We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praia Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Praia Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Praia Sol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta Do Romao, Quarteira 8135, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Quarteira
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay here over the Xmas Holiday. Rooms were spacious and clean, towels in the large and modern bathroom were changed every day except for the public holidays.The bar and lounge area were both comfortable and welcoming and the evening entertainment provided was excellent. The restaurant provided a choice of two dishes for starter, main and sweet courses which were ordered the day before. A breakfast buffet was provided with most of the usual items included, all the meals we received here were well cooked and substantial and excellent value for money for a hotel in this category.All of the staff that we came in contact with daily were polite, courteous and friendly, these qualities also extended to the clientele here whose company we enjoyed. As I have limited mobility we hired a car and were pleased to have disabled parking bays available. We enjoyed our holiday in Vilamoura very much and would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a holiday in this location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay, We hope you return and are always welcome to stay again at the Praia Sol Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    124
    35
    18
    9
See reviews for
26
182
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax. England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had another three weeks here once again no faults, everything just as good as our stay in January, weather also as good.
This Hotel is deffinateley value for money, the staff most obliging and helpful, if you love fish always one of the choices for evening meal which we loved.
Vilamoura a lovely marina to sit and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to considertaion.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay once again at the Praia sol Hotel.

We hope you return and look forward to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel was beautiful, lovely and clean, however the staff were not hospitable at all.
The first night my husband and I arrived we went out for a few drinks, we could not find the front entrance to come back to and so tried the back gate, it was locked, while asking locals for directions they hit my husband and he split his head open, luckily they ran off and other locals helped us find the front entrance, the night porter was brilliant and gave me all the stuff i needed to clean Chris' head.
We went to bed and Chris was sick, unfortunately on the sheets, i stripped the beds and the next morning asked the manager for clean bedding, the response was 'Why?' even though it was our fault if we wanted new bedding should it not just be given without question?
From the moment the chambermaid had cleaned the room we were treated like naughty school children by the staff, we asked for directions the next day as we were going on a jeep safari and needed to get to the pick up point, the girl said she did not know where it was and walked off, we returned from the jeep safari which was brilliant and we had brought a bottle of champagne with us to celebrate our anniversary, Chris went to the bar and asked could we have a glass of ice and 2 wine glasses, the rude barmaid replied shortly and sharply 'no, i need them all' and gave chris 2 half pint glasses - not what you want to be drinking champagne out of!!Also there was about 1/3 of the capacity of guests so I dont think she would of needed every single one of them.
There was no snacks available at the hotel unless it was at breakfast time or Tea time, the menu was set and unappealing, there was no hospitality shown to us at any point and it got to the point where we dreaded seeing the staff when we would return to the hotel, we spoke to other guests who had heard how rudely we were spoken to and were glad it wasn't just us who didn't have great experiences with the staff.
There were no double beds only rooms with 2 singles which was disapointing,there were no signs or easy ways of getting from the front of the hotel to the back, something should be done about that.
If your over 50 the staff seemed to have a kinder attitude but if your young i would not recommend this hotel and i also think the staff and manager definitely need to go on a hospitality course!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a terrace so it doesn't matter much, we stayed at the back of the hotel facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review.

We are very sorry to read this review, staff at Hotel Praia Sol work hard to please guests and their first priority is the well being and safety of all our guests.
Firstly we ask our guests to always use the front entrance as for safety reasons we do not leave the back open, we are sorry for what happened and made sure you were safe and advised to see a doctor when you arrived to the Hotel.
The Manager came to see you to make sure everything was ok as you did not see a doctor and you were asked why as to find out the reason for new bedding as your room seemed to require new bedding daily, as you are aware the policy states only once a week a bedding change and towels 3 times a week.
The food served in the restaurant has a wide variety for selection which we do not repeat for 10 days to satisfy all.
We are not aware of the incident with the champagne classes.

Once again we are sorry you feel this way as staff were always helpful and make sure guests feel at home during their stay.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelo playa dorada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

we had a short stay, 3 nights to be exact,met by roy who made us feel most welcome, gave us all the info we needed to get around and make our stay as enjoyable as possible. rooms were clean and spacious, bedding clean and the bathroom was extremely large, touch of black mildew round the bath which i hate, could easily be dealt with in a few minutes of maintenance anyway that aside really good standard the bar area and the lounge are comfy warm and clean . the restaurant was spotless and the pool and grass surrounding area was most certainly the cleanest and best maintained ive encountered on a holiday abroad, finally the food as stated before on tripadvisor you can grab a 3 course meal for 10 euros well worth the money and drinks extra cheap as well,brecky in the morning is the good old english eggs sausage toms beans with toast and cereal and various fruits and yogurts -excellent to get your day off to a good start really 5 minute walk to the marina through the back gate quiet location but the whole lot on your doorstep within a stones throw had a great stay thankyou

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay, we hope staff made your stay feel as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashel, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Fifth time to have stayed at Hotel Praia Sol.Excellent value for the cost incurred.The manager Roy really knows how to cater for the guests.Rooms clean.Food Good.Beer cheap .Villamura a short walk away.What more could you ask for!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay once again with us at the Praia Sol Hotel.

We hope you return and are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is the second year running we have been to this hotel.It was great last year but this year it was even better.The hotel is very clean.The food was good,set menu with 2 choices for each course.If it was something you didnt like the chef Maria,would change it around to suit what you liked.The best soup ever.
All of the staff were lovely and very helpful.Anna,Isabell,ILLiana,Rui,Antonio and chef Maria.
Thankyou for making our holiday so nice especially for "007".

Room Tip: Rooms for the elderly and disabled are available on the ground floor with wheelchair access
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay with us again at the Hotel Praia sol.

We hope you return and look forward to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent two quiet weeks at the Praia Sol in Quarteria in October 2012 and enjoyed the experience. We had rain on a few days which meant planning trips was a bit difficult.
We flew with Easyjet and found the flights to be good and no problem with finding a seat. They are to introduce seat allocation in November 2012.
The transfer to the Praia Sol from Faro took about 30 minutes. We were quickly checked in by Isabel, a friendly and helpful young lady whom we met many times during our stay, and got to room 103 on the first floor just before midday.
There was a double bed, very comfortable with good pillows, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, a bathroom with bath and shower and lots of hot water and some toiletries, which were not replaced during our stay so lucky we brought our own. There was a small flat screen television on the wall, which started with Sky news and in a few days we had ITV and BBC 1. A lot of people then went to their room after dinner and stayed there. The room only had one chair inside. There was lots of space for a second one. Towels are changed Monday, Wednesday and Friday so be aware the Friday ones have to last until Monday.
The room, which was quite big, had a West facing balcony and it was a bit cool until the sun came round in the afternoon. It was lucky we brought our kettle as they don't provide one. The hairdryer is of little use.
I went to reception for a lock for the safe and paid €30 for two weeks and €20 deposit, refundable when the lock is returned.
We unpacked our bags and went to explore the hotel. There isn't much to see. The reception leads to the bar which leads to the restaurant which leads to a patio and the swimming pool area. We decided to have a snack and had toasted ham and cheese sandwiches and we shared a plate of chips which looked like McDonalds. My wife had an Orange Juice and I had a small beer. The lot came to €13 and was charged to our room. The Toasties were not the best, being very oily.
Breakfast is quite good with a selection of cereals, fresh fruit salad, cheese, ham and salami, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, pork sausages, beans and once a week undercooked streaky bacon. There are delicious fresh rolls and hot drinks from a machine. The coffee is pretty awful so I was lucky I brought my own. After two weeks the selection was becoming boring.
Dinner, you filled in a form the previous night with your selection, was table served and offered a choice of two starters, one of which is soup and the other a salad, two main courses, one of which is fish, and a dessert or fresh fruit. It was adequate and properly cooked on most occasions. On our first night we had profiteroles for dessert but they were frozen solid so we couldn’t eat them and another night we had fresh peaches but they weren’t ripe. The other complaint we had was that the selection for dinner wasn’t broader.
The area around the hotel is mainly holiday flats and lots of homes for the local population. It’s quite dark at night so most people didn’t go out after dinner. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the Quarteria promenade. The promenade is about a mile long and had plenty of seating as well as cafes and restaurants for those in need.
Vilamoura Marina is about fifteen minutes walk from the hotel and also has lots of cafes, restaurants and shops. It is more expensive than Quarteria and there is very little to see there apart from lots of boats.
I can see the hotel appeals to the older UK visitors, of which I am one, because it is quiet and I imagine few children come here because there is only an outside swimming pool to keep them occupied.
There is free Wi-Fi in the reception area but they do not advertise this.
They do not provide pool towels so you have to bring your own.
The staff are very friendly and as there are so few of them they have to multitask on a daily basis. They do it very well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay at the Praia Sol Hotel.

You are always welcome to return and stay again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praia Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Sol

Address: Quinta Do Romao, Quarteira 8135, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praia Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Praia Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Sol Hotel
Hotel Praia Sol Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praia Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.