We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food and Super service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terraca

La Terraca
Rua Joao Paulo II, 30, Canico, Madeira 9125-019, Portugal
+351 291 933 898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Canico
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Super food and Super service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We visited this restaurant three times during our stay in canico de baixo, and every time we had high quality of food and service. We had espada, grilled loin steak , chicken and it all was very tasty! the portions were very big with big number of garnirs, the wine is also very good. And they had a wonderful maderian bread with garlic butter. The price for bread, two mains, small wine and dessert less then 30 euros. It is located after the main square of Canico and you should visit it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    37
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The restaurant itself is not that special. However, during my short stay I visited La terraca 3 times. Why? The food was great. The service was brilliant. As other reviewers noticed, Carlos (the waiter) is a very gentle, agreeable man who does a perfect job in letting you feel like a 'guest'. Chapeau!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Ambience was good, food was excellent and the service even better! There was even a free ride to the hotel! All arranged by a great waiter, Carlos.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The food was very tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

we were with six persons and everyone had a good meal.the service was exelent. The waiter carlos, was entertaining and gave us good treatment.and we even got a free ride back to the hotel. Thanks a lot. A surinamees customer.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best service and food in Madeira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were at La Terraca several times for dinner and it was always the best. Great service (best waiter Carlos!), excellent food and drinks. The whole team was very nice and it was a pleasure to meet them.
They also have a cost free shuttle service from and back to the hotel, so that you can enjoy your evening without thinking about how to come back to the hotel.
On our next trip to Madeira, we will come again!
We would recommend La Terraca 200%.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terraca also viewed

 
Canico, Madeira
 

Been to La Terraca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terraca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.