We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, a lovely setting, and fair prices.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casprini Da Omero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casprini Da Omero to your Saves list
Casprini Da Omero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68, Via Falcone, 50020 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Rome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great people, a lovely setting, and fair prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed here in September 2010, during the wine festival weekend in Greve. Luca's prices were incredibly fair to begin with, and when he discovered that there had been a tiny, tiny oversight in our booking, he went out of his way to fix everything, and in fact make it better than we had asked for. The garden and outdoor areas are lovely, and though we checked in too late to have dinner at the restaurant the first night, it looked charming (and our breakfast there was excellent). All three of us felt that we would stay here again, and that it's worth recommending.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Our stay did not start well when, on arrival, we were informed that the restaurant was closed. Given that the advertised in-house restaurant was a large part of our decision to stay there we were not impressed.

All of the doors required slamming to close resulting in broken sleep. The bathroom was tiny featured someone's poorly designed concept of a wet room. The main things that ended up getting wet were the bedroom floor and the toilet. The toilet seat was broken and resulted in injury to a certain male body part!

You can not trust the cleanliness either. In the morning we went for breakfast and when we came back the room had been cleaned. We weren't due to relinquish the room for another hour. Plenty of time to soil the sheets!
Oh, and don't leave any empty water bottles about. The stupid cleaner decided that we didn't want them any more and binned ours'.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bibisolo63, Direttore at Casprini Da Omero, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Dear Weelspin.
You booked the room through booking com. this service it's NOT owned by us, it's just a GDS where you can ONLY book rooms and not restaurant. After room reservation, you could just call and ask if the restaurant was off for the evening because it was opened for lunch but probably, you didn't need it, so you didn't mentioned.
You arrived and asked information about the surroundings. Hotels are not information offices : the services are guaranteed by the county or the province. You had your answer any way with the plan of all events in the surroinds of florence and after this research with ISDN 128kb/s (adsl do not exist here), you decided to change area, so was Siena.
Then you booked a twin room without bathroom and instead you had a room with bathroom at the same price.
At the end, I'm here with my face and instead you just have a nick name with a tower as representation. Well, I would be gracefull to "AVOID this people" coming here. Many whishes for greatfull 2011.
Your sincerely,

Luca C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

We discovered Casprini Da Omero in May 1997 and have stayed there on three different visits to Italy. It's a family-run operation. Lucca is the son of the owners and manages the hotel. His Dad, Lando, is the veteran wine broker who loves to give wine tours and provide samples, and talk in festive Italian about the good old days of Italian wine growing and winery battles for the number one rated Chianti ranking. Mom, Anna, is the restaurant matron of the kitchen who creates all the wonderful dishes homemade at the time you order. And Lucca's fiance Alessandra is the chef in training.

Don't stay here if you are expecting four stars, attentive service, and staff who speak English. Only Lucca speaks English. But DO stay here if you want to stay in a 200 year-old building with quaint features and furnishings, and rooms with baths. The hotel is about ten kilometers from Greve, in the village of Passo dei Pecorei, with only about 150 inhabitants, surrounded by vineyards and wineries. One of the world famous Ruffino wineries is literally behind the hotel and evening walks through the vineyards are fantastic! Staying here is a great way to enjoy the Italian countryside in a casual, relaxed, and quiet non-pretentious way.

  • Liked — Rustic, inexpensive, quiet location, scenic surrounding.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

My stay at the hotel Casprini, has been the most great experience as a tourist that travel very often in different country can have. The hotel is antique and beautifully maintened, the stuff is very friendly and helpfull, the food is incredibly good, homemade the most, and the wine is the best you can find in Tuscany. The owner, the great Lando and his family really takes allot of pride in what they do and honesty is what you find in this place. If you like to eat, this is the place for you, all the food is incredible, and the great chef, Anna Casprini and her helper Alessandra are impressive. The price, either for the hotel or the restaurant are very competitive and low for the value and the quality that you have back. The sorrounding landscape is beautiful and if you like to swim there is a brand new swimming pool ready for you, very very clean. In the night is easy to sleep because the place is very quite and the ancient walls are so tick that no noice goes tru them. My family and myself had a great experience with the Casprini's family and defenetely we look forward to see them again in the summer 2008.

  • Liked — food, wine, customer service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

My wife and I stayed with another couple on our 25th Anniversary tour of Italy and France in September 2004.

Drove around for a while till we found the spot. Google will assist greatly with that chore now.

The rooms were basic and not fancy. If you want that, look at a higher price point. There were no bellman at this motel so expect to move your own bags to your room.

It is not far from Greve, but you will need a car. Not sure about the local transportation.

The highlight of the 3 day stay was the food. Excellent local cuisine and wine made on the property. The waiter was a little gruff but warmed up to us on the second day.

If you are expecting the Sheraton or Hyatt, this is not the place for you. If you are expecting something of the local cuisine with satisfactory accomodations, Casprini Da Omero should fit the bill.

Stayed September 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

Please note that if you stay here you need your own transport and don't expect any help from the staff. When asked, the staff can neither offer any assistance or information on local taxi services or local festivals. I only had to stumble across a poster at the local bus stop to find out info on local events. The food in the joined on restaurant (the only one in walking distance) is very ordinary. My room was actually very pleasant. They purposely overcharged me by 10 euros per night than the agreed booked price. According to the hotel, I had never highlighted to them that my room had a bathroom when my booking was for a room without bathroom. I even agreed the price when I was given the key. Apparently it was my responsibility to tell them that I had been given something I hadn't asked for, clearly they were trying it on.
Shame a nice building, shame about the utterly unhelpful people who were running it.

  • Liked — Style of rooms
  • Disliked — Service on the front desk
  • Tips/Secrets — Get your own transport
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

Six of us (three couples) stayed at Casprini for three nights, and had a great time! The rooms, while not modern, were clean, and we also took a kitchenette, and cooked one dinner ourselves on a night when the very enjoyable hotel restaurant was closed. One of the best features was the fact that the intercity bus stops right in front of the hotel. From there, one can ride directly to the center of Firenze (Florence) in about 20 minutes. It is so much easier than trying to drive, find parking, and walk into the city from the periphery. We were also lucky enough to buy some of the excellent family wines, and get a tour of the wine cellars from an older gentleman named Lando. He spoke no english, but was very entertaining and very friendly! Also, there is a great outdoor dining area, covered with grape vines, that is used during the summer months. Very nice. Overall, great memories!

  • Stayed October 2002
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casprini Da Omero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casprini Da Omero

Address: 68, Via Falcone, 50020 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casprini Da Omero 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Passo dei Pecorai means Pass of the shepherds. It's a Etruscan place situated in a strategic place to visit Tuscany. It's easy to arrive, it's easy to go. The main street (SR2-SP3-SP222), which pass trough the village it was built as a railway connecting Florence to Greve in Chianti in 1870. In 1920 the railway was removed and it remains the straighter, the larger and the fastest way to arrive in Chianti. The Residence and "B&B" it's in part in the original house dating back at XVI century. Obviously spaces sometimes are limited or strange compared to new apartments or new rooms in a new building but this is the charm of old houses. At the moment you can find any solution for you: families with children, couples, singles, group of friends, bikers and even for handicapped. From normal rooms to small or large apartments completely furnished of linen, towels. (sponge for professional use, washed and air-dried here), forks, knives and so on. Beds and mattress are orthopaedic and usually large 85cm instead the more common 80cm. More comfortable. Rooms and apartments are furnished with original period furnishings restored and complemented by the modern style. The beds in wrought iron, terracotta floor and every time we find a unique piece, we integrate the furnishings. All apartments have independent boilers for heating and hot water. Each two rooms, the same. For any problem we'd never be totally without solution and not even you. We can change your room or apartment and we can work to fix without disturbing. All apartments and rooms have independent entrances so you free to came back even late at night. On the back side of the building there is a garden large about 7000mq, with tables, chairs and pool. Feel free to help yourself to find your better place and no service will be charged. Easy, simple and not expensive. Usually we do not need air condition but in all accommodations you will find fans Like all places closed to a river, in winter is cold humid, in summer, nights, are fresh and not conditioned by cement or asphalt as it happens in Florence for example. Degrees can be less than 10°C compared from down town. Really fantastic. Write down "Passo dei Pecorai" on your gps and you will arrive at the entrance. To be a historic place has some vantages as to be a geographic location. The village is well connected with Florence downtown by public transportation on working days, from Monday to Saturday included. You can leave your own car here and visit the city without problem of parking, including costs or traffic. Easy to reach all the touristic centres of Tuscany in maximum 1-1:30hr with your own car. Close by, there is our restaurant run by Casprini's since 1913. We prepare even jam for breakfast. Mostly of things are home-made including part of the starters and desserts. We have a marvellous collection of 32000 bottles of Chianti since 1911 and some important whisky bottles. Take a taste if you are gourmet. The hours are: - For breakfast: 08:00 to 10:30, - For lunch: 12:00-14:00, - For dinner: 19:00-21:30 (winter) 19:00 to 22:00 (summer). - Restaurant is closed on Wednesday For any needing do not hesitate to ask and welcome aboard. Glad to help everybody but the usual Tuscan, sarcastic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casprini Da Omero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casprini Da Omero Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casprini Da Omero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.