We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a very enjoyable week there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Club Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Club Apartments to your Saves list
Kings Club Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Urbanizacao Rocheta Morgado Lote 21, Quarteira 8125, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I had a very enjoyable week there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I booked my week in the sun then read the reviews and wished I hadn't, my husband always used to say "look before you book" - if I had I wouldn't have gone, but all those bad reviews are just rubbish, the apartments are beautiful and really well equipped, there wasn't any trouble in the area and no more graphiti there than anywhere else. I am a 77year old widow and didn't feel threatened going back to the apartment at night even after 11 on the night of the Fiesta. I wonder if the frightening reviews were written before the Gypsy Market moved out of town and if that made a difference? There is no trouble now and it is a disservice to the owners to say there is. Barbara Holmes

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
20
55
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

'Kerb appeal' was none existent, grubby looking surroundings and the room was also a disappointment.
We stayed in the studio appartment, luckily it overlooked the pool and not the carpark and rubble.
No air con in the appartment and you have to pay extra for a fan. No umbrellas around the pool for shade, although some people had them in their cupboard we didnt but had a tv instead, which is extra if you want sky channels.
We were advised to keep the shutters closed due to crime in the area...not what you want for a relaxing holiday.
The balcony was tiny, no room for a table, just 2 chairs and a clothes dryer.
Not ideal for families but okay if you want peace and quiet.
Basically the area lacked atmostphere and the restuarants on the dear side, the cafe's are a better deal.
However the beach was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had a great time, although we were apprehensive after reading the reviews. The apartment was basic but clean and quite large especially the balcony, which got sun from about 11.30 each day. The receptionist Umbelina was very helpful firstly she warned us to lock the shutters when away and asleep which is common sense for anyone with half a brain, this is exactly the same precautions that need to be taken all along the med, its a fact of life. If you dont like the idea don't go. She also helped with us to find the open air markets, one on Wednesday in Quarteira and the other in Loule on Saturday, although the market in Loule was the same traders as in Quarteira but only half the size. What made the trip worthwhile was a 5 minute walk into the town centre which is full of charm and character and includes a large indoor market in typical portugese style.
Both trips were by the national bus company EVA whose ternimus is about 500 yards to the right along the main road. It is advisable to book a return ticket which cost 10.5 and 11.5 euros total for two respectively .
The beach is one of the best I have seen and although it is only about 50 yards in depth to the sea it goes for miles or so it seems, didn,t walk the whole length.
Our holiday was made when we stumbled across the local festes happening on the Esplande. There were about 6 of the local towns taking it in turn to show of their costumes, which were absolutely fantastic, and perform dance and marching routines which must have taken weeks to perfect, and which occassionally went wrong and provided hilarious interludes. The whole show was trully fantastic.
The best Supermarket we found was Ecomarche about 3/4 mile along the main road to the right. Bread is very expensve, so you need to look for the day to day bargains. 1 litre bottles of Super Bock the local beer were good value and for the women instead of Baileys try Carlines (I think thats how its spelt) made in Ireland, 1 litre bottle for 8.50 euros, the wife thought it tasted better than Baileys, much creamier. Nice small cafe alongside apartments afternoon coffee and cakes very reasonable prices.
I will post some photos of our holiday.

Room Tip: the one bed apartments are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundesley, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We have stayed at King's Apartments in Quartiera for the last 3 years, staying at least twice a year,(visiting in all months of the year) the location is in a quiet residental area of Quartiera, of the main road but within close walking distance of the beautiful sandy beaches. The apartments are large have always been clean and well supplied with bedding, towels, furniture and kitchen utensils, washing machines, microwaves, cookers and fridges etc, to enable anyone to have a comfortable holiday stay. On arrival staff advise you to lock all doors when you are out and when you are in bed or asleep, this you would do if you are at home. Staff are friendly and very helpful. The pool is ideal for those who like to swim. There are lots of resturants on the main strip in Quartiera and over the past 16 years we have eaten in most of them, all friendly and English speaking. The nightlife is very low key, however when the Portuguese celebrate they really know how to do it. I have seen some of the best fireworks and carnival displays in Quartiera, they often have street entertainment and everyone one from 1 year old to 101 turn out to join in the celebrations. Points to consider, need towels and sheets, just ask! No air con or Fan - Just ask a fan can be provided! Anything broken or not working, Just ask! Need I say more, keep your doors locked at night - if you left them wide open at home you would be robbed there too. Don't expect the Ritz unless you pay Ritz prices and speak to the staff they are more than willing to help you. We have recommended these apartments to family and friends and they too have returned!!! You must visit the cake shops they are fantastic :-}

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We've never had such a well equipped apartment, could happily live there permanently. It is very secure providing you do as you would at home & lock up when you go out or go to bed. The pool was never overcrowded. The only problem was that the towels & sheets were changed & apartment cleaned only once in the 2 weeks. The Jardin de Celeste bar on the road at the front has live music on Saturday & Sunday & you can have a good dance with the locals who were extremely friendly, as were all the Portugese. The Wednesday fruit & veg, etc market near the harbour was very cheap. It was a bit too quiet in the week but the Fish Festival was great fun & a flower & dance festival was happening when we left so it should be busier later in the season. We much prefered Quatiera to Villamora as it was more of a Portugese experience than a holiday resort. (We are in our 40s.)

Room Tip: Best rooms face the road as balcony has more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed here from the 25th of May to 1st of June 2011 and had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We did not encounter any Gypsies or thieves, we were very safe in our surroundings, the accommodation was very clean and exceptional value for money. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We would certainly recommend the Kings apartments if you are on a budget holiday. Everything you need is within a 5 minute walk, beaches, supermarket, bars and restaurants. We intend to stay at Kings again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

This is the most unsafe and nasty place I have ever been to. My daughter ( 21 ) and my-self were confined to the room and the pool for the whole duration. It's in a residential area that looks like the bronx, surrounded by Africans and gypsies. So happy to leave for the airport. Neva again !!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Club Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Club Apartments

Address: Urbanizacao Rocheta Morgado Lote 21, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Club Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kings Club Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Apartments Hotel Quarteira
Kings Club Apartments Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Club Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.