We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic and relaxing getaway.........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Bordoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Bordoni to your Saves list
Villa Bordoni
Via San Cresci 31 - 32, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
GreenLeadersSilver level
Point Pleasant, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“A romantic and relaxing getaway.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We travelled to Rome, Amalfi, Tuscany and Venice. Villa Bordoni was, by far, our favorite place. The restaurant and staff were outstanding. The room appointments were superb. The hand-painted walls and beautiful hardware and tile in each bathrooms were stunning and wonderfully original. Every detail is accounted for and every guest is treated as if he/she were the only one. Wine tastings and trips to Florence were arranged for us. But, hanging at the hotel for dinner, the cooking school or enjoying the beautiful private terrace outside of our room were our favorite activities. What a wonderful place to relax, soak in the country and drink/eat to one's content.

Room Tip: Having the garden room with the private terrace allowed us to relax outside and invite fellow travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    29
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
66
200
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Traveling south on the SS #222 through the town of Greve be sure to look for a small sign leading to a small lane which quickly climbs and windsthrough vineyards and olive groves, past a large villa gate, and a country church, San Cresci. Along the way there are glimpses of the tiny village of Montefioralle which sits on a nearby knob.(and well worth a visit).
Sheltered against the hillside Bordoni is surrounded by elegant palm trees and a tranquil scented garden. The emphasis here is on comfort. Recently restored the dining room, bar and terraces are purposely designed to convey a feeling of visiting a friend's house in the country.
Only 14 rooms, plus a notable restaurant Bordoni has been thoughtfully renovated with subtle sophistication and elegance;l but the secret here is the owner, David Gardner, who is the ultimate host for this style of country hotel. ensuring a high level of service, as well as a friendly professional 'vibe'. He is a 'foodie' and the owner of two notable restaurants in Florence, so the kitchen here is excellent without being pretentious, and the chef offers cooking lessons too.
Our room is at the top of the villa and is large with exposed beams, cool tile floors, and elegant linens. The bath is a dream. The pool terraces with gorgeous Chianti views is a restful place to spend a restful afternoon. Bordoni is well located for exploring the villages and wine estates of northern Chianti.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I found the Villa Bordoni on line and was very impressed. We enjoyed a great night in this redone, charming villa. The room was incredible, beautifully done. The outside and inside dining areas were charming and quaint. The staff as mentioned is amazing. We also visited the owner's restaurant in Florence called Baldevino, and that was great too. Hoping to return soon, one night was not enough. Make sure you jump in their inviting pool! Awesome. And, Im picky!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We decided to stay here on the spur of the moment...and what a beautiful experience it was! I don't think we can add very much more to the wonderful comments and reviews of other guests, but we do want to say some words about Hugo. This man is a dream employee for any employer. He has charm, wit, worldy knowledge and an ear to the ground. He almost seems to know what you want before you say anything. Also due to Hugo, we are still drinking Pomerol spritzers at home in Brisbane...our new sunset drink!!

Should we ever find ourselves in Tuscany, we would most certainly try and stay at Villa Bordoni. This is a destination for all types of guests, from newly weds to the travel weary. It raises your spirits, but rests your soul. If you can afford to spend more than a few nights here, that is fantastic...for those who can't, please try and stay for at least the one night...it is most definitely worth it.

Thank you very much Hugo and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I’ll echo everything the reviewer before me said about this magical place. With the exception of the cooking class, which my wife and I did NOT take, and we regretted it after chatting with other folks who were staying at Bordoni when we were there.

The place is just tranquility, pure and simple. Beautiful, spacious elegant rooms. Picturesque grounds. A staff that is both courteous and friendly, but also knows the balance of when to let you sit and enjoy your privacy. You check in at Bordoni and you feel yourself relaxing instantly.

One NOTE that many travelers I think will be interested in. We did NOT rent a car on our trip to Italy (we live in NYC and do not drive very often and did not want the hassle). We relied on car services arranged by our various hotels. Villa Bordoni was the BEST in this regard. They hired a driver for us, Sandra, who was absolutely wonderful. Not only did she pick us up from our hotel in Montepulciano to take us to Greve, but she took us to Wineries and into town and showed us all the sites along the way. Point being if you aren’t renting a car you should still find your way to Villa Bordoni. It is more than worth the trip, and their front desk is so very capable of making sure you get where you need to be and enjoy every moment of the journey.

The restaurant alone is reason enough to stay here. Delicious food, an amazing wine list, and ambiance like you wouldn’t believe. We ate their both nights of our stay and wished we could have stayed longer to give it one more round. Yes, it is that good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. It was easily the best place we stayed at on our trip to Italy. If you're planning on going to Tuscany you should definitely stay here and structure your trip around this place.

Ambience. The best thing was the ambience of the Villa. There are only a handful of rooms -- so we got to know everyone staying there. And we got to know the staff. We'd see them at breakfast and have long conversations with them. It felt like a family home almost.

Cooking Class. Actually, I think the best thing we did was take the cooking class that they offer on the first day that we got there. Through the class we got to know the kitchen staff and all the other people staying at the villa. We all ended up having dinner together and hanging out for a long time afterwards. And then at breakfast every morning. It's expensive at 150euro per person -- but that comes with the class -- thats almost 4 hours long -- and a full four course meal afterwards. Not to mention all the wine you can drink. Well worth it. In fact, I would say the cooking class at Villa Bordoni was the highlight of our Italy trip. The cook -- Colin -- is a great teacher, letting us get hands on with everything -- and a total professional that knows everything about food. Do it. You won't regret it.

Location. The villa is set on the side of a hill above the city of Greve in Chianti. The views all around are ridiculous. Vinyards, mountains, green grass, olive groves, little villas and castles poking above the landscape. Classic Tuscany. This is what you think of when you think of Tuscany. Away from it all. I went on a run in the morning through vineyards and olive tree orchards. Where else can I do that? The one negative I'll say is that it's really hard to find the place. My recommendation is to NOT use your GPS. They are crap here. Just follow the signs up from Greve. And VERY IMPORTANT -- do NOT try to drive up here at night. Make sure you get back to the Villa by daylight. We made the mistake our second night and it took us awhile to find our way back to the Villa. Actually, forget the Villa -- it took us a long time to find our way back to Greve. The roads in Italy are not signed well and are hard to follow even when you are on them. Do yourself a favor and don't drive at night.

Rooms. The rooms are really nice. I would call them country chic. We splurged a little and got the Junior Suite at the Villa. It was spacious and airy. Big comfy bed. TV and high speed internet free everywhere. The bathroom was extremely nice. A work of art with old tile work melded with a modern shower stall, sink, and toilet. There's a DVD player in each room as well and they have a nice collection of DVDs you can borrow to watch. Kind of fun to watch while going to sleep.

The Restaurant. I'll write another review of the restaurant, but i'll mention it here again. We ate at the Villa every night. The food is the best we had in Italy. The cook, Colin, is amazing. Fresh food, prepared right there, at very reasonable prices.

Go there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Villa Bordoni is a wonderful place!! The location above Greve in Chianti amid vineyards and olive groves is so peaceful. I loved driving up the bumpy road through the vineyards to reach the hotel. The staff was wonderful. My wife and I loved seeing Farida's smiling face when we would come back from our most recent adventure. The restaurant is fabulous. Breakfast is beautiful looking out over the garden. The rooms are very large and nicely decorated. I cannot say enough good things about Villa Bordoni.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Bordoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bordoni

Address: Via San Cresci 31 - 32, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#1 Green Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bordoni, a sophisticated country house hotel, nestles in the grey-green hills immediately above the town of Greve, in the heart of the Chianti Classico region of Tuscany. This 16th-century noble villa commands an extraordinary vantage point over the unspoiled Chianti hills and their biblical landscape of vineyards, terraced olive groves and forest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Bordoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Villa Bordoni Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Bordoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.