We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Logis Locanda Il Gallo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Logis Locanda Il Gallo to your Saves list
Logis Locanda Il Gallo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lando Conti 18 | Chiocchio, 50020 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“small comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Situated on a quiet street, 10 minutes drive from Greves and within easy reach to other parts of Chianti through some amazing roads. Small hotel with good spacious rooms, personalised service and a good honest restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The owner was lovely and the food was amazing. I had been trying to learn Italian and he was most helpful and patient. The bedrooms were very comfortable and clean and I had the best might sleep of my trip in Italy. The location was quite central, however you would really need a car if you are staying here. There are a number of day trips that can be done easily from here, so it's a good place to base yourself.

There are wineries around, however the food was so good at the restaurant downstairs, we had dinner there every night. The owner is also quite knowledgeable about wine and the local area, so was very informative. Would definitely recommend this place, we felt very relaxed here and thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We didn't find it a problem, but if you are a light sleeper you may want one of the back rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the end of our Tuscan vacation. The hotel is small in a very quiet, pretty location a short drive from Greve. The owner is quite attentive and speaks fine English so he was very helpful with directions and suggestions. Our room was nicely furnished with a cosy balcony and good facilities. The highlight however is the food. By all means get the half board. There are several choices and the cooking is wonderful. The breads and croissants in the morning are first class and the coffee is the best we had on our trip. We found that staying at hotels a short distance out of the major tourist destinations was very relaxing with more personal service than in the towns.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I brought my parents and two friends here for two days.

The food is excellent. The atmosphere was very relaxed. The owner was extremely helpful.

I think this place is a little gem. The prices were reasonable. We never felt pressured at all (to leave the table for example). All of us loved the food.

It's always the little things. The quality of the breakfast was very good. There were different types of croissants and they were all fresh (and not industrial). Delicious fruit too.

I kind of got the feeling that the owner is aware that you don't over extend yourself or otherwise the quality will suffer. So the restaurant is not too big.

I will go back any time I go to Tuscanny. Incidentally the general area is very nice too.

There is a shaded terrace out the back if you would like a quiet drink too.

Obviously the owner needs to make a profit, but I got the feeling he likes his job and goes the extra mile to deliver very good value. I felt it was great value.

The rooms are large and have good air-conditioning.

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I would highly recommend this beautiful cosy hotel. Alessio was so welcoming and made us feel very at home. The food was beautiful and the menu had a great selection to choose from. Alessio makes a great coffee too! Would definitely stay here again. The hotel is located in Chiocchio on the way to Greve. Nice view from the hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We are just completing a four night stay and found everything to be above anything which we expected. This is a small hotel run with absolutely top notch service. it is extremely clean and well organized. We had a nice spacious room with a small balcony. Alessio, the proprietor was more than helpful in every aspect of our stay. He provided us with all the information we needed to enjoy the entire area, including sight seeing and wine tasting recommendations. The restaurant was above our expectations in every sense. It was full every night and probably 50% local clients. We spoke to one couple that drove down from Florence just to eat here. While this is not a gourmet restaurant in the truest sense, I think any one who considers themselves knowledgable of food would be very satisfied at both the cuisine and the prices. Highly Recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Nice small hotel on the main street in Chiocchio on the way to Greve in Chianti (about 5 km). Bus stop is right in front of hotel so very convenient. The view of the Tuscan countryside was amazing from the front of hotel. Clean large rooms with traditional motif. Large bathroom and shower. Nice balcony with table and chairs. Wi-fi works well in room. Nice owner, good service. The only potential downfall is that there is nothing nearby and you would need a car or bike (or time for a long walk) to get to the nearest winery for example. Still, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Logis Locanda Il Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Locanda Il Gallo

Address: Via Lando Conti 18 | Chiocchio, 50020 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#4 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Locanda Il Gallo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Logis Locanda Il Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Locanda Il Gallo Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Logis Locanda Il Gallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.