We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praia Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Praia Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Praia Sol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta Do Romao, Quarteira 8135, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Quarteira
Lancashire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

It was the first time we have stayed at this hotel but it WON'T be the last. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful the hotel is spotless and comfortable the staff worked hard in all areas and were really pleasant and helpful it was a wonderful relaxing break .Ask at the reception for the back gate to be unlocked it will save time on the way to the marina and this gate can be used on the return up to 22-00hrs .

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    124
    35
    18
    9
See reviews for
26
182
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

the hotel was clean and well kept, the staff friendly and forever helpful.
Antonio was fantastic and worked hard to make our stay everything we hoped.
The food was excellent every evening, even my fussy 9yr old enjoyed every meal!
definately a place we would visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Four of us went to this hotel, we all found it very friendly very clean the bar prices were cheaper than the bars outside which was a nice change, once we found our way out the back gate you just turn left out the gate and its about 10 mins walk to the marina which is a great place to visit to see how the other half live lol. The staff were all excellent very hard workers and couldnt do enough to help you 2 of the nights we had a singer/guitarist he was very good.all in all we really enjoyed our stay .. in june/july i think there might be a shortage of sunbeds it was annoying to see the english have copied the germans and claim there sunbed first thing in a morning and leave there towels on them even if there not using them till much later.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here April 12th - 26th. This is a beautiful Hotel, near to both Vilamoura and Quarteira centres. The back gate is a bonus and provides a short cut to both and despite previous comments about the safety of said gate we did not experience any problems at all.
The hotel itself is quite small but spotlessly clean and the staff work very hard to keep it this way, they made time to teach me bits of Portuguese which I greatly appreciated.
The pool is area is well kept, although maybe a few more sun loungers would be a plus.
We were half board and the food was basic Portuguese fare, well cooked and very tasty - thanks Maria!
We found the breakfast to be more than adequate, there is enough provided to vary your choice each day and it is all well cooked and presented.
The bar is very well stocked and the Sangria is fantastic! We sampled the White, Rose and Champagne and they were outstanding. Rui makes a marvellous Pina Colada - obrigado Rui.
All in all we had a good holiday and met some great people, the hotel is small enough to get to know other guests but also keep to yourself if you want to.
Just a word about the noisy dogs - we did hear them during our stay but as the hotel is in a residential area there is nothing that the hotel staff can do about it, it certainly didn't spoil our holiday!
Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so good and working so hard to acheive this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This one is special. Other reviewers have also loved it. It was"Highly commended" by Tripadvisor for 2012, well deserved! Staff brilliant, along with:- service/cleanliness/Friendliness/food/minimalist (ish) decor- but stylish,, a lovely, friendly, unpretentious place, just lovely.
Cons, well, 7-8 minutes from everywhere really. Set in a residential area, neighbours's dogs barking a pain, skateboard park a "slapping" noisey pain. The local stadium is good fun, watching Juniors coached in ALL track and field sports.
Get a car or bicycle, this is a place to return to !!
Graham Lumb

Room Tip: I was in 111, morning sun. Ask for whatever sun you need, morning, afternoon etc, BUT, only 40 ? roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay.

We hope you return in the future and are always welcome to stay again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have just returned from a week in this lovely hotel. The staff are excellent - nothing was too much trouble, I really hope that Management appreciate the calibre of staff they have on board. Our stay was going very well until a group of golfers from Northern Ireland arrived. They were so loud and unruly that conversation in the dining room was impossible. They took over the bar area and seemed to assume that everyone else wanted to hear their conversation peppered with foul language. One evening the entertainer could not start because of the noise in the bar area. There did not seem to be anyone in authority to control the situation. These golfers also thought it fine to talk in loud voices at 5 am and bang on each others doors to gain entry.
I have to agree with Kerimar and her comments re the German Shepherd in the next door property - it was hard to listen to if you were at the pool.
Having said all this, we did enjoy the rest of our stay and would recommend as a reasonably priced hotel with good facilities and excellent staff. Elianna would put a smile on the saddest face - she is a star.

Room Tip: We had a room at the side facing the car parking area. The sun reached the balcony about 4 pm and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for you review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay however do agologise on behalf of other guests that may have made you feel otherwise.

We hope this does not change your mind of the hotel and are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my husband, sister and mother, to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday. As I broke my ankle 2 weeks before our holiday, I contacted the hotel directly to ask if there was anywhere locally that I could hire a wheelchair, Isabel very kindly arranged to hire a chair from the local clinic and because they weren't open at the weekend, she organised for the chair to be collected from the clinic on the Friday so that it was waiting for me when we arrived late Saturday. They also returned the chair for me after we had departed. I also asked in advance if it was possible to have some fresh flowers in my mother's room for her birthday. Not only were there flowers, but a lovely basket of fruit too - my mum was really pleased! The hotel itself was lovely and clean, the facilities very good and the staff both friendly and very helpful. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble to ensure a pleasant stay, The location was ideal for a 5 minute walk to Vilamoura Marina and really not far from the beach and Quarteira main strip. It was just unfortunate that due to being on crutches and in a wheelchair, it was a little more difficult to get to places. Having said that, we did hire a car for 3 days and other times we used taxis which were reasonably priced. If there was going to be any kind of slightly negative comment, it would have to be the German Shepherd dog from the next door property which had a habit of barking very loudly and very frequently. This was during the day and sometimes during the night. At times it would also set off other dogs in the area and you would end up with a mini 'dog orchestra'! It did get quite annoying! However, other than that, we had a very enjoyable week here and we would recommend as a reasonably priced hotel which has good facilities and excellent staff. Thanks for all your help!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel on the first floor are great for sunshine on the balcony virtually a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and pleased to hear you found staff very friendly and helpful.

We hope you return in the future and are always welcome to stay again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praia Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Sol

Address: Quinta Do Romao, Quarteira 8135, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praia Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Praia Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Sol Hotel
Hotel Praia Sol Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praia Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.