We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar E Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mar E Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Mar E Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Liberdade, 1 | São Pedro de Moel, Marinha Grande 2430-501 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marinha Grande
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Read all the reviews prior to visiting this hotel and wasnt sure what to expect. We arrived when the sun was shining and the views out to sea were amazing. The hotel is right on the seafront with picture windows that make the most of the surroundings. You are so close you can almost dip your hand in the water! The restaurant has amazing views and its so lovely to sit having a meal and watching the waves roll in and what spectacular waves they were!
The hotel is very clean and the rooms lovely, modern and warm. We had a room that said land view but it was a side view of the sea and lighthouse which was an added bonus. Showers were hot and powerful.
We had breakfast included and it was plentiful with a good choice. The cooked breakfast was very basic with the same dried scrambled egg and fatty bacon everyday. It would have been good to have fried or boiled eggs some of the days but this is not a hotel frequented by Brits so you have to eat as they do and we enjoyed the other food on offer. I had read that the coffee machine was disgusting and I thought it couldnt be that bad but believe me it is and I'm not usually fussy!!! We took our own tea and coffee and a kettle as none in the room. Got strange looks when we asked for cups but we are english so expect that!
We ate dinner in the restaurant twice. The food was good but rather overpriced as was the wine.
The drinks were also very pricey. There is a pool table but it was 8.50 euros for an hour so we didnt use it which was a shame as there isnt anything else to do and we would have played on it a lot if it was cheaper.
There is a lovely spa which again is very expensive. We used it once and it was very relaxing. When we checked out we were told we could have it complimentary which was very kind of them but if it was cheaper we would have used it much more.
On the roof there is a terrace with stunning views and hot tubs and sun beds. As it was winter they werent in use but in summer it must be amazing.
We would certainly stay there again and it would be good to see it in the summer.
There is a lovely restaurant on Praia Velha beach just past the lighthouse called O Pai Dos Frangos. The service was great and the food really good. The wine was excellent and very reasonable. Again the views are amazing.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor with a side view but you could still see the sea. Ask for a room with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    34
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
32
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A simple, unpretentious hotel overlooking the Atlantic Ocean at Sao Pedro de Moel. The hotel is clean, rooms spacious, staff friendly and helpful and a small but adequate restaurant. Breakfast is buffet style with a good choice, lunches and evening meals are of a limited choice but there are a couple of good restaurants in the village and in nearby Marinha Grande. The hotel and village is ideal for a get away from it all, relaxing holiday which would not suit those looking for a busy holiday with lots of entertainment. The hotel offers free wifi.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the local market but are double glazed which enables you to watch the stall hold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I cannot really be impartial regarding this hotel, since I have been staying in this hotel for as long as I can remember. I have witness all its changes and improvements.
The hotel is very simple, but confortable, and has a great location, right in front of the see.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Food is great. It is within walking distance from the beaches, so if you want you can simply forget your car and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicante, spain
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Smart hotel facing the Atlantic, with miles of semi-deserted beaches to the north and south. Most of the rooms face the side, but if you upgrade and get a balcony room overlooking the sea, there is little between you and America- a great view.

Rooms are spacious and well-appointed (I can only imagine reviewers pre-2010 were talking about a different place) and you sleep with nothing but the roll of the waves to interrupt your sleep (which they won't). Good breakfast, excellent staff, and the sun terrace on the roof (with hot tubs and slightly pricey bar) is well protected against the wind which might otherwise drive you from the beaches.

Didn't try the restaurant- there are good places in town no more that 10 minutes' walk away- including a superb if expensive seafood place perched on a cliff (forgotten the name, but one of the best meals we had in Portugal).

Very much off the beaten track, but well worth it for a few days away from it all.

Room Tip: If you go for a room on the side there will still be no noise- but none of the waves to lull you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We can only think that the resident chef had finished for the season. Bearing in mind the hotels sea front location we were both fully expecting to be handed an exotic fish menu . There was one fish available cooked in 3 different ways. We both chose the turbot fried which came smothered in a yellow sauce which was obviously to disguise the old fish and overcooked vegetables. We both complained and walked out. The waitor handled the complaint very well and didnt charge for the meals.
We found a bistro in the village and had a lovely meal there.
The breakfast also fell very short of the standards expected at a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: If the rooms facing the sea are full request a side front room as the sea view is still very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Located on the cliffs above the crashing Atlantic, this hotel has a cool and laid back feel. This is helped by the walls of glass bringing ocean views and light to both the ground floor bar and first floor restaurant. Breakfast overlooking the ocean was a treat. We planned to stay for one night but extended it to take advantage of good weather.
Rooms continue the light contemporary feel - all bleached pine and pastel shades. We had a balcony with commanding views of sea, surf and incredible sunsets..
Service was friendly and energetic from an engaged young team.
The nearest beaches are 10 minutes walk away either into the centre of the resort or the large sandy beach (Praia Velha) beyond the lighthouse. The latter has two good beach restaurants at either end. I can thoroughly recommend O Pai do frangos “Father of the chickens” the best Arroz Marisco I’ve had.

Room Tip: Ask for a direct sea view (room 18 is good)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esposende, Portugal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed at this hotel just for 1 night but should have stayed a few more. It has been recently renovated (they are still working on the spa and the pool table had just been set up the day before). We get an amazing sea view from our lateral sea view room. The entire street wall was made of glass (several frames) and had enough space for a couple. The bad things of the room were: no bathtub - just shower; small TV and the mini-bar only had 2 bootles of water. The bed was made of 2 single bed but the mattress was confortable.
Another great thing of this hotel is the restaurant. Amazing view and excellent food with good price: main course + desert + soft drink for 20€/adult. The breakfast was just average but nothing to be ashamed of.
Will repeat the experience one day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mar E Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar E Sol

Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 1 | São Pedro de Moel, Marinha Grande 2430-501 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Marinha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marinha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mar E Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mar E Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar E Sol Portugal/Marinha Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mar E Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.