We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Country Hotel out of the way....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinhal do Sol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pinhal do Sol Hotel to your Saves list
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio de Semino, Quarteira 8125, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Quarteira
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Top Country Hotel out of the way....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Pinhal do Sol since 2005 many many times, i have read many reports from the sublime to the ridiculous.

Here's my opinion firstly you are in Portugal, respect the local people and they will respect you (@;

The rooms are a little tired and may need the odd bit of maintenance, but hey? the average price per day per week is seriously good value for what you get.

The food is continental and you can eat from multiple choices for breakfast again for lunch and the same in the evening.

There are only so many types of meat fish veg you can be served and only so many ways of cooking them.

They are all available everyday. Speak to the chef's they are both lovely people.

The staff are attentive and willing to please,Jessica and Co...

The reception staff are always friendly and willing to help....

The all inclusive, i have read many reports about poor quality etc.... It clearly states Drinks served "AI" 11 am until 10pm.... During the day there is never a limit.....pace yourself... Whats the Rush!

If you have to pay after 10pm it hardly cost £? that much and most people i have witnessed only ever have one more drink after 10pm.

The entertainment is typical local artist singing crooner songs, dont worry you have the choice to listen or not..

Its a typical Family Country Hotel that does get populated with a wide range of nations at all times..

Has a British Citizen visiting the Hotel on many occasions i find some of the British to be quite rude... to the staff.

Mingle with the locals try the different languages, you will be surprised theres a lot of like minded people in other nations...(@;

To summarise its just out of Quartierra, (free hotel bus) into Town 2 miles further and your in Vilamoura...

Quiet location,Ample size rooms,Great Pool,Great food,Great bar, fantastic staff...

I last stayed with my daughter over Xmas 2012 and had a fantastic time thank you all @ Pinhal do Sol....

See you soon...

Room Tip: Noisy rooms are near Reception Pretty obvious..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    219
    110
    50
    34
See reviews for
134
223
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was a very cheap hotel but what it offers is far better than I thought

Rooms are very clean, large and airy

Food is good considering they are offering a number of alternatives with not that many people staying

Staff very polite

Courtesy bus excellent additional service

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had booked all inclusive and arrived 15 minutes before the end of lunch. We checked in and were told to go straight to the restarant so that we did not miss lunch. Lunch was buffet style including 2 choices of main course, salad, soup, starters & sweets. The evening meal was similar but with more choice (usually 2 different fish dishes and 2 different meats + 1 veg and more salad, soup, starters sweets etc). Breakfast was the usual choice of cereals, cold meats, cheese, and a selection from scrambled eggs, fried eggs, bacon, mushrooms,sausages, baked beans - (depending on the day).
The shuttle bus was really needed to get around and was always on time - 2 buses were used when necessary. The bus went to Quartaria and Vilamora. You could walk to the local beach but it took about 30 minutes.
The weather was mixed first 2 days were cloudy and the last 3 were sunny and warm.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful - nothing like some other reviews had mentioned. Being out of season I was supprised that there was any entertainment - Karoke (without any pressure to join in) and a singer/keyboard player another night.
No criticism of the hotel but not really for anyone looking for a night life as the all inclusive drinks stop at 10pm and the bar shuts 1 hour later. The all inclusive drinks included the usual locally sourced fare.
We had 3 single rooms and were surprised that the rooms were very large (2 family rooms and 1 twin) which were cleaned each day and towels changed daily.
For us the perfect chance to enjoy some Feb sunshine and catch up with mates over cold drinks and plenty of food. Can't fault the hotel at the price we paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Out of this world stay.First class from manager down to courtesy bus driver.Nothing too much trouble for all the staff. From Fatima on reception who put a bottle of bubbly in my room, when she obtained my birthday details.To the free shuttle bus driver with a ready smile on his face.We even had champagne on ice available for everyone at each breakfast.Not masses of food but all the better for it. More like a family run hotel than a group member hotel.To anyone who puts a negative comment about this oasis of calm, I say get a life or redirect to Benidorm!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Another last minute hotel needed and as it was only for 1 night we werent too concerned. We found a ridiculous price of 16 euros for 2 of us so really werent expecting a great deal. When you pull up at the property grounds is looks nice enough. Once we got to our room it was tired and dark, but clean. My biggest issue was with the pillows which should all have been thrown out long ago as it was as if the cases were filled with clumps of cotton wool. Ended up getting extras from reception which were just as bad. For 16 euros I'm not going to make a fuss, but the price does go up quite a bit for the summer season and then I would have. I can cope without sleep for a night or two, but couldnt have stayed in that bed for more than a couple.
Way too cold to use the pool but it looked nice enough and the bar was also nice. Breakfast was ok - nothing flash, but wasnt expecting breakfast at all, so was a nice surprise.
Personally I'd rather pay more money for a comfy hotel but just didnt have the options as it was so last minute, but for a family holiday it's perfectly fine and the staff are helpful and friendly.
Really nice restaurant just down the road call Agostinos - highly recomend going there (opposite the water park) but be careful on the main road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned from one weeks post xmas break, weather was amazing for the first week in january and really enjoyed our break. As i say holidays are what you make them... On arrival at the hotel we found the reception staff to be very helpful and pleasant, when we arrived our room was not quite ready and we were advised to relax by the pool and have a drink. Our room was basic but very clean with maid service every day, we had a kettle, ironing board, iron and a safe...i dont think all rooms had these so better to check when booking . We had a small balcony not the greatest view in the world but we were out most of the day so it didnt matter. Good breakfast either european or english. Lunch during our stay was of the snack menu as there was not alot of residents and we found this suitable enough.
Dinner in the eve was fine, mostly pork, chicken our fish, salad etc was always provided... The only problem i had was the water for tea/coffee was not always hot enough in the restaurant but we made our on cuppa in the room later. Drinks we offered in our package and they were mostly local beer/wine etc. never had a problem with anything and never refused any drinks.... After 10pm drinks had to be paid for but again not a problem as we were aware before we went there.
Hotel offered free shutlle bus into town whcih we used several times. I found that people who complained about the tiny things didnt do research etc and some times made the rest of the residents angry.... All in All had nice time and would have no problem returning.

Room Tip: take tour own tea bags and coffee they are not offered in the rooms. also flat shoes if you wish to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable stay here; very friendly helpful staff. The hotel offers a free shuttle service a few times per day to the local town/beaches situated a few kms away,the buffets could be better with more food variety.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinhal do Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinhal do Sol Hotel

Address: Sitio de Semino, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinhal do Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Pinhal do Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Pinhal Do
Hotel Pinhal Sol
Quarteira Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel Quarteira
Pinhal Do Sol Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinhal do Sol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.