Both great. My wife had some pasta and a tuna steak, best tuna we had on the island, by far! Good selection of Portuguese wines, not cheap but the serve is quite large. Great deserts as well, not too sweet.

DRINKS: The bar looks great yet we just had a lady who was no bar tender fixing our cocktails so at a price of 6-7 Euro per drink that was a bit disappointing.

SERVICE: Very friendly yet professional. No problem to get tap water.

OVERALL: Best restaurant on Madeira we had the chance to visit. Good value as well. Not cheap but meals ranging from 8-18E is appropriate.

Room Tip: I believe the best option is stay in the cheaper Hotel Vila and enjoy the amenities of the Estalagem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived late and still got a great dinner at the restaurant (while they were setting up for breakfast). Rooms have loads of room, and the spot is absolutely unbelievable. Great pool, OK fitness room and breakfast. Absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

loved this hotel! best, of course, were the views - perched high above the coast, overlooking town below - night time quiet, surf pounding and in the morning, birds sing

sumputous breakfast with many sweets, fruits and cheese

loved the pool but only dipped in as weather a bit chilly

a great modern vibe which contrasted nicely to many of the more traditional places on Madeira

wish we could have stayed longer - would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in four days in December 2012. Had great expectations after reading a ton of reviews on booking.com and tripadvisor and carefully selecting this hotel. First had some issues regarding hotel transport, which was stated as included when booking on booking.com, but when communicating to the hotel they referred to the hotel wed site which had additional requirements for airport transport, etc. In the end the hotel was kind enough to offer us airport transport because of the conflicting information. I also think they updated/corrected the info in booking.com

We were picked up on time at the airport by a very friendly driver. Arriving at the hotel we were shown a room at the first floor, looking into some bushes, even though we had ordered a sea view room. After some discussion we once again complained (feeling a bit angry, as I do not like to be a difficult customer), and we got a large sea view room with great views.

Good things:
The hotel location is very cool, with elevators taking you up to the top of the cliffs where the hotel is situated.

The view!

The transport to and from the hiking/levada trips!

Quite good service, after asking for it. (e.g. for renting a car..)

Cute dogs playing around near lobby. (if you like dogs, as I do)

Nice restaurant.

Pool table! Cool atmosphere in lounge/bar area
---------------------------------
Not so good things:

Service not spot on to expectations (given that we had to complain twice)

In January it was quite windy, and the altitude of the hotel can make it a bit chilly. The second part of our trip we were in Funchal (not so scary touristy as expected [we got a good deal on CS Madeira on a top floor sea view room, which was a great hotel. A bit worn, but still great, with sea access which lead to swimming every day]) and felt summer had arrived.

The "spa" amemnities was not really inviting. The lighting, temperature, cleanliness was not as expected.

Not much else around, you need a car! Had a meal at a resturant/cafe near the seafront, and by mistake ordered a shrimp and bread smoothie :P thankfully the hotel resturant is good (even though somewhat pricy) and open late!

In the end the hotel could not live up to my expectations after reading the other reviews. We were still glad we split our trip in two, and really liked the transport to and from the levada walks.:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Estalagem da Ponta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem da Ponta do Sol

Address: Quinta da Rochinha, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-121, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem da Ponta do Sol 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Estalagem da Ponta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Da Ponta Do Sol Hotel Ponta Do Sol
Ponta Do Sol Estalagem Da
Estalagem Da Ponta Do Sol Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estalagem da Ponta do Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.