We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Bordoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Bordoni to your Saves list
Villa Bordoni
Via San Cresci 31 - 32, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Truly Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at VB for Easter. Wonderful property off the beaten path in Greve...the staff and owners are attentive to every detail. There is no need to venture anywhere else for food when you have a kitchen like the one here!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    29
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
68
206
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Burnie, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

As a small business owner it is refreshing to see other small businesses that embrace work place culture and strive to provide excellent customer service. After all, how can small businesses distinguish themselves when competing against some of the large power houses of your industry unless they can excel at providing an excellent customer experience. My wife and I traveled to Villa Bordoni with 2 other couples and spent 4 nights with them. Our only regret and the one thing that I we are upset about is that we could not stay longer. The hotel is an old Tuscan villa that has been transformed into a very comfortable and warm boutique hotel. The outside gardens and grounds are well maintained and beautiful in the morning while eating breakfast on the outside terrace. We ate dinner two evenings at the hotel and the food and service was excellent. We felt that everyone at Villa Bordoni was genuinely concerned with making sure that our needs and expectations were met. Every once in a while you have the priviledge of staying at a hotel where you make a connection with the staff and when you leave you feel that you are saying goodbye to new friends. We wish David, Catherine and their staff the best and can't wait until we can go back and stay with them again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
1,475 reviews 1,475 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 726 cities Reviews in 726 cities
1,397 helpful votes 1,397 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I love this abode,a converted 16th century country house,once a rundown estate,now transformed into a guesthouse that lends a touch of elegance and extravagance to the rustic Tuscan style.

The colours of each room take up the hues of the original Vietri tiles in the bathroom,rustic objects such as iron baskets or the doors of chicken coops morph into lampshades or wall ornaments and curtains dyed by hand,frame the windows.....in order to enjoy the wonderful views.

With that in mind,book a room on the first floor. Its absolute magic with restorative ability. The restaurant is a gem,its walls adorned with a harlequin pattern of Italian vine leaves and Scottish Thistles. Why Scottish?... the owners exchanged the highlands for the Tuscan hills and have fielded two restaurants in Florence,which is why this nosh eatery is a must-attend.

Its only 30 km from Florence,with a status as heavenly. We relaxed to the max by the pool which is therapeutic and beautifully and serenely decorated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in June. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about this villa. The location, dining, vistas, accommodations, staff .. all superb. Looking forward to returning. Wish we had stayed longer. If I ever run away from home this is where my family will find me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were looking for "something different" to end our two week holiday visiting different parts of Italy in July of 2013. And we found it!! We nearly didn't visit Villa Bordoni, having already pre - booked another Villa close by, but having read an article in "Delicious" the UK food magazine, that all changed.
The article described how the Scottish owners Catherine and David Gardner had taken on a ramshackle villa and turned it into a beautifully restored country house hotel. Both tourist and locals alike frequent the Villa to enjoy the traditional Tuscan food that is prepared with passion and care, using herbs and vegetables grown in the walled garden. The staff are passionate and extremely helpful in every way. Both Catherine and David are "hands on" with the day to day running of what feels like their home, not just their business.
The rooms are restored and decorated with attention to historic detail, but still managing to include every modern convenience. The food is superb, and the wine ....... what can you say!
Italy at its best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel was the best place we could find in Toscana. Right from the start, the hotel showed its great service. We arrived very late because my wife felt sick during the road trip to Greve in Chianti. Even though it was 3 AM they tried to get a doctor to help my wife, In the end they even made her special dishes until she felt better and started drinking wine and eating boar! the place is beautiful and the food and wines amazing. I can't think of a better place in Toscana.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel was simply a different experience. The ambiance, the landscape, the decoration, the smells, the lighting, the food... everything was amazing and delicious. Our bedroom was really nice, a big room, very cozy and well decorated. The restaurant is simply one of the best we went to in Tuscany, the service was great as well, really professionals and warm at the same time. The Hotel was full but they had everything under control. If you are looking for an unique experience and whilling to drive to get there Bordoni is the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Bordoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bordoni

Address: Via San Cresci 31 - 32, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#1 Green Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bordoni, a sophisticated country house hotel, nestles in the grey-green hills immediately above the town of Greve, in the heart of the Chianti Classico region of Tuscany. This 16th-century noble villa commands an extraordinary vantage point over the unspoiled Chianti hills and their biblical landscape of vineyards, terraced olive groves and forest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Bordoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Villa Bordoni Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Bordoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.