We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dom Jose Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Infante de Sagres, 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Very Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Quarteira
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice beach hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of July. The hotel was a short cab ride from the local train station and was about €5-€10 can't remember exactly. The hotel was recently refurbished so the lobby looks bright and welcoming and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a room facing the beach with a balcony, the room and bathroom was small but comfortable and modern and clean so we have no real complaints there, plus the view is beautiful, especially at sunset. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and that was a buffet breakfast with a range of cereals and hot food etc, the breakfast was average but satisfied us. We only stayed at this hotel for two nights as we spent the majority of our time in Lisbon. However, the time we spent in Algarve and at the Dom Jose beach hotel was great. The hotel has a decent sized pool but limited beach chairs so I can imagine during peak season it must get packed quickly. The concierges were a great help, they assisted us with everything from booking local excursions to giving us tips on local restaurants and places to visit. If you stay here I recommend that you book the catamaran tour around the caves as they are worth seeing, however there are a range of tours so read the tour specification properly as some tours are better than others. The only downside about the hotels services is that there was no free wi-fi and if i was staying longer that would have been a necessity.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and would probably stay here again if I visit that part of Algarve.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

We present our best regards,

The Management
Dom José Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    347
    68
    15
    8
See reviews for
132
486
42
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK/IRE
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We enjoyed 5 days at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel and plan on going back it was so good! The price was excellent for the facilities on offer. Good clean, modern, well run hotel. Staff were excellent and went beyond the normal service expected. Loved the location, loved the pool area (although can get busy a times) and enjoyed many hours on the terrace watching the world go by. Great walk available along the promenade.

Rooms very clean, modern and basic. Would deffo upgrade to a seaview/balcony room next visit. Only had breakfast in the hotel which was fine. Had a couple of snacks in the bar/terrace area which were good value for money and freshly cooked & hot.

Room Tip: go for a seaview room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

We present our best regards,

The Management
Dom José Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband & I spent 10 nights in this hotel back in June '13. Overall we were very pleased. Yes the rooms are a little small & they dont have a fridge for tea/coffee making facilities, but that didnt spoil it for us. It wasnt hot enough to need a fridge. The newly furbished bathroom was excellent. The staff were always very friendly & helpful, however, the bar service was a little slow. The evening entertainment was good as well.
We were lucky to have a sea facing balcony, otherwise the rear of the hotel faces other buildings. Two very small moans, first the fourth floor landing was hardly ever cleaned whilst we stayed & because the outside door let the light through, it looked pretty bad at times, but hey, that didnt spoil our holiday. Secondly, the food lacked imagination & choice, & there were times when guests were kept waiting for replenishment. However, it was adequate. Overall, we would recommend this hotel & the surrounding area, it was a 45min walk to Villamoura or 5mins by taxi. It was about 20mins bus ride to Lule. Pleasantly quiet on the beach most of the time. Sunbeds are expensive, so like most others we purchased a parasol, chair & lilo for 22 Euros & left them behind at the end of the stay, a saving of about 100 Euros. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

We present our best regards,

The Management
Dom José Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Sympathy, friendliness, service, service and location, location!!!
Quarteira, very nice spot! The view to the sea is fantastic, the beach in front is very good. We d'ont have cars between the hotel and the beach!
And the rates ......are a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

We present our best regards,

The Management
Dom José Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed for three nights with my partner. Great experience, superb view, good price and relaxed atmosphere. Good mix of different nationalities. Exceptionally clean and friendly staff. We enjoyed buffet meals at breakfast and dinner. There is a good selection of dishes at a reasonable price. Snacks and drinks on bar terrace lovely too! Overall a very pleasant experience, I would stay here again. Mattresses are firm and wifi expensive. Also, a sunshade and two beds on the hotel's own part of beach in front of the hotel costs €12 per day. It is a great spot but you would need to factor this cost into your budget if staying for a couple weeks.

Room Tip: We didn't have a room with a balcony or sea view because we booked late. The view is beautiful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

We present our best regards,

The Management
Dom José Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

great,location,value,friendly and helpful staff,ive just read a negative review here and am amazed, this is not a 5 star beach fronted hotel,but it is a 3 star as described,it seems some people have a lot of time on their hands to look for problems that arent really there,everything is well described on the hotels website,and simple maths will tell you only 1 side can face the sea !!,champagne lifestyle / lemonade budget ??

Room Tip: lovely sea views from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

We present our best regards,

The Management
Dom José Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Just returned after a weeks stay with my family in the Dom Jose Beach Hotel and seriously wonder if the positive reviews showing are all genuine as my experience was the exact opposite. I foolishly believed that all the good reviews could not be wrong and that the handful of bad reviews are just people being picky.
The initial impression of the hotel is appalling and is certainly not shown on any websites. The main entrance is located down a cramped and ran down back street, facade of hotel is dilapidated to say the least. On checking in rooms allocated to us had no balcony at all and view from rooms was the same ran down back street which the main entrance. Outside the window of every room is an old rusted aircon unit which makes the view even worse. Lack of balcony was not mentioned on travel agent website where it only explained that a balcony with sea view was availed as an upgrade, at no point did it mention that if you did not upgrade then you would not have a balcony. As I am 6 months pregnant we requested that we be changed to a room with a balcony as we would be spending a lot of time in our room. This response to this was that we would have to wait a few days to see if one was available and if so we would be charged 12 euros per night for the privilege of a balcony. No balcony room was ever offered however this was maybe a saving grace as we later found out that some of the balcony rooms either faced the side of the hotel or the same ran down back street which we already had as a view. This was not explained by reception staff at the time of our enquiry for a balcony room.
This hotel may only be a 3 star however that does not excuse the lack of choice and quality of the food on offer for breakfast and dinner which we had booked. Hot breakfast choice alternated between bacon, scrambled egg, tomatoes and sausage, scrambled egg, tomatoes. On odd days you would also have fried eggs and baked beans. Dinner was always a maximum of 3 choices of main course which where lacking in flavour and quality. Soup on offer every night was essentially the same vegetable base with a different title. Children did not get catered for in any way which is not good when you have a 10 year with you and you are staying in an alleged family hotel.
Over and above the lack of balcony and horrendous view from the rooms, the lack of a small fridge to keep drinks cool in the room made the stay far less pleasant. The rooms are small and the beds not the most comfortable. My daughters bed was a small camp bed with an very thin mattress which was even less comfortable than our beds. this was made worse by the fact that we had been charged more or less the adult price for her when booking. Good points for the rooms though are that they had a nice ensuite bathrooms and LCD televisions which provided British channels.
Cleanliness of the hotel could be improved as the maids seemed to only focus on cleaning the reception area of the hotel with the rooms getting a quick towel change late in the afternoon, no moping of floor or cleaning of bathrooms. Beds are only made up by them if you leave them unmade otherwise they don't bother with them. One day the maid actually asked if we wanted the bed made up and this was only because I was in the room at the time (4 o'clock in the day to be exact). The restaurant floor remained uncleared after dinner, the result of which was a dirty floor and large population of ants in the restaurant. These are basic hygiene standards which any hotel should be taking care of.
Pool area was small but nice although lack of life guard was not good as the pool did become deep at very quickly.
Hotel had no entertainment and lacked any sort of atmosphere. Entertainment was meant to be every second night however in the week we attended we never witnessed any sort of entertainment on any of the nights.
Reviews stated that the hotel was a short walk along the promenade to Vilamoura Marina. This is not in anyway true as the promenade does not go all the way from Quarteira to Vilamoura, it actually stops about a third of the way there and the rest of the walk is across scrub land which is neither pleasant nor safe to walk along. The best way is by the local bus which can be taken from the bus station at a cost of 75 cents each way and only takes about 10 minutes.
Overall it was a deeply disappointing experience. This hotel is not cheap and therefore you do not expect poor hygiene, poor food, cramped rooms with no facilities and such an appalling frontage. I understand that it is a 3 star hotel and in no way was I expecting 5 star standards however even the most basic hotels exceed this one. I will in no way be returning to this hotel or ever recommend people to visit the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Madam,

We thank you for your comments about the Hotel and we regret that your stay has not been satisfactory.

The satisfaction of our Guests it is very important for us and to know your opinion helps us to ensure the improvement of the quality of our services.

We took note of your comments and we are going to reply accordingly to the same comments as follows:

- regarding the bedrooms: we kindly inform that all published pictures of our rooms are completely real. We have 2 different types of rooms: rooms with land view no balcony (cheaper and the one that you have booked) and rooms with sea view and balcony. During the period of your stay we didn't had any sea view rooms available because these type are the most booked and in order to get one, guests have to book in advance. All our rooms are of standard size according to what is required for a 3 star hotel.

- regarding the meals: we kindly inform that we serve meals above a 3 star Hotel standard and there is no lack of variety, as you can check in more of 400 reviews of other guests. Our breakfast is full continental and English self service buffet, such as our dinner with Portuguese traditional food, served every day.

- regarding the fridge: as a 3 star Hotel we are not obliged to have fridges in rooms, however we have a fridge in our Bar that we provide to our guests to store baby food and other products.

- regarding the housekeeping: our housekeeping service is from 08.30 am till 5.00 pm, so rooms can be cleaned during this period of time.

We understand your comments but we don't agree with them because we consider our Hotel to be clean, modern, with many facilities for Guests as a 3 star Hotel demands.

We hope to welcome you again in a very near future and we present our best regards,

The Management
Dom José Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres, 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean.Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura.In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina.Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet (charge), direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer.Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Wireless in public areas (charge), a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades.Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf.Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services.Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel.Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Jose Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.