We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing holiday in nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Madeira to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Canico
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“relaxing holiday in nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

booked wednesday flew out the following monday. A speeding coach took just 15 mins to get from airport to hotel (Not very relaxing). Nice welcome and soon in room. Food was great as were nearly every member of staff. Room kept spotlessly clean, even a towel swan on bed each day...Reasonable priced. Lovely pool and cafe area. Down side - the pools were freezing and took 20 mins just to get in, not enjoyable. A big part of my holiday is relaxing by the pool and swimming. I have never seen a pool so empty only ever a handful of people in the water. Strong atlantic sea very noisy in the night and the crickets so loud,unable to leave door to balcony open of a night and had to rely on a not so efficient air conditioning system. Recommend staying on coast in Funchal next time, for cafes and shopping etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    161
    40
    4
    0
See reviews for
82
454
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.K
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We traveled on the 2nd July 2012 and arrived in funchal in great time.
We had a coach transfer from the airport to the hotel provided by Thomsons holiday.
The hotel is set on the pebbled beach in Canico its a fantastic location and has great walks around the hotel and area.
We were met in the foyer by the reception team and was dealt with quick and effectively. The manager of the hotel came out to personally greet us and inform us that as diamond Riu card holders we had been given an upgraded room. She asked us if we would like to view the room before we accept it. This we did and it was fantastic, it was a jnr Suite and was better than most caribbean suites. The food was great as it usually is in the Riu chain.
You get a choice of sittings in the restaurant and have the same table every night but can sit anywhere at breakfast.I have to mention our waitress called Teresa who was superb all week and after the first night she had the wine of our choice already in ice before we got to the table each night.Fantastic service. The pool area is quite small but was never over full and you could always get a loungers by the pool without having to save one first thing in the morning.
There is a little pool eating area thats not included in your half board but the food is great and reasonably priced.Wine is as cheap as coke............
Cannot believe people say the food was not great, it was just that, great.
Entertainment was not great but its there if you want to watch it however there is a great area around the bar to sit and relax and have a quiet drink.
The people in the hotel are of a more mature age and thats what makes this hotel a great place to stay as its quiet,relaxed and friendly.The only negative is that as its a Thomson hotel there are a few ignorant Germans who have no concept of what a queue is or what manners are, not all of them, as the guy next door to us in the hotel was German and made every effort to talk to us when our paths crossed.
Take the cable car in Funchal its got great views and take a walk from the hotel to canico, its a steep walk but well worth it. Also the yellow open Top bus tour is not to be missed, you can hop on and off at any stop, Visit the "Hole in one " pub in Funchal, good drinks and food.
Finally if you have a Riu card you can pay the outstanding cost of your bar bill or any extras in the hotel with the points you have on your card. So we had nothing to pay at the end of the stay Great......
We will return to the hotel............

Room Tip: Get a Riu card.......Free upgrade with a Diamond card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I’ve said it before and will say it again – this hotel really is difficult to fault. This is our fourth visit here and we come back because the hotel provides excellent service across the board, and a peaceful and relaxing environment to unwind in. We went for 2 weeks June/July with Thomson. The rep, Sharon very helpful, and has lived in Madeira for 30 years. If you need to know something either Sharon or the excellent reception staff can help.
Ok, so to add to the various other comments. Overall this hotel provides excellent service, and I am a little mystified at some of the more negative comments. Overall the dining is excellent. A vast buffet breakfast with chilled cava every morning. Dinner can be either buffet and/or table service, it’s your choice, mix and match. Soup, large salad/cold bar, roast meats, fish, pasta, show cooking etc etc. The desserts are a little predictable, but the cheese trolley is a really nice touch. We found that the service was excellent – thanks to our waiter Jonny. You also have the opportunity to try their Brazilian Grill restaurant (Rodizio). We have tried this previously and enjoyed it but decided not to on this trip as I am currently struggling with eating too much meat. The pool bar serves very reasonably priced lunches, toasted cheese, ham and tomato sandwich with chips and salad for E5.20. They do a daily special (look for the poster in the lift each day) example half a lobster and a half bottle of champagne for under E20. Slightly further afield our favourite was Le Buffet (it isn’t a buffet) with sensibly priced and proportioned meals, lovely and clean and pleasant service from Kathy. To find - out onto the promenade, turn right, follow your nose, up quite a few steps to a parade of restaurants and shops. You’ll find it just past the Spar shop (which stocks a good variety of holiday essentials). A little further on from this parade of shops and down the second side street on the left is a little pizzeria, and just a little further on from that a pancake place. This is slightly more tricky to find but it is around the corner and faces out to the sea. Both are part of the Galahotel complex.
The entertainment is generally pretty good, we have definitely seen and heard a lot worse. There is some entertainment during the day courtesy of Miguel. Do join in with a game of bingo round at the pool bar – I haven’t laughed so much in ages “double duck”!!!!!!
Great service from the courtesy bus. The driver has a fab CD that he loves to play to and from Funchal, which sounds like a collaboration between the smurfs and Margarita Pracatan!!! Priceless!!!
Our 2 pretty minor niggles which have been mentioned by others are 1. The beds are hard. 2. The hair drier was ‘underpowered’ (I can tell you now that the latter is of no consequence to me!)
Now for our holiday gem. Do take the trip on the teleferico (cable car) up to Monte, the stopping off place for the tropical gardens and the access to a further teleferico to the Jardim Botanica. But here’s the thing. Straight across from where you get off the teleferico in Monte is the entrance to the Quinta Monte. GO! The gardens to the Quinta are an absolute delight – and free to wander around. Stop off and have a coffee, beer or even afternoon tea E12. The view is spectacular and the surroundings, absolutely delightful.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I went to this hotel with my husband for a weeks holiday in June We had never been to Madeira before or been to a Riu hotel The hotel was excellent Room was a good size with TV (even had ITV) but as I don't really watch TV on holiday this was not a big thing for me The beds were firm but fine for us however the pillows were unconfortable and the air conditioning wasn't that good These were the only negative things about the hotel The pool was good with somone always on hand to give out cushions for the beds and it was never crowded The temperature of the pool was fine There is an indoor pool as well
We were put on the 8 30 sitting for dinner though we could have changed, we liked this because having been on a trip 4 out of 6 days we were able to settle by the pool from about 3 o clck until 6 30 when we changed and then had time for a drink before dinner The pre dinner drinks weren't cheap but the service was superb and there was a pianist playing as well There are bars a ten minute walk away with much cheaper drinks which we also visited for pre dinner drinks and for lunchesThe dinners were all very good The dining room doesn't feel rushed and even though it's a buffet everyone takes time to eat The choice is ndless You can even get food from the kitchen brought by a waiter if required The village of Canico is delightful but you have to get the bus it's far to steep a hill to climb The hotel run a bus into Funchal but the local bus also runs frequently and is very cheap We were recommended to Riu hotels and would certainly go to another
Madeira itself is beautiful No sandy beach in fact it was more like bolders but beautiful countryside lots of lovely walks at the levadas many gardens and Funchal itself is wonderfiul I loved the cable car We wish we'd booked for two weeks as we didn't see enough

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Firstly, the staff were fantasitic and always happy to help, No obligados! The hotel itselfs, well ok but worn and the situation remote. The food was not great but you get what you pay for I guess (I did not book this trip). Entertainment every evening was cheesy but great fun and I have to say I enjoyed it a great deal for that very reason. Would I go back? No.

Room Tip: Sea view is great but the west side of the hotel look out on a cliff thingy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Our stay at the Riu Palace was just as enjoyable as our first,would recommend a junior suite.the staff are very friendly and very helpful in all matters.Our tour rep Sharon was extremely knowledgable of all of Madeira.We went on two excursions,the first being the Western Highlights and the second the Eastern Highlights.very enjoyable.lunch was included in the price of both excursions.approx 47euro each person for each trip.Evening meal has two sittings,6:30 and 8:30.although clean parts of the building needs repair.would go back again.Ideal for couples,not a lot to do for children.very quiet.very hilly.local bus stop approx 50 metres from hotel.ATM machine in next hotel.enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Have just spent 2 weeks here-our 4th RIU hotel and by far the worst. Reception lobby is clean and bright but lacks space to move around freely and is especially cramped when new arrivals wait to check-in.Some areas of the building are in need of repair and decoration.To start with the plus points, reception staff very polite and helpful. Courtesy bus very well organised (book night before and receive confirmation ticket with times of departure and return) Some people of a certain nationality still try to flaunt the system! WiFi is available both as a paid package or free for one hour daily. The free hour has to be taken all at once in any 24 hours but only allows access to internet NOT Outlook, Outlook Express or Windows LiveMail so anyone with own laptop or Iphone can only access emails vis web based sites or pay for full access (Kubi Wireless).The gym is quite well equipped for those who like to use these and the indoor pool is one of the best from our stay in RIU hotels. Now for negatives, an earlier reviewer remarked on the breakfast juice- it is over diluted powder and compares with the bowls of yogurt which also made from powder. Hot food at breakfast is extremely oily apart from the omelettes which freshly made to your request. Evening food is quite good although becomes repetitive over 2 weeks.At previous Riu hotels when charging drinks etc to our room we have always signed and received a duplicate bill. Here you only get a duplicate in the restaurant NOT in any of the bars. Be aware during our 2 weeks we were overcharged 5 times!!Entertain was at best poor. Although a football fan I object to matches from Euro 2012 being shown on large screen in lounge bar when also being shown on tv in lobby bar close by thus preventing those wanting to be "entertained" to wait until after 10pm. When Portugal were playing many of the usual bar staff were conspicuous by their absence. As mentioned previously the structure is in in need of refurbishment and decoration. Some of the bedding needs to be replaced - stained and some holes. Towels also are very hard, stained, torn and have a very strong smell of whatever they use in the laundry. Anyone allergic to cats be aware that there are many feral cats on the promenade to the rear of the hotel and these are not discouraged from the hotel buildings and grounds. For those who like to walk after their evening meal the few bars close by are not very appealing but walk alittle further to the Sport Hotel Galosol and sample the hospitality of their Capoeira Pub above the dive centre. Although they do not have entertainment every night it is frequent and far superior to that at the hotel. During the day try the walk up to the village of Canico a very pretty little village and well worth the uphill climb via the well signed pathways. Again a very friendly welcome is offered by the hosts of "The Village Pub" at the far end of the village. Numerous days out can be spent at Funchal and what it has to offer. We caught the local bus from here to the small fishing village of Camera de Lobos and walked back via the promenade. We also did the West Coast organised tour which was an excellent day out. You may see the tours offered at a cheaper rate BUT be aware these are by mini bus and not air conditioned coaches - you pay your money and take your choice. All in all our visit to Madeira was enjoyable but it does not have sufficient attractions to lure us back in the near future. Every one has their own opinions - I read and respect those of others but do not always agree. I hope some of mine are helpful and if you decide to visit Madeira and stay at the RIU Palace apply for a Riu Class card (available on line) to receive discount points during your stay but most of all - enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the oceanfront promenade of Canico de Baixo. 8-Storey building. 10 M to the sea; access to the ocean across a walkway. 13 Km from Funchal (complimentary shuttle service from the hotel; weekdays and Saturdays. Not available on public holidays). 2 Km from the city centre. 2 Km from various shops. 10 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.