We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad at all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clube Hotel Apartamento do Algarve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Clube Hotel Apartamento do Algarve to your Saves list
Clube Hotel Apartamento do Algarve
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta do Romao, Quarteira 8125-301 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Quarteira
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not bad at all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel is located within a residential area which does look slightly run down and the barbed wire around the top of the fence of the complex does appear alarming however once inside it is very pleasant. We went at off peak time which was extremely quiet, not much to do in the area at all.

We booked a 1 bedroom self catering apartment and requested a cot as we were travelling with our 16 month old daughter. The apartment was very clean and had everything you needed. The cot was provided as requested, cleaning staff attended daily and were very nice. We were 1 floor up and there is no lift. The balcony was very spacious but the railing was low so beware toddlers! The only English speaking tv channel was BBC World News. The beds were really nice and firm so had a good sleep every night. There is no onsite shop so you do need to go to the local supermarket which is only about 5 mins walk and very reasonably priced. The beach is also a 5 min walk. I would recommend this hotel but would advise going at a busier time of year as it was a bit boring after 3 days.
Every night we could hear dogs barking, it was as if there were organised dog fights or something like that but it wasn't to disturbing.
Excellent value for money.
I would also recommend booking yellowfish transfers. Very good prices and helpful drivers. Our flight was delayed on the way out by 5 hours but they were still there to meet us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This was an early season cheap break for some sunshine, and thats exactly what we got.The package was £261 for the two of us which included Easyjet flights from Bristol, transfers, and a studio apartment for 5 nights.
The apartment was basic, but more than adequate, with a pleasant private sun terrace. Everything was clean, with free heating/aircon. A couple of negative points were, the beds were a bit on the firm side with small pillows. a rather dated television which we could only get BBC World News or CNN in english. Other than that no problem.
Location was in a mainly residential area which could be seen as a bit risky to walk after dark.
A well stocked supermarket is 5 mins walk and the nearest sandy beach about the same distance. The apartments are 10 mins walk from Quarteira seafront which is very pleasant with more cafe type eating than restaurants. The shopping area in the town offers a good selection of gift shops.
In the other direction a 20 mins walk is Villamoura with its Marina, restaurants, and large hotels. A more attractive setting for an evening meal

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

After staying in hotels for the last few years we chose these appartments for a self catering holiday and were bitterly disappointed. We were able to book a joint early flight and room transfer arriving at 11am only to be told that we couldn't check in until 4pm; the receptionist did however arrange for our room to be made available at 1pm.

We stayed in a ground floor studio and the accomodation was dated with some odd 'diy' style plumbing which appeared to be as a result of dividing up a larger complex to self contained units. We lost one half of the wardrobe to the hot water tank and were supplied with a free standing clothes rail, which would not have looked out of place in a shop store room. I'm not sure when pop up toasters and electric kettles were invented but the manual toaster and stove top kettle were quaint.

The Clube had little facilities, there's a pool cafe but the internal bar is closed.

The premises are U shaped and the garden and pool area was beautiful if not spoilt by the barbed wire which divided our section of appartments from the two side blocks that couldn't access the pool, presumablly these were privately owned. The main entrance to the appartments was via the car park although you can go via internally via 2 (part time) locked doors.

The receptionist was very pleasant and sympathetic to our arrival delay, unfortunately this was not uncommon with bookings. She was able to give us good directions to the area but warned us not to walk about after dark. The Clube is in a residential area and poorly lit. We found it very intimidating, possibly a little paranoid by the general shabbiness/graffitti and the signs warning us to keep doors locked at all times.

To kill the 2hour arrival delay we went into Quarteria. This resort appeared to be industrial rather than tourist friendly and run down.

We spent all evenings at the marina and tried a couple of routes back to the Clube to avoid the dark coastal road but were met by a few 6 foot brick walls blocking the path. We could at one point see our appartment but have to retrace our steps by 15 mins to avoid the walls. It was as if Quarteria was deliberately sectioned off from Vilamoura. Suffice to stay we kept to the coast road and didn't drink too much.

The marina is well equiped with bars and restaurants, very modern and clean. It's also got lots of good looking hotels with happy looking guests. If I were to go back, I'd definately stay in one of those.

Even our departure was thwarted by not being able to redeem our safe deposit. In checking out at 7am the night security guard was the only one on duty and had no access to cash, despite us checking with reception the day before if our early departure would be a problem. The security guard ended up refunding us from his own wallett.

Overall we were disappointed by the lack of transparancy on booking, the Clube has basic facilities and the area is not good for going out at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at this great complex early in november as a cheap getaway rest prior to xmas. We were pleasently surprised when we got to the comex at the size of our apartment. The maid service throughout our stay was the best we had ever had and everyone working in the complex were very friendly. The complex is set amidst villas and private housing yet close to both villamoura and quarteira. When we were there there were literally a handful of rooms occupied so this only added to the peace and tranquility we were hoping for. The pool is lovely and all rooms look onto this area so ur always gyaranteed a good view! During our stay we were lucky enough to come across the oarco restaurant which is situated in the old part of quarteira (just one street away from the church that has the storks nesting on the tower) and we were amazed at both the quality of food and service...its only a very small place, tucked away in a side street, but if you find it you must go....its not cheap but you get what you pay for....the house rose is delightful with the steak that is served and the crab salad (although not always on the menu) is divine as a starter!!! A day trip on the local bus to faro is well with it....take a good map and this compact little city can easily be discovered on foot....head from the bus station to the old quater, stopping at one of the harbourfront cafes for a coffee and a cake so that your set up for your days exploring!.....make sure you pay the couple of euros to go into the tiny cathedral....the views from the top are amazing! All in all a wonderful holiday....will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This place appears a bit out of the way when you first get there, but once you get your bearings you will find it is within easy walking distance to Vilamoura Harbour.
We could do it in 15 minutes. You can go either through the estate and alongside the floodlit football pitch or if you want a longer but very pleasant walk you can go along the beach.

The apartments are an older design but are perfectly adequate, with a supermarket nearby to get enough provisions should you wish to eat in.We tended to stay around the pool and pop up to the apartment for lunch. The pool area is large and plenty of sunbeds. It was delightfully quiet. A real chill out location.
We ate out out most nights and found the prices of the restaurants varied all depending on how close to the waters edge you were in the marina.!

We used it as a base whilst watching the Portuguese Masters golf and will definitely use it again.

Room Tip: We chose the mid priced Studio apartment which had a large lounge, balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed in a one bed apt with 3 adults and a toddler. Overall, it was OK, but my overriding memory is of how hot the bedrooms were to sleep in. The only AC unit was in the lounge - which was at the opposite end of the apt to the bedroom. And because we had a guest on the sofabed, she obviously wanted a bit of privacy overnight and would shut the door - ergo no air flow through the apt. Plus the boiler is in a cupboard in the room, which just added to the heat. We stayed in Sept, so could just about cope (although our toddler woke up bathed in sweat after even short naps), but if it was July or August we definitely wouldn't have, and there is no way I'd stay here with a very young baby or anyone sensitive to heat.
Pros:
* Easy trip from airport - only 30mins by car (we used suntransfers.com for €23, but taxis should be around €30-40)
* Great pool area - never any issues getting sunbeds, decent pool bar, good size adult and children's pools, lovely water temperature, plenty of shade, cute frog pond nearby
* Good sized rooms, very clean, maids made beds and swept apartments most days
* Friendly and helpful reception staff
* Library of books left behind by other holidaymakers - you could help yourself and leave behind books you didn't want
* Nice large balconies - great for al fresco dinners and drinks
* Very close to beach
* Walking distance to two towns, Quarteria (5-10mins) and Vilamoura (15-20mins). Quarteria is very local, a bit seedy in spots, but cheaper for pretty much everything and has a nice pedestrian mall in the centre with cafes, shops etc, as well as a decent fruit and seafood market in the waterfront. Vilamoura is much more upmarket and touristy; Pepper's in the Tivoli Marina hotel is good for a date-night meal out.
* Fairly quiet at night - there's no bar or restaurant in the hotel, and it's not immediately near any bars, so most noise was just other apartments
Cons:
* The heat in the bedroom - as above
* Really hard beds and terrible pillows - my partner struggled to get comfortable on these
* Ants - if the tiniest speck of food was on the floor, the place would be covered in them
* Occasional tiny roaches in the bathroom
* Beds were two singles pushed together - not a proper double
* Strange sofabeds - like two very small single mattresses, which couldn't be made together very well
Overall, if this was a cheap deal in a cooler month, and you have no young kids or elderly folk with you, then it's not a bad option.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor (2nd level) if you're mobile enough to do the stairs. The door that leads to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

great location between quarteria and vilamoura, both easy to reach. staff were very helpful and friendly, apartments large and clean.pool never busy with a great snack bar and wonderful coffee, nearby beach beautiful and clean.would recommend this to all, really excellent value for money, cannot fault anyrthing.
penny and colin

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clube Hotel Apartamento do Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Hotel Apartamento do Algarve

Address: Quinta do Romao, Quarteira 8125-301 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Hotel Apartamento do Algarve 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Clube Hotel Apartamento do Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Hotel Quarteira
Clube Hotel Apartamento Do Algarve Quarteira, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clube Hotel Apartamento do Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.