We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“filled our bellies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Cantinho da Madalena

Restaurante Cantinho da Madalena
Avenida 10 de Fevereiro N0 2, R/C, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-410, Portugal
291 972 235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Ponta Do Sol
Cuisines: Portuguese
Description: O Restaurante Cantinho da Madalena conta com varios anos de experiencia na arte de bem servir. Esforcamo-nos por proporcionar momentos agradaveis aos nossos clientes, quer seja numa refeicao simples, quer seja em momentos especiais como casamentos, baptizados e aniversarios. Nas especialidades da casa temos mariscos, peixes, carnes, massas e a novidade frango no churrasco sem osso Guacacaca. Venha conhecer-nos!
Restaurant details
Description: O Restaurante Cantinho da Madalena conta com varios anos de experiencia na arte de bem servir. Esforcamo-nos por proporcionar momentos agradaveis aos nossos clientes, quer seja numa refeicao simples, quer seja em momentos especiais como casamentos, baptizados e aniversarios. Nas especialidades da casa temos mariscos, peixes, carnes, massas e a novidade frango no churrasco sem osso Guacacaca. Venha conhecer-nos!
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“filled our bellies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

went for a late meal with friends , nothing outstanding about the place or service . Prices average & food ok ! We had seafood pasta dish to share for two , the size of the dish was massive , it would be enough to share between 4 people ! It took around an hour for our meal to arrive , which was a really long time for one course meal & we were hungry ! Overall , its ok !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant with sea view, specialised in sea food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice restaurant focussed on tourists as customers (but as the island depends on tourism it's hard to find any other places). We cannot complain about that fact - you even get lunch during the afternoon which was comfortable for us as it was good to have your meal after returning from the hike and not have to be waiting until 7 pm.

Food and beverage was not cheap but about the usual price in Madeira, you'll get lapas from around 5 € up to 8€, here it comes for 6€. We had a fish soup for 2 people (which would have made 3 people happy) for 24 €, considering the fact that in most restaurants usually a main course is about 11 € plus side dishes, we don't find the price too high. Quality was very good, we loved the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We found this restaurant by chance. It is a good job we had not read some of the reviews here because we might have missed out on a great meal. We were warmly welcomed and given the extensive menu. The fresh fish on display was very tempting. We would like to work our way through them over the coming years! On this occasion we ate grilled sardines and the traditional meat espetada - both well cooked and presented. We had nice chips but there were no other vegetables included. We had chocolate mousse for pudding - very nice. We were offered a choice of liqueurs which was a good ending to the meal. For 2 courses with water our meal was 32 euros and we enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Under cooked food, sent it back and 20 minutes later returned torched

Waitresses couldnt care less

Loads of the good places to eat eg joes bar at jardim

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Touristy and disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was the worst and most expensive meal during a two week stay in madeira.

My main meal arrivec almost raw, was sent back to the kitchen and arrived back 20 minutes later after the rest f the family had finished their meal completely torched. Paid for chips only.

The waitresses couldnt have given a stuff.

Conclusion, give it a miss.

Joes bar a few miles at jardim do mar whilst no sea loads better

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Cantinho da Madalena also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Cantinho da Madalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Cantinho da Madalena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.