We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Logis Locanda Il Gallo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Logis Locanda Il Gallo to your Saves list
Logis Locanda Il Gallo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lando Conti 18 | Chiocchio, 50027 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

In terms of elegance this would probably not be your first choice. It was charming with a good view of the surrounding hillsides. The rooms were clean and serviceable. A good starting point to rest overnight when traveling in Chianti.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We picked this hotel on a whim while we were looking for a base to stay for the night while touring the "Chianti Highway". We were a little nervous when we arrived and discovered that our rooms were on the 2nd Floor (that's the 3rd floor in American terms). Not to fear, the owner scooped up each bag one at a time and had all 4 suitcases in the rooms in no time. No easy feat because of the weight of them. We were a little tired from our drive and tantalized by the scents from the kitchen wafting in the hallway, so we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. We were so very glad that we did! Yes the food was "local fare", is that a bad thing? It was unbelievably fresh and so beautifully prepared that we felt that it was some of the best we had during our 23 days in Italy. I don't know how anyone can be “disappointed” by fresh pasta prepared in a delicate saffron (locally acquired) sauce and the most tender rabbit I have ever eaten. The owner was the most friendly and helpful guy. He recommended to us several local sites and wineries for visiting. He and his brother, who was helping in the restaurant, were just the best. They were so great that we stayed an additional day and ate in the restaurant the second night as well. We were so lucky to find this gem of a place with such wonderful people in the heart of one of the most beautiful locations in the world. All 4 of us agreed that we wished we had more time to spend here at Locanda II Gallo.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The host is very helpful and nice. The atmosphere is warm and calm and the cooking is the best I had during my 16 days stay in Italy. Try the food - it is sublime! The bus stops right in front of the hotel which is nice and easy for a single traveller without a car.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel was a perfectly pleasant, unpretentious inn and was good value. It was easy to find and the private parking area opposite the hotel was very big, so ideal for a stop-over. However, we had got the impression that the restaurant was extremely good and we therefore booked half-board. This was a disappointment because the cooking was very modest. This may be because the owner is apparently too busy running the hotel to cook for the restaurant. Certainly the home-made meringues and speculaas for breakfast were delicious, but sweet nibbles for breakfast do not make up for a poor dinner.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back, which was very quiet. Those at the front, on the main road MAY be noisie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
481 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I am curious about some of the negative reviews of this hotel, as that is completely in opposition to our experience just last week. We spent two days in this small hotel, used it as a base to tour the Chianti region (perfect location to do that from) and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, the owner, and especially his restaurant. The hotel is very easy to find, in a small town just north of Greve on highway 222, about 45 minutes from rental car agencies in Florence. Our GPS took us right to the door. The hotel is exceptionally clean and well maintained, great shower and the air conditioning worked very well. We could also open the windows and enjoy the cool breeze. The owner/operator, Alessio, couldn't have been a more warm and cordial host. He checked us in, helped carry the bags to our 2nd floor room (#24), was the host at dinner, took our orders, recommended wines--the consummate host. His English is superb and he has a wonderful sense of humor, with a twinkle in his eye.

We ate in the restaurant two nights and after two weeks in Italy, including Rome, Venice, Verona, and the Chianti region, my wife and I both felt the food was overall the best we had in Italy. The menu is incredibly ambitious and varied. The pasta was perfectly cooked, not overdone, and the vegetables were superb. Salads were equally well done. When we asked for advice on entrees, Alessio was very honest in his appraisal of several options and the end result was SO rewarding. He is very knowledgeable about the wines he offers (in a wide range of prices) and the Monsanto Chianti we had the second night was truly exceptional. After, he told us it was his favorite.
We stayed in MANY places and this was our sixth time to Italy and we will remember this hotel very fondly, mostly because of Alessio, the service, and friendly atmosphere. Do yourself a favor and look beyond some of the petty concerns of some--this is a great place.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, room 24 and enjoyed it. A large room, great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here recently on a business trip and really liked it. Nice, clean simple rooms. Nice restaurant and friendly staff. I will for sure recommend this hotel to friends. Hotel is in a small village without a lot going on but a very nice, quiet area and a perfect launch pad for all your travels in Chianti. If you want action and lots to walk to stay in Greve, if you want quaint, quiet country side stay here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Situated on a quiet street, 10 minutes drive from Greves and within easy reach to other parts of Chianti through some amazing roads. Small hotel with good spacious rooms, personalised service and a good honest restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
7.2 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fattoria Poggiarelli
Fattoria Poggiarelli
#9 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
3.8 mi away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#8 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Locanda Il Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Locanda Il Gallo

Address: Via Lando Conti 18 | Chiocchio, 50027 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#4 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Locanda Il Gallo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Restaurant "Locanda il Gallo" is supplied with all comforts, for a pleasant stay. Easy to reach, is a strategic point to discover the beauty of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Logis Locanda Il Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Locanda Il Gallo Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Logis Locanda Il Gallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.