We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real spoil!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Bordoni

Save Saved
You added Villa Bordoni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Bordoni
Via San Cresci 31 - 32, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Greve in Chianti
California City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real spoil!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

In our recent trip to Tuscany, we stayed in this beautiful boutique hotel. Unfortunately we were very unlucky with the weather (beginning of march, anything can happen I guess) and caught rain most of the days, but the coziness of the villa, and our very tastefully decorated and comfortable room (I would like to mention that I’m an interior designer and very hard to please in this sense!) made our visit fun and relaxing. An extra perk was the shower, blending antique tiles, a gorgeous view to the chianti hills from a charming tiny window, and the high tech water jets! As we were traveling with our 2 year old son, it was easier for us to stay in for dinner every day – and we absolutely loved the food, the wine (!) and the service. The staff was great at making us feel right at home – always present yet never obtrusive – and also gave us great suggestions as to what to visit in the area (including the longest winery visit that we could possibly imagine!).

One thing that we didn’t get to enjoy was the beautiful swimming pool - because of the weather, which makes me look forward even more to our next visit to Villa Bordoni! I strongly recommend it to anybody who’s looking for a real spoil…

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    28
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
55
188
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I have visited Villa Bordoni every year since 2008 and think it's one place everyone should visit at least once. It's definitely our favourite location. Initially my wife and I went as a couple and it's an amazing romantic location. Now we've got a 2 year old (plus another on the way) and the venue couldn't be more accommodating and child friendly.

The hotel is set in amongst the Tuscany hills and is only accessible by a dirt track, which makes for a fun adventure especially the first time you visit. The grounds are beautiful and ultra relaxing. The pool has a grassed area around the edge and various terraced levels for sunbathing. The only thing I'd change about this whole place is to have a heated pool. Only because the kids can find it a little cold sometimes (everything else is perfect!).

The owners and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They've never disappointed over the years. The food is amazing and the restaurant is a must. The breakfast experience is hard to top - sitting on the veranda, sun shining down, looking out over the vineyards. They are always happy to accommodate if there is something you wish to eat or the kids just want something simple. The latte's are unbeatable!

All the rooms are beautifully decorated and the showers are amazing. Our fav rooms are the Colognole Suite and the honeymoon room. The Family Suite is great because it has 2 bedrooms and a living space downstairs.

What Bordoni gets right is the balance correct between a luxury hotel and friendly team.

Room Tip: The Family Suite with 2 bedrooms and a living space is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place was a sweet surprise. The location is so beautiful - in the hills of Tuscany - with olives and grapes everywhere! The rooms are very comfortable and unique with amazing bathrooms, beds, and amenities - huge DVD collection, in-room FREE wireless internet, and iHome iPod speakers! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Thanks, Ricardo - you are the MAN! The restaurant was cozy and served exquisite cuisine and delicious wine. The whole experience was an 11 on a scale of 10. We will be back for sure - hated to leave.

In reading other reviews, its hard to accept that anyone would have even one bad thing to say about this place. Some people just suck.

Room Tip: They are all special, but our favorite was the Montefioralle room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Perhaps we were spoiled by other places, and better service. We prefer Southern Tuscany to Chianti and actually tried to shorten extend our time in Montalcino and shorten our stay at Villa Bordoni by one night, but the Bordoni staff were not accommodating. Check in lacked any warmth - the service upon arrival was miserable. It was as if the staff member was doing us a favor by checking us in. We arrived around 6 pm so were probably given the runt of the rooms. Our room was dated and lacked charm. Breakfast was solid. The location is a bit tricky to get to, but the access road is not especially scenicn and we didn't find the hotel or gardens very special at all. We had a different staff member check us out and she was pleasant and helpful so it's hit or miss...

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bespoke216, Direttore generale at Villa Bordoni, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Scrutinizing,

Thank you for taking the time to review Villa Bordoni and, more generally, the Chianti area (central Tuscany) on Tripadvisor - we welcome this opportunity to address your comments in detail.
I can't answer for Mother Nature concerning the beauty of the landscape and scenery that have made the Chianti Classico so renowned throughout the world - this is simply where we happen - and chose - to be located, much to the delight of most of our guests.
Moving on to your comments on the hotel, your next grunt seems to be with the "check-in service" - it is of course possible that this was not conducted in an ideal manner, and if this was the case I apologize. But your comment on the staff's attitude as completely disinterested and rude seems highly unlikely; might you have made a mistake, or perhaps you came through as aggressive or abusive towards the staff?
You move on to mention your time of arrival and the room allocated to you. Our guests arrive whenever it suits them - we are a hotel, after all, and 6 p.m. is frankly the norm for many of them. You were allocated the room category that you chose at the time of booking; if you were dissatisfied with it for whatever reason, you might have mentioned this to the aforementioned staff.
We are thrilled that our breakfast was to your liking (if I’m right in interpreting the word ‘solid’ as a compliment) particularly since it seems to be the one thing that greatly appealed to you during your stay in this beautiful region.
I am also glad to read that you approve of our female receptionist's check-out service - but yet again, you failed to take this opportunity to mention your dissatisfaction with the hotel - which brings me to my final point: why go through your stay unhappy and not ever mention any of it to us? We can do nothing about our location on a Chianti hilltop in central Tuscany, but we might have offered you a different room, identified the problem with the staff member who welcomed you, etc. All things which we are certainly unable to do at a distance of 8 months or more.
All this being said, perhaps you ought to reexamine your own conscience since, in my opinion, the real reason for your discontent with our hotel lies in the first lines of your complaint. Here, you mentioned that you wished to make a last-minute cancelation by cutting short your stay at Villa Bordoni, so as to be able to spend more time in the more isolated part of southern Tuscany - which you personally prefer. Your request was met with the reply (by the charming female receptionist?) that you would have been in breach of our cancellation policy, and would have had to pay for the room for that missing night’s stay. We are a small, destination, country house hotel with only 11 bedrooms, and we reluctantly have to turn away many clients, as we are too small to satisfy every request which we receive. A last-minute cancellation represents a pure loss to us, and as we are not insurers, we ask that our worldly guests respect our cancellation policy - and with your case in particular, I do not see why we should have been made to pay for your seemingly self-inflicted choice of travel destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent a week with friends at Villa Bordoni and it was fabulous. From breakfast in the morning to dinner at the restaurant at night-we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves it and we are planning to go back soon.

The owners are on site and extremely solicitous and Hugo runs the dining room and is the absolute best! Funny, thoughtful, and gracious.

We had another couple with us on this trip and they enjoyed it just as much as we did. Don't let the remoteness be a deterrent-it's wonderfully quiet and a great haven after wine tasting and hill towns.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We travelled to Rome, Amalfi, Tuscany and Venice. Villa Bordoni was, by far, our favorite place. The restaurant and staff were outstanding. The room appointments were superb. The hand-painted walls and beautiful hardware and tile in each bathrooms were stunning and wonderfully original. Every detail is accounted for and every guest is treated as if he/she were the only one. Wine tastings and trips to Florence were arranged for us. But, hanging at the hotel for dinner, the cooking school or enjoying the beautiful private terrace outside of our room were our favorite activities. What a wonderful place to relax, soak in the country and drink/eat to one's content.

Room Tip: Having the garden room with the private terrace allowed us to relax outside and invite fellow travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Traveling south on the SS #222 through the town of Greve be sure to look for a small sign leading to a small lane which quickly climbs and windsthrough vineyards and olive groves, past a large villa gate, and a country church, San Cresci. Along the way there are glimpses of the tiny village of Montefioralle which sits on a nearby knob.(and well worth a visit).
Sheltered against the hillside Bordoni is surrounded by elegant palm trees and a tranquil scented garden. The emphasis here is on comfort. Recently restored the dining room, bar and terraces are purposely designed to convey a feeling of visiting a friend's house in the country.
Only 14 rooms, plus a notable restaurant Bordoni has been thoughtfully renovated with subtle sophistication and elegance;l but the secret here is the owner, David Gardner, who is the ultimate host for this style of country hotel. ensuring a high level of service, as well as a friendly professional 'vibe'. He is a 'foodie' and the owner of two notable restaurants in Florence, so the kitchen here is excellent without being pretentious, and the chef offers cooking lessons too.
Our room is at the top of the villa and is large with exposed beams, cool tile floors, and elegant linens. The bath is a dream. The pool terraces with gorgeous Chianti views is a restful place to spend a restful afternoon. Bordoni is well located for exploring the villages and wine estates of northern Chianti.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Bordoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bordoni

Address: Via San Cresci 31 - 32, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bordoni, a sophisticated country house hotel, nestles in the grey-green hills immediately above the town of Greve, in the heart of the Chianti Classico region of Tuscany. This 16th-century noble villa commands an extraordinary vantage point over the unspoiled Chianti hills and their biblical landscape of vineyards, terraced olive groves and forest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and Priceline so you can book your Villa Bordoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Villa Bordoni Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Bordoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.