We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Madeira to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SPRING DEALS
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Canico
Chaddesley Corbett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A lovely experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

First time to Maderia and arrived in pouring rain. Not a good start but glass of Maderia wine while we checked in very welcome and set the standard for our stay. Staff were excellent, food very high quality for a buffet and something different every day. Grounds and around the pool clean and well maintained and always loungers available. Lovely room with partial sea view, it was all very relaxing.
Courtesy bus a real bonus as only a Spar and couple of bars within walking distance of hotel. No problem booking this evening before and we also used local bus to get out and about.
Only downside limited internet availability and could only use in busy bar area.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a luxurious relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    171
    40
    4
    0
See reviews for
85
475
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just came back home from the hotel. The rooms are old fashioned bust spacious and some have wonderful sea views (especially room 1314!). The food is very good, lots of choice and good quality. The hotel has recently gone 'all inclusive' but has not suffered in quality. The staff are the best feature of the hotel: wonderfully friendly people. Service with a genuine smile! The location is not great though. There is little outside of the hotel. If you're looking to make a lot of daytrips (like we did) then it's not so bad: it's a 15 minute drive by car to Funchal, or 15 minutes to the sandy beach of Machico. If you want entertainment than the hotel is not for you though: the 'shows' are abysmal and the average age of the guests was around 60 but if you don't mind that then it's a very good hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

this hotel as stated in the brochure is half board and all inclusive, we stayed for two weeks the beginning of june 2013 all inclusive but was dissapointed to only recieve 30% discount on ice creams not all inclusive the staffing situation around the pool is totally insuffient i.e twenty or maybe more waiting for a waiter to come for order then waiting another twenty minutes for drinks.
i would reccomend the hotel has a refurb carpet thread bear in show bar chars worn etc but staff work hard and are very polite hope the weather is better than when we where there one sunny day out of fourteen

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just spent a week at the Riu Palace Madeira and I must say that the Hotel is absolutely first class.
When they say all inclusive they mean it, Branded spirits, cocktails, champagne breakfasts every day, excellent food, enormous rooms, superb view of the sea and pool, good entertainment.
There is a free shuttle bus that goes the Funchal 3 or 4 times a day which is great, we were told you must book this the night before but on 2 occassions we booked it the morning we wanted to go with no problems.
I have seen negative reviews for this hotel but please trust me when I say ignore them and do yourself a favour and book this hotel.
We will certainly be returning, maybe next year.
Well done Riu Hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a stylish hotel which oozes quality and class.

Staff
The staff in this hotel are utterly delightful. Everyone from the reception desk to restaurant to bar are so pleasant and helpful. The best we have ever known.

Food
Food is good The meat is better cooked than in most buffet holiday hotels though the lunchtime menu can be a little repetitive (we were all inclusive) Water was easily accessible and some good quality drink available. Dinner sittings are at 6.30 or 8.30 which may be a problem with some people. The dining room is very civilised (the 8.30 sitting)

Pools
One pool is well heated. This made it comfortable to swim in the not so warm week we had. The sunbeds are good quality with padded covers. Towels are readily available from reception.

Rooms and cleanliness
The hotel is spotless. We were upgraded to a most spacious junior suite, though there was not a sea view from the balcony.

Bars and entertainment
Entertainment was ok. The resident singer and saxophonist and small band are excellent. The entertainment bar is well laid out to give a sense of space but also good viwing for all.

Location
Whilst next to the sea, the hotel is at the base of a steep hillside. Apart from the very small souvenir shop in the hotel there are no shops. There is nowhere to walk unless you are prepared to walk up a very steep hill for forty minutes. If you like a walk in the evening or to wander into the local village, then you cannot. There is a courtesy bus into Funchal but times are very limited and times need to be booked a day in advance

Overall this is a delightful hotle. It could be 5 starr if the location was a little better. Nevertheless a lovely hotel for a thoroughly relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Just home after one week birthday holiday first time back in Madeira for 29 years ! The hotel was great all staff outstanding room spotless the weather was over cast some times at times the Internet was poor and you only get one hr a day free ! On the plus side they run a free bus in to town from 9.30 am 10.30 am 11.30 am and from 1.30 pm last bus back is 5 pm and the driver levels on the dot the food was very good but good all include that's far better then running up a bill would we go back in a word Yes

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in several Riu hotels but this was our first time All Inclusive. We stayed early May when this had just been introduced and found the system very efficient. Breakfast, lunch, dinner were all excellent and I loved the sandwiches and cake for afternoon tea and also the cocktails before dinner. I can't comment on the entertainment as we didn't watch any of the acts. What really makes this hotel is the staff they are so friendly and super efficient. The wine glasses were filled regularly during dinner and we even had port with our cheese. Riu beds are hard so as we checked in I asked for mattress toppers and the maid was at the door 5 minutes later. The only downside is the location. The promenade in Canico is rather run down but the free bus to Funchal runs regularly. A very enjoyable holiday leaving us eager to try more Riu All Inclusive hotels.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the oceanfront promenade of Canico de Baixo. 8-Storey building. 10 M to the sea; access to the ocean across a walkway. 13 Km from Funchal (complimentary shuttle service from the hotel; weekdays and Saturdays. Not available on public holidays). 2 Km from the city centre. 2 Km from various shops. 10 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.