We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic stay in a scenic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria di Rignana and Villa Stella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fattoria di Rignana and Villa Stella
Save
You added Fattoria di Rignana and Villa Stella to your Saves list
Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rustic stay in a scenic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Fattoria di Rignana is a really nice old farmhouse, which has been converted into a rural hotel. The rooms are old, but very large. Our complaint about the room was that there was no air conditioning and only a small fan. The rooms are very stuffy in August and only have a small window. Regardless, I recommend it. The breakfast is served in the courtyard and is delicious. The swimming pool is very nice and has amazing views over Tuscany. The restaurant next to the hotel has amazing Tuscan food. My wife and I agreed that the Sedanini alla Norcina was the best pasta dish either of us had ever tasted. We also had steak with a pepper sauce, which was very good. The hotel leaves you a bit isolated as any other restaurant is a 30 minute drive away. But with great food next door, you don't have reason to go out at night and brave the windy roads after sampling great wine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Nice place to stay for those who have the thing for those old rustic villas. A room we stayed perhaps had a bit of that old smell, but what i like the most, bathrooms were very much up to date and clean. Villas have separate kitchen to make dinner if you stay with larger group of friends. Pool has fantastic view over the mountains. Location is actually also good, Firenze and Sienna are both not too far away. If you stay there, have dinner in nearby Badia a Passignano, that has restaurant operated by Antinori.

Room Tip: Try the corner rooms in second floor of villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon and we really only wished we had known how gorgeous it would be and we would have come earlier to stay even longer. It was by far the best place we stayed in all of Italy, and that was after travelling for 1 month. The rooms are immaculate and clean, and the house really feels like a home away from home. The views are breathtaking and the whole place is decorated so beautifully. There is a cozy fireplace and a computer for guests to use for internet which came in so handy. The breakfast was great and the restaurant next door was amazing. The prices displayed on TripAdvisor arent always right, we called up and got the premier suite for a fantatic price. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: There are rooms with no bathrooms, and rooms with ensuites. We had one with an ensuite which was bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The building itself is gorgeous - old, stone, and rustic. The rooms are spacious and charmingly decorated, there's a kitchen stocked with beer and house-made wine for enjoying in the cozy living room, and the breakfast spread is impressive and delicious (we had some amazing croissants). But - it's in the middle of nowhere, a few miles outside the nearest tiny town, then a few more down a dirt road - not the best choice if you're only staying one night and/or plan to do a lot of driving to other nearby areas. Luckily the restaurant up the road is pretty good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Rignana was a fantastic place to spend a few days in Tuscany. The location is fantastic - far off the beaten path and with some of the best views of the countryside I saw during our entire trip. They operate two restaurants (one is just up the road from the hotel, and the other a short drive away) and both of them serve delicious authentic food that is all locally grown and harvested. The one further from the hotel served our favourite meal in all of Italy so you HAVE to go. It's called Cantinetta di Passignano and is in a very nice spot, with fabulous views of the Tuscan hillside.

You should be forewarned that the 'road' down to the hotel is more of a 90 degree angle donkey path than something fit for a car. You'll think "there's no way the hotel is down here" but it is. Don't worry though, the location really pays off because the views are incredible, and the property is very private. Our favourite thing to do was to grab a bottle of the house wine from the fridge, and spend the afternoons by the pool soaking in the incredible surroundings.

The breakfast is fantastic, but again it's not a "north american" breakfast - so don't expect bacon and eggs. One thing to note: be sure to specify in your room request that you want an en suite bathroom. Private bath can mean that you have private washroom with key, but it's across the hall from your room, which isn't ideal. The beds were very hard, but compared to all the other rock mattresses I slept on in Italy, Rignana's were probably the best.

The rooms are gorgeous though, with original wood beam ceilings and fantastic crafted furniture. We didn't see much of staff, but when they were around they were very friendly and helpful. Most spoke English fluently.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an en suite washroom, and keep the fans going at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, HaMerkaz, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Rignana is a wonderful place and offers great food and amazing views. You should know before you book that it is far from any other city/village and the road is steep and not asfalt. at night you can't go out, since the road is so dark and steep, and you have to go to the only restaurant near by (it is very good but sometimes you wan't to try something else).
The bottom line is - it is a wonderful place, but beware that the drive isn't pleasent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Really loved it here. Best breakfast we had in four or five places in Italy. The surrounding area was beautiful as were the rooms. You have access to a full kitchen if you just want to stay in for the evening, but you're better off going to the restaurant that's a 30 second walk up the hill - REALLY GREAT. You're left to your own devices which is great, but it doesn't feel like anyone is manning the ship. I parked my car and wandered the estate for 30 minutes before I was able to "check-in" with someone that worked there. It's a 15 or 20 minute drive off a main highway, through a lot of dirt roads, but still close to be less than an hour drive to Florence or Sienna.

I would absolutely go back.

Room Tip: Make sure your bedroom has it's own bathroom - a couple of them share a common bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fattoria di Rignana and Villa Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria di Rignana and Villa Stella

Address: Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Fattoria Di Rignana And Villa Stella Hotel Greve In Chianti
Fattoria Di Rignana And Villa Stella Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria di Rignana and Villa Stella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.