We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria e Villa di Rignana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fattoria e Villa di Rignana
Save
You added Fattoria e Villa di Rignana to your Saves list
Via Rignana, 15, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place, amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

we only stayed a couple of nights and off-season but were absolutely charmed by this beautiful and authentic old villa. It has very spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms and the entire area is just amazing. We could only imagine how it must be in a nice summer night to sit in their yard or at the pool. They still make great wine and olive oil following century long tradition. Very friendly staff and service.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    20
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Everything exceeded our expectations: from the beautiful grounds and landscape, to the 'Honesty Sheet' and free flowing Chianti. We especially loved dining at The Cantinetta (went there twice and I couldn't get enough of our waiter/ Maitre D!). The prices are very reasonable and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at Fattoria di Rignana for 3 days, for the wedding of best friends. The whole property was rented to the wedding guests, so it felt like we had our own little piece of paradise on the Tuscan hills. I loved the balance between comfort and authenticity, which gave me a no-nonsense feel to a place that put a magical spell on the wedding.
We were never hungry, because breakfast was a very nice buffet, and there was always some food to be scored somewhere, in the form of the typical, simple but delicious anti-pasti platters. And being able to have your bottle of Rignana wine in the fridge is not only practical, but also makes it more homely.
As the wedding day progressed, the place was turned into something like you can imagine from books, or a movie, with many details brought by the bride (lanterns, ribbons, etc.) and the settings impressive yet intimate: after drinks in the patio, the chapel was where the ceremony kicked off the formal wedding, after which we had prosecco by the infinity pool. Then dinner in the main dining hall, with frescos on the ceilings and beautifully decorated tables. Afterwards wedding cake (tiramisu!) on the terras and just when you think you saw it all, the dancing and disco started in a cellar, with a cocktail bar! Knowing the couple, much of the arrangements may not have been standard, but I think that any wedding or family gathering there should turn out to be a great success. The next day there was brunch on the lawn, and everybody soaked in the beautiful views one last time.
The only point of improvement I can think of is that the main vegetarian course was not that good (some mushroom and cheese dish), but the friendly staff who tolerated our loud bunch so gracefully, made up for anything that need to be forgiven for.
I would love to come back, and spend a few days just relaxing, and maybe heading out for a meal once a day. The pool, the spacious rooms, the view and the food: a winning combination.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The Rignana is one of those finds that makes you love the Lonely Planet guides. Although tucked away up a windy hill & dirt track away from Greve in Chianti, the joys of staying at the Rignana well reward the short trip. The building & grounds are paragons of Tuscan, romantic charm. The Rignana is actually a vineyard and we were treated to a complimentary wine tasting of their rose, "super tuscan", chianti classico & riserva. Especially considering the prices these were all fantastic wines. The cantina 50 metres up the road served up the best food of our entire 3 week trip around France & Italy so being outside the main town isn't a problem, it's an asset.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's always a pleasure to be there. Fattoria Di Rignana is a fantastic villa in the Chiantishire, the landscape is amazing and it's the best place where you can have a great relax. The pool is in front of a Tract of olive trees and vineyards, amazing! The service is always available with suggestions and help if needed. Amazing place and great people!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This basically encapsulates the rustic Tuscan experience of historical farmtead, endless vinyards andwarm sunshine. Only very basic toileteries provided, so bring what you need, unless you count the harrowing drive down (and up) to Greve Coop a highlight. Breakfast is hearty and homely. It even has an infinity pool that overlooks the vineyards.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Fattoria di Rignana and wished now we would have spent more time there as it was much better than expected. The location is absolutely breathtaking, right in the middle of the Tuscan mountains and vineyards. Renting a car is highly recommended as the location is far off the beaten path, and you are isolated when there. It is about 15 minutes to drive to town of Greve. The roads to the fattoria are a rough, narrow, and very hilly. We found it easily using a GPS. As others mentioned there is the cantinetta just up the road for a close dinner option.

The owners Simona and Cosimo are both very friendly and helpful. Both are able to speak English fairly well. We had a room in the farm house. It was very large, very clean and well appointed. The attached bathroom was fully equipped and also spotless. Although some describe the place as rustic, but in my opinion it was nowhere near as "rustic" as a typical cottage. All the furniture was fairly new and in good condition. The bed was very comfortable and a decent size.

The breakfast provided was excellent. The staff puts out a table full of food in the main dining area and we ate in the sunny courtyard in the mornings. It included meats, cheese, yogurt, fresh fruit, breads, croissants, soft boiled eggs, and cereal. They also have a small kitchen area that guests can use and a fully stocked fridge which included water, beer, wine, and juice, pop and other refreshments available at a reasonable cost.

All in all we loved staying at the peaceful and quiet fattoria. It's a great location if you are exploring Tuscany, and also a great spot if you just want to relax in the peace and quiet of the Tuscan country side. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
3.0 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
8.9 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 7 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria e Villa di Rignana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria e Villa di Rignana

Address: Via Rignana, 15, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fattoria and Villa di Rignana has 16 spacious and cozy double bedrooms in total, offering a B&B service from April to Novemberand from one to more nights stay. Each room has a private en-suite bathroom and is furnished with taste and particular attention to detail to ensure different styles and atmosphere. The large garden and infinity pool are ideal locations to completely relax and soak up the sweeping panorama and sunset of the Chianti hills. NB Fattoria and Villa di Rignana Not to be confused with Relais Villa Rignana, same location but different premises! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fattoria Di Rignana And Villa Stella Hotel Greve In Chianti
Fattoria e Villa Di Rignana Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria e Villa di Rignana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.