We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Tuscan experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria di Rignana and Villa Stella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Fattoria di Rignana and Villa Stella
Save Saved
You added Fattoria di Rignana and Villa Stella to your Saves list
Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rustic Tuscan experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This basically encapsulates the rustic Tuscan experience of historical farmtead, endless vinyards andwarm sunshine. Only very basic toileteries provided, so bring what you need, unless you count the harrowing drive down (and up) to Greve Coop a highlight. Breakfast is hearty and homely. It even has an infinity pool that overlooks the vineyards.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Fattoria di Rignana and wished now we would have spent more time there as it was much better than expected. The location is absolutely breathtaking, right in the middle of the Tuscan mountains and vineyards. Renting a car is highly recommended as the location is far off the beaten path, and you are isolated when there. It is about 15 minutes to drive to town of Greve. The roads to the fattoria are a rough, narrow, and very hilly. We found it easily using a GPS. As others mentioned there is the cantinetta just up the road for a close dinner option.

The owners Simona and Cosimo are both very friendly and helpful. Both are able to speak English fairly well. We had a room in the farm house. It was very large, very clean and well appointed. The attached bathroom was fully equipped and also spotless. Although some describe the place as rustic, but in my opinion it was nowhere near as "rustic" as a typical cottage. All the furniture was fairly new and in good condition. The bed was very comfortable and a decent size.

The breakfast provided was excellent. The staff puts out a table full of food in the main dining area and we ate in the sunny courtyard in the mornings. It included meats, cheese, yogurt, fresh fruit, breads, croissants, soft boiled eggs, and cereal. They also have a small kitchen area that guests can use and a fully stocked fridge which included water, beer, wine, and juice, pop and other refreshments available at a reasonable cost.

All in all we loved staying at the peaceful and quiet fattoria. It's a great location if you are exploring Tuscany, and also a great spot if you just want to relax in the peace and quiet of the Tuscan country side. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Our group stayed here for 1 night and main purpose is visit their vineyards and tasting their wines.
The farmhouse itself is stone made & gorgeous, room is big & clear, some of rooms have nice view.
The view of Rignana is absolutely perfect!
Also, Simona is very helpful, she help us to arrange all transportation from Florence to Rome and provide all necessary information.
Just one think! 1 night is not enough to taste their beautiful & peaceful!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Fattoria di Rignana is a really nice old farmhouse, which has been converted into a rural hotel. The rooms are old, but very large. Our complaint about the room was that there was no air conditioning and only a small fan. The rooms are very stuffy in August and only have a small window. Regardless, I recommend it. The breakfast is served in the courtyard and is delicious. The swimming pool is very nice and has amazing views over Tuscany. The restaurant next to the hotel has amazing Tuscan food. My wife and I agreed that the Sedanini alla Norcina was the best pasta dish either of us had ever tasted. We also had steak with a pepper sauce, which was very good. The hotel leaves you a bit isolated as any other restaurant is a 30 minute drive away. But with great food next door, you don't have reason to go out at night and brave the windy roads after sampling great wine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Nice place to stay for those who have the thing for those old rustic villas. A room we stayed perhaps had a bit of that old smell, but what i like the most, bathrooms were very much up to date and clean. Villas have separate kitchen to make dinner if you stay with larger group of friends. Pool has fantastic view over the mountains. Location is actually also good, Firenze and Sienna are both not too far away. If you stay there, have dinner in nearby Badia a Passignano, that has restaurant operated by Antinori.

Room Tip: Try the corner rooms in second floor of villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon and we really only wished we had known how gorgeous it would be and we would have come earlier to stay even longer. It was by far the best place we stayed in all of Italy, and that was after travelling for 1 month. The rooms are immaculate and clean, and the house really feels like a home away from home. The views are breathtaking and the whole place is decorated so beautifully. There is a cozy fireplace and a computer for guests to use for internet which came in so handy. The breakfast was great and the restaurant next door was amazing. The prices displayed on TripAdvisor arent always right, we called up and got the premier suite for a fantatic price. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: There are rooms with no bathrooms, and rooms with ensuites. We had one with an ensuite which was bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The building itself is gorgeous - old, stone, and rustic. The rooms are spacious and charmingly decorated, there's a kitchen stocked with beer and house-made wine for enjoying in the cozy living room, and the breakfast spread is impressive and delicious (we had some amazing croissants). But - it's in the middle of nowhere, a few miles outside the nearest tiny town, then a few more down a dirt road - not the best choice if you're only staying one night and/or plan to do a lot of driving to other nearby areas. Luckily the restaurant up the road is pretty good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fattoria di Rignana and Villa Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria di Rignana and Villa Stella

Address: Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Also Known As:
Fattoria Di Rignana And Villa Stella Hotel Greve In Chianti
Fattoria Di Rignana And Villa Stella Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria di Rignana and Villa Stella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;