We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinhal do Sol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pinhal do Sol Hotel to your Saves list
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio de Semino, Quarteira 8125, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Quarteira
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Amazing staff friendly helpful, lovely hotel, only down side is no entrainment at nights and due to the location it could do with evening entertainment, other then that.fantastic holiday, we would return. It's not really a location for teenager's but for adults it's just what you want, peace ,just heaven.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    219
    110
    50
    34
See reviews for
134
223
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Clean. Nice gardens great shuttle bus service into local towns. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Some people have made commented that the rooms based at the far end of the resort are a long way away, which I feel is a slightly unjust, it is a three minute walk however, may be difficult for people with poor mobility. A good budget, country hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

If you want to cross the road and lie on the beach, this is out of the way, but a shuttle bus is provided. If you want to stay in the grounds, there is a lovely garden and swimming pool, and no noise at night. The staff are as nice as they come, and the room was cleaned and the beds made daily. Plenty of choice of excellent food, two fish, two meat daily, if you are a rigid veggie, pulses are available cold, but you are still provided for. The standard of cooking is excellent, and soups and solids are for starters, and a choice of deserts and fruits, madeira cakes, cheeses, sometimes creme caramel, but always something different each night. Breakfast consists of a wide choice of breads, jams, a toaster is available, cereals and bacon, eggs, fried, boiled and scrambled, tomato, beans, sausages, tea and coffee, as well as fruit juices. My wife and me used this hotel as our home for the week, we looked forward to coming back from our days out walking, a great meal at the end of the day. However much the Algarve has been developed since I was last there twenty two years ago, it can not detract from the reason, it's beautiful coast, and within walking distance of this hotel are miles and miles of long sandy beaches, lagoons, superb wetlands and some of the Algarve's beautiful cliffs. We can't wait to go back, and this is the hotel we want to go to. There is also a LIDL about a quarter of a mile towards town, as good a supermarket as you will need. I score the location as average, to my wife and me we were glad it is out of the way, it is quiet, but a shuttle bus takes guests daily to Quarteira and Vilamoura the owners have done their best to think of everybody's needs.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same way, towards the gardens and the coast, some reviews complained about the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

we have just come back from this hotel - very peaceful and I am glad I read the reviews and found exactly what others thought about it. Being a muslim as well as vegetarian I had doubts initially - but I was given a warm welcome and respect all through my stay. The staff Vera and the cook Mr Jose Carmel from Cape Verde were very helpful. The cook looked after us and made sure I did not starve.. lovely vegetarian choice of home made style soups! Car is essential if your stay is for a longer period. IF its a short break, I dont think it will be necessary to hire .. as the bus fares to Faro, Loule, Albufera is cheap and this way you can do your walking - good for your health - above all weather in February was lovely

Room Tip: choose any room - even a standard room is spacious than 4* hotels. you can upgrade for a kettle /fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have just come back from this hotel where you need a car really, the hotel is okay if you want to stay on a budget and we found most things acceptable but left after a week and moved to another hotel as we found the small restaurant was taken over each evening by local workers who were given preference on where you sat on and on one occasion witness to people being told that they could not sit where they liked as the waitress ' had the boy's coming in' management should make its mind up is this restaurant for people booking a holiday with them or a local restaurant for the select few, we also had plates mounting up on the table whilst staff chatted with the workers leaving feelings that we were not welcome.
This hotel is okay bed and breakfast but book half board at your peril.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have been to this hotel on 4 or 5 occasions now and are going again in May.
It is a small,independent hotel with good facilities. We have only ever been there on a B&B basis as we prefer to go out to Vilamoura or Quarteira to eat. The hotel is a short distance from both of these places and they provide a shuttle service. However,we always have a car so make our own way around. The rooms are quite basic but large and adequate. We always go out of school holiday time so it`s not too busy. I can`t comment on how it would appeal to families with small children. The pool area and gardens are very well kept and clean. We only have breakfast there and this is very good.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a LONG way from the reception area and restaurant so if walking is a problem ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Peaceful location, wonderful staff, good food and excellent amenities. We enjoyed our stay immensely. We will return later in the year. It's a perfect hotel for mature travellers. A car is an advantage, however the hotel does provide minibus transport into the town and with convenient pickups.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinhal do Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinhal do Sol Hotel

Address: Sitio de Semino, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinhal do Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pinhal do Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Pinhal Do
Hotel Pinhal Sol
Quarteira Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel Quarteira
Pinhal Do Sol Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinhal do Sol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.