We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed in!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Madeira to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Canico
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel I have ever stayed in!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Amazing hotel, amazing food brilliant service.
We stayed at the Riu Palace for a week it was excellent. The service was the best and the hotel is so clean. The restaurant was first class. The rooms are very spacious. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    162
    40
    4
    0
See reviews for
82
458
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful relaxing week 21st to 28th July. We arrived on our 30th wedding anniversary and were given a fantastic room overlooking the pool and ocean on the 4th floor. A sparkling bottle of Cava and glasses were left in our room too to celebrate the occasion. A lovely touch to start our arrival and set us up for the week. Our sole intention was to totally unwind and charge our batteries because like most people who work all year round, we felt we deserved a bit of "me time". The management and staff were very attentive and so polite and most of the waiters understood several languages as there was a mix of european nationals, therefore well educated.
There was a great selection of food for all mealtimes and varied throughout the week.
We did a couple of half day trips. One afternoon when the weather was a little overcast we took the shuttle bus into Funchal and took the cable car to the summit and back. Well worth the views. Also we went to Nuns Valley in the heart of the island, which at it's peak is 3500 ft and has spectacular views so do take cameras and an extra layer of clothing as it is quite chilly up there. Actually you are higher than some of the clouds too which is a bit spooky!
Entertainment left a little to be desired and the lobby bar was void of air conditioning, but perhaps I am being a too picky.
One word of warning though is do not reserve your sunbeds in the morning then go to breakfast because the pool attendants will remove them as we found to our cost!
As we have stayed in the Riu Tikida Agadir in Morocco this hotel was just as exceptional and would recommend it to anyone thinking of going, although it seems geared to older couples without children as they would be pretty bored.

Room Tip: Choose high floor for better views. Email hotel direct if you require certain requirements and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carluke
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We travelled as a couple with Thomsons to this hotel which allowed us to arrange a hire car through Funchal Car Hire to be delivered directly to the hotel other than have the usual wait at the car hire centre at the airport, it is one of the few car hire companies I would recommend.
The Riu Palace is a nice hotel and the staff very welcoming and friendly and the welcome glass of Madeira was a nice touch while checking in and I always appreciate our luggage being delivered to the room as was the case here.
The room was lovely and on the ground floor which has the advantage of receiving the hotel wi fi which the rooms above generally do not. The wi if is free for one hour, then free for another hour after 24 hours has elapsed, and so on although it can also be purchased at a reasonable charge for one day through to one week.
Food was buffet style with a wide variety of dishes on offers, your table allocated for the evening meal. We has taken the all inclusive package which was good value for money as the bar menu sets out very clearly what is included in that package and comprised of most branded spirits, cocktails, tea, coffee, mixers, wines and beers. I would recommend the all inclusive package as the drinks are quite expense when you include a mixer which is an additional cost of around 2 euros. The lounge staff were friendly and attentive and eager to serve drinks as we noticed the German and Dutch guests did not have the all inclusive option available to them.
The hotel is nice to sunbathe at and indeed is the only realistic option available and perhaps this is the only negative area of the hotel, it's location.
In terms of location it isn't the best. It is set close to the water which provides great views of the sea and the waves crashing in, with the boundary of the hotel grounds situated beside the esplanade which is separated from the sea by large boulders. We observed families try to sunbathe on the boulders and grimaced at the falls experienced by them. The esplanade takes 10 minutes to walk and goes no where. There is some local restaurants bars and shops within 10 minutes walk leaving the front of the hotel that you can reasonably walk to but the hotel is at the bottom of a serious hill if you wanted to walk elsewhere, we never tried this as we had the hire car.
Driving in Madeira is ok but some of the hill roads when you leave the main roads can be challenging as we travelled across and up to the highest point of the island but the network of tunnels save miles and stress, remember to hire a reasonably well powered Car as the smaller cars die on the hills, even on the dual carriageways.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view, ground floor rooms receive wi fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have just returned from a relaxing fortnight at the lovely Riu Palace. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by all of the lovely and attentive staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived and asked for a better view, the receptionist was charming and understanding and offered a choice of two alternatives. The pool area is very comfortable, with staff who will help you to find loungers and yes, they have an excellent policy of removing towels left on beds! The food is very good, with a wide choice at every meal. The themed restaurant was very enjoyable, with a range of delicious meats cooked on skewers and served at the table. The all inclusive drinks are of good quality and served by very friendly staff. The cocktails are recommended!
As it says in the brochure, the hotel is in a quiet area but there is a promenade for an evening stroll and you can watch dolphins, whales and shearwaters from the poolside, the promenade or even from your own balcony. Our room was facing west rather than in towards the pool, which gave us more privacy and more chance to watch birds such as the native Canaries in the trees outside as well as a side sea view. Recommend 4th floor or above here for the best view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We could not fault the RIU Madeira Palace Hotel, our all inclusive holiday was great whilst staying at this hotel. The attention to detail by management and staff in the dining rooms was first class, we could not fault anything. The Thomson representative Lorraine at this hotel was also so pleasant and cheerful with a great personality. Nothing was too much trouble for her in helping to advise and arrange residents tours and trips. There were various entertainment facilities arranged for each day if you wished to participate in them. Evening entertainment was also good. A great hotel!

N.B Madeira coastline is more suited to holidaymakers with older children as there are no sandy beaches only pebbles and rocks. To access sandy beaches Madeira's sister island Porto Santo is only a boatride away.

Maureen & Scott Johnson. Kent.

Room Tip: Even though our room was advertised as restricted sea view with balcony we had no problem being able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We spent a week at the fab riu palace madeira. It was our second visit. We will be back. Wish i was there now! The place is clean and quite. Perfect for couples! Great spacious rooms and very welcoming staff! We cant wait to return!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We've just arrived home after a fantastic fortnight at the Riu Palace Madeira. This is an extremely quiet resort, perfect to get the rest i don't get at home with all the usual rushing around. I probably wouldn't come here with children as it is a fairly adult orientated hotel, but as a party of 3 adults it was spot on!
The all inclusive is fantastic - plenty of choice, even for the fussiest among us. The food was beautifully prepared, with food freshly cooked in front of you. The drinks list was also lengthy and there was so skimping - on multiple occasions i returned to my table with my next course and my glass had been topped up while i was away!
The room was very comfy, lovely bathroom and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony some afternoons, just admiring the sea view.
Table tennis, table football, darts, ping pong - all undercover and all free of charge should there be a cooler day (which luckily, we didn't have!) Used the gym many times (i needed to after all the eating!) and found the equipment to be of decent quality - all too often hotel gyms are quite poor.
Upon arrival there were 2 large bottles of water in the room waiting for us that could be replaced as often as required, included in the all inclusive option. With a mini bar in the room, this was fantastic for keeping them chilled.
The pool area was very pleasant, with helpful staff bringing out seemingly endless supplies of sunbeds, cushions and sunshades upon your arrival, put wherever you wished.
Overall, the best thing for me was the service of the staff. I can say unreservedly that we didn't have a single bad experience with any of the numerous staff we encountered. Our usual waiter Mauricio was absolutely fantastic, and we often ended up spending more time at the dining table, purely chatting to him. Staff saw us playing cards one evening - they showed us some tricks. Staff saw us playing ping pong one evening and they taught us how to serve properly. Nothing was too much trouble, but they had the balance right and didn't feel imposing.
One minor change would benefit the hotel greatly - included wifi throughout. I had read reviews on Tripadvisor prior to going on holiday so knew that you could only have one hour a day used at once. For a hotel of this quality, i would have expected unlimited wifi as standard.
I'm not someone who returns to a holiday destination year upon year but if i returned to Madeira i wouldn't stay anywhere else. I would definitely stay at a Riu Palace again if this one is anything to go by.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1176 & 1177 - we had balconies with a partial sea view but as it didn't overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the oceanfront promenade of Canico de Baixo. 8-Storey building. 10 M to the sea; access to the ocean across a walkway. 13 Km from Funchal (complimentary shuttle service from the hotel; weekdays and Saturdays. Not available on public holidays). 2 Km from the city centre. 2 Km from various shops. 10 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.