We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return very soon!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Club Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Club Apartments to your Saves list
Kings Club Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Urbanizacao Rocheta Morgado Lote 21, Quarteira 8125, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Kirkconnel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Will return very soon!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Great studio with everything we needed including kettle, toaster, full oven , 4 ring hob and coffee machine. Tea towels too which is quite unusual. Very clean and well equipped for a studio and overall excellent value for money. Handy for everything. Best restaurant we found was the Girassol, which is set back from the beach in a courtyard. Maria and her staff were wonderful and they do a great english breakfast too. This is probably the eighth time we have travelled with Low cost holidays, second time to the Algarve and been pleased every time. Cheap, and fantastic value for money

Room Tip: Studios are quite roomy for 2 people but the 1 bed apts have better balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
20
55
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Got here late at night on a Thurs (12.30am) to find gates locked but notice on gate to ring a telephone number (dont know how you would get on if you didnt have a phone!) where I spoke to a guy who tried to explain to me how I have to slide this thing across and press this etc!!!! I was on the phone for around 20 mins before I eventually found the key! First impression on walking into the one bed apartment was quite nice and spacious but I had booked a studio. Next morning when I checked in at reception I was told that we would have to move on Sunday to a studio. So we made the most of the apartment which was overlooking the waste ground at the front with the sea in the background. Lovely clean spacious apartment, balcony, sun all day, washing machine, microwave, full-size cooker, tv - so apartment was lovely. When we came to move to the studio what a difference!!! No sun as we were overlooking the pool, tiniest of balconies, just two single beds in the room with table and 3 chairs. There was a small tv but not worth having really. The cultery and crockery were a right mish mash of stuff, and the kettle was a rubbish little travel kettle. The thing I hate about studios is that you dont get to sit in a comfortable chair and with having no sun you couldnt sit on the balcony so it was cold and damp. I would never stay here in a studio. You have to take your own rubbish out across to the waste bins on the road which I didnt mind but no bin liners were supplied so make sure you save your carrier bags. There was a full size cooker which was good to have because there wasnt a microwave. But one big problem that kept happening was if you put too many electrical things on the fuses blow so we were forever going out into the corridor to switch the power back on - so annoying.

Overall it wasnt a bad holiday, but the weather could have been better. Portugal has beautiful beaches and you can walk for miles and miles. Quarteira is a working town so not very touristy which didnt bother us as we caught the local buses to Faro 16.40 euros rtn for 2 (which is a lovely place to visit) and Loule 12.20 euros rtn for 2 (inland, also a lovely place). The buses are quiet expensive compared to Spain. We decided to walk to Albuferia along the beach!!! It took us 4.5 hours! wouldnt recommend it - a killer on the knees - so obviously caught the bus back. Vilamoura is about 15 min walk which has a lovely marina to walk around if you're not into golf.

Food to buy from the supermarkets is definitely cheaper than Spain and UK so you can live pretty cheap if you are self-catering. Inter-Marche is about 5-10 min walk, and there is a Lidl 30 min walk away up where the Wednesday local market is. There are lots of restaurants around this area and the local fish market if a good place to source out fresh fish.
Would I stay here again??? not too sure - but if I did it would not be in a studio. There are some lovely places in Portugal so I would probably look elsewhere. Dont know why this place is known as Kings Hotel??? as it is just a 3-storey apartment block.

Room Tip: Apartments overlooking waste ground full sun all day - lovely! Studios rubbish for sun, and tiny ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

nice and quiet week to chill out room was very clean viv was also very nice pool area clean and well groomed garden area the bad reviews that i have read were totaly rubbish
3 min walk to beach and esplanade

Room Tip: costs a little bit more but worth it front rooms get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

these apartments are lovely. Some are bigger than others but all good value (beds leave a bit to be desired). market moved from outside to about 45minute walk taxi only cost about 5euros well worth paying it. pool completeley enclosed and safe for all. like the fact that you needed a key to obtain entry after 6pm added security. safes are provided charged us 15euros for the week very reasonable. staff friendly and always helpful. close to local restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I booked my week in the sun then read the reviews and wished I hadn't, my husband always used to say "look before you book" - if I had I wouldn't have gone, but all those bad reviews are just rubbish, the apartments are beautiful and really well equipped, there wasn't any trouble in the area and no more graphiti there than anywhere else. I am a 77year old widow and didn't feel threatened going back to the apartment at night even after 11 on the night of the Fiesta. I wonder if the frightening reviews were written before the Gypsy Market moved out of town and if that made a difference? There is no trouble now and it is a disservice to the owners to say there is. Barbara Holmes

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

'Kerb appeal' was none existent, grubby looking surroundings and the room was also a disappointment.
We stayed in the studio appartment, luckily it overlooked the pool and not the carpark and rubble.
No air con in the appartment and you have to pay extra for a fan. No umbrellas around the pool for shade, although some people had them in their cupboard we didnt but had a tv instead, which is extra if you want sky channels.
We were advised to keep the shutters closed due to crime in the area...not what you want for a relaxing holiday.
The balcony was tiny, no room for a table, just 2 chairs and a clothes dryer.
Not ideal for families but okay if you want peace and quiet.
Basically the area lacked atmostphere and the restuarants on the dear side, the cafe's are a better deal.
However the beach was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had a great time, although we were apprehensive after reading the reviews. The apartment was basic but clean and quite large especially the balcony, which got sun from about 11.30 each day. The receptionist Umbelina was very helpful firstly she warned us to lock the shutters when away and asleep which is common sense for anyone with half a brain, this is exactly the same precautions that need to be taken all along the med, its a fact of life. If you dont like the idea don't go. She also helped with us to find the open air markets, one on Wednesday in Quarteira and the other in Loule on Saturday, although the market in Loule was the same traders as in Quarteira but only half the size. What made the trip worthwhile was a 5 minute walk into the town centre which is full of charm and character and includes a large indoor market in typical portugese style.
Both trips were by the national bus company EVA whose ternimus is about 500 yards to the right along the main road. It is advisable to book a return ticket which cost 10.5 and 11.5 euros total for two respectively .
The beach is one of the best I have seen and although it is only about 50 yards in depth to the sea it goes for miles or so it seems, didn,t walk the whole length.
Our holiday was made when we stumbled across the local festes happening on the Esplande. There were about 6 of the local towns taking it in turn to show of their costumes, which were absolutely fantastic, and perform dance and marching routines which must have taken weeks to perfect, and which occassionally went wrong and provided hilarious interludes. The whole show was trully fantastic.
The best Supermarket we found was Ecomarche about 3/4 mile along the main road to the right. Bread is very expensve, so you need to look for the day to day bargains. 1 litre bottles of Super Bock the local beer were good value and for the women instead of Baileys try Carlines (I think thats how its spelt) made in Ireland, 1 litre bottle for 8.50 euros, the wife thought it tasted better than Baileys, much creamier. Nice small cafe alongside apartments afternoon coffee and cakes very reasonable prices.
I will post some photos of our holiday.

Room Tip: the one bed apartments are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Club Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Club Apartments

Address: Urbanizacao Rocheta Morgado Lote 21, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Club Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kings Club Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Apartments Hotel Quarteira
Kings Club Apartments Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Club Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.