We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - we would be happy to go back there again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Views Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Views Oasis to your Saves list
Four Views Oasis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125- 024, Portugal (Formerly Oasis Atlantic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Canico
Tunbridge Wells
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great value - we would be happy to go back there again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were looking for a reasonably priced week away in November and the bed and breakfast package we booked to Four Views Oasis was just what we were looking for.

We liked the hotel and although the weather was mixed we had a relaxing time, reading or sitting by the pool or walking to some of the local bars and cafes for coffee or lunch.

We had only booked breakfast at the Four Views Oasis but were very pleased with the selection available during the buffet style breakfast. There was a cook on hand to freshly prepare omelettes if you wanted one and there was a wide range of cold meats, cheese, cereal, fruit, etc. It was one of the best breakfast selections we had seen in a long while

Good Points:
The free hotel shuttle bus to Funchal although there is a cheap local bus which you can also use.
Very friendly staff
Meat night in the a la carte restaurant was very good. We tried the fish night as well but the choice was more limited.
Clean and comfortable rooms
Nice garden around the hotel and the walk along the promenade was very relaxing
A great local bar ‘Magos Mir’ was just round the corner - lovely coffee and good toasties at lunchtime
The hotel makes an effort by putting on entertainment in the evenings – usually a singer
Quick transfer – the main airport is about 15 minutes away

Not so good points
The tea bags, coffee sachets and milk so you could make a hot drink in the room were not replenished after the first day
The a la carte restaurant was only open on Tuesday (Fish night) and Thursday (meat night) – not much use if you bought the hotels 3 night meal package for €75 per person. A shame the hotel did not mention this when they sold us the package
Beds – not the most comfortable – my wife and I both woke up a few mornings with backache

After a half day visit to Funchal we were glad that we were staying at Canico. Although it was quieter than Funchal it was a nicer place for a relaxing week away.

As someone else mentioned the Four Views Oasis operates a scheme where you can opt not to have you room cleaned for either one day or 3 days over the weekend (Friday, Saturday, Sunday). If you take part in the scheme you get credit of either €5 or €17.50 tp spend in the hotel bar. As there were just 2 of us in the room, and we are not that messy, we chose the 3 day weekend option and it worked out very well.

The Four Views Oasis is not a 5 star hotel but it was great value and we would be happy to go back there again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    137
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
77
196
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the hotel as a winter break and anniversary treat for ourselves. What a TREAT! The staff were very helpfull and friendly. The room excellent with hot shower and very comfy bed. The breakfast choice was fabulous, where most hotels offer an inclusive continental breakfast the Four Views had a huge array at no extra charge. Hot, cold, fruit, lovelly fresh baked breads, in fact everything anyone could want.
There was entertainment every night though some was better than others at least they made the effort. The whole hotel was super clean and the pool crystal clear.
The only let down while we were there was the food choice. Unfortunately they had had a fire in one of the kitchens and had to close the a l'carte restuarant. This meant there was only a set price buffett meal available in the evening. The food was fine but if like my wife you don't want three courses it worked out expensive. However, I must say we were told of the problem before we even left UK and offered the chance of alternative accomodation. It was our choice to still stay there.
There is a free courtesy bus to the capital Funchal 4 times a day, Failing that there is a regular bus service running up to midnight at a cost of 2.20 euros.
Also there are several excellent restaurants and bars within walking distance.
Top hotel and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views or garden but the ones on the East side of the block appeared to get less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I were having a late seaon, much needed relaxing holiday. We short listed this with a couple of other hotels in Canico de Baixo; we got to see the others whilst we were there and I think we made the right choice. The welcome we got from the staff was brilliant, in fact the staff were fantastic throughout, they couldn't do enough for you and were all really friendly. The hotel was very clean and had everything we needed ( if you are a tea fan, take your own teabags as they don't drink "black" tea with milk). There was free internet access in the library and public areas, which was good enough for us. As we were there is November, the outdoor pool was too cold for us, but the indoor pool in the spa area was just right. We tried all 3 restaurants, all were fantastic. If you get the chance, make sure you go to the meat and fish special nights! The spa was a lovely addition, we visited that several times but didn't have any of the additional chargeable treatments. The location was perfect for us, it was in a quiet area, but with plenty of restaurants, a couple of bars and shops within easy walking distance. It was so quiet and peaceful, but plenty of joggers. The promenade on the sea front was great for watching and listening to the sea crashing on the rocks. The hotel transfer to Funchal was very handy - 4 different times in and back each day except Sunday. We were only 20 mins or so away from Funchal. For those preferring to catch the bus, the 155 stopped right outside the hotel, though we didn't use this method of transport. The transfer to the airport was nice and short too. All in all, I loved this hotel. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends and family. Thank you all at Four Views Oasis!

Room Tip: We were in 334 which was classed as a partial sea view. We had an amazing view of the sea, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
OBRIGADO!

That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views Oasis.

It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you have love your stay in our Hotel.

Thank you for your comentarie and thanks for having the time to write about our hotel.

We look forward to see you again in our hotel

Kindest regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Is nice ,spotles,friendly to everybody hotel,the views from our room was like we in paradise,our little was enjoyng swimming pools,saunas jacuzzi,missed that all ready.Breakfast ,ohh dear everything's is there,staff very friendly,make us feel like we special,thanks a lot.and we recommend this hotel to everybody's who wana have a relaxing place.

Room Tip: All rooms goes to see view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
OBRIGADO!

That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views .

It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor.

The words you have used have been pleased to read and we have share them with our staff.

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your Holliday destination.

We look forward to see you again in our hotel

Kindest regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury st edmunds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited this hotel 9/16 November 2014. I was on a golfing holiday with Solos. I state that this hotel is run by accountants because they are so concerned in saving money.It has a Ryanair feel to it. No shampoos etc in bathroom. After you have used the coffee and tea provided in room you have to pay 3 euros to have it replenished. They offer a saving of 5 euros a day if you don't want your room cleaned. This is obviously saving them money on staffing which is sad because the Madeiran people need the jobs, I declined the offer. On the first evening at dinner the group was offered all drink at table for 4 euros 50 each. I don't drink so I asked for tap water. Little did I know how difficult this request was to be. They couldn't do it. I went to the restaurant supervisor and she said it was ok. She didn't come back to me but the waiter said they had contacted reception and stated it wasn't possible to provide tap water. This led to the next night when the whole group were told take the deal for all present or if not individuals were to pay full price separately. We did this but I am sure the hotel lost because so many refused. I had a meal out in Funchal and asked for tap water. The host was very obliging and couldn't understand why the hotel refused me. He was going to ring them as he was most annoyed. The meal on Saturday 8th was terrible. The choices seemed to have run out. Feel sorry for the staff who seem to have the management trying to save every penny. If you want a good night out in Funchal go for 39euro deal at Ritz Cafe. Includes all drink, meal and floor show with great disco until 12.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
OBRIGADO!

That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holiday at Four Views Oasis.

Four Views Oasis is an excellent location for Golfers as it is geographically in the middle of the Madeiran Golf Courses. On top of it we have an in house putting green and driving range for those Golfing after hours practice.

We have read very carefully your review and surely we will try to improve our communication aspect. Our Hotel is ISO 14001 certified and among our Green initiatives we have a cash award for the guests that join us in the “no cleaning” room policy which saves on chemical products, water and carbon emissions. It is a voluntary program and we have lots of guests that are joining us in this campaign.


Somehow and possibly due to a miscommunication/barrier language misunderstanding, though we always do mention that tap water has chlorine in it, we always serve it to our guests. The 4,50 Euros proposal is a special promotion that we have in the restaurant which is an all drinks inclusive during dinners. We apologize if this was wrongly communicated. We shall improve this thanks to your review.


Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holiday’s destination, we hope we can have the chance to see you again in our Hotel.

This way we could show you that your words matter and we have improved some details on our service.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was clean, but both adults and children were slipping over around the pool and Jacuzzi area on a regular basis. Some months before our stay it was reported that the pool edging had broken and someone had reported it after cutting their foot. To our amazement, the same area was still broken and was reported once again, but was not repaired during our stay.

The indoor pool, which is part of the spa had ignorant staff who would shout at adults to keep quiet as if you were in a library. The kids could not play and where told to leave due to the noise. With the pool being indoors, any sound made, including normal talking was frowned upon by the attendant......just like being back at nursery.

The spa toilets were always swimming with water and on one occasion my grandson slipped and fell on his face chipping his tooth, splitting his lip. This was reported to reception, but days later the toilets where found to have wet floors again.

The food was not up to a 4 star standard and did not cater for young children in any way.......we ended up eating out at a local restaurant the whole time we were there.

Basically we booked as a family with 1 young child, but the hotel does not accommodate for children in any way.

You will also find the hotel has a policy of reserving pool side loungers for people who have upgraded. Most of the loungers were left empty and unused.......what a waste and restricted people who were poolside to a reduced selection to sit on and relax

Watch out for the water that gets delivered to your room, as at the end of your stay they will try and charge you for it, even though there are no indications that if you use it you have to pay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
OBRIGADO!

That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views Oasis.

Your commentaries matter and we would like to inform you some details that we consider important.

Our pool tiling complies with the requested standards from the FTO (Federations of Tour Operators) and it has been approved by them. As we live in an Island imports take time and they are beyond our control, even so we would like to inform you that all the pool repairs will be taken between the 2º and the 15th of December. (Photos will follow)

The location of our inside pool is very close to our SPA treatments rooms (relaxing area) for this matter our staff always tries to inform all the Guest to be as quiet as possible.

Regarding the buffet we have an International buffet that has also got a show cooking which is basically a Pasta station for the Children in the hotel.

We regret to read that in a general way you did not appreciate your stay in our hotel.

We would be most pleased if you could give us a chance to see you again in our hotel. This way you could feel that your words are important and we have token in consideration all the details you have mentioned.

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I really liked this hotel. It was the third time we went to Madeira and the third time we went to this lovely hotel. We went three times to the hotel because we really liked it. The view was beautiful. We also like there was a pool we could use. It was a really nice pool. It was also nice that there was Wi-Fi, but don’t expect you have Wi-Fi-signal in your room except your room is close to the entrance. The rooms were cleaned every day and you have the option to get a voucher to buy consumptions if you chose to not get your room cleaned. The cleaning was good. They had a very comfortable shuttle-bus to Funchal, but you have to make a reservation on time because the buss could sometimes be full. Luckily there was also a bus stop very close to get to Funchal or to Caniço. The breakfast wasn’t bad, but every morning it was exactly the same. The service was really good. The staff was very friendly. I really liked this hotel and I would recommend it to everyone who’s looking for a nice hotel in the area of Caniço.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
OBRIGADO!

That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigado" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holliday at Four Views .

It's important for us that you have enjoyed your stay and shared your thoughts in Tripadvisor.

The words you have used have been pleased to read and we have share them with our staff.

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your Holliday destination.

We look forward to see you again in our hotel

Kindest regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Views Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Oasis

Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125- 024, Portugal (Formerly Oasis Atlantic)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canico
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Views Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis Canico
Four Views Oasis Hotel Canico
Four Views Oasis Madeira/Canico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Views Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.