We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough around the edges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casprini Da Omero

Save Saved
You added Casprini Da Omero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casprini Da Omero
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Passo dei Pecorai 68 / 70, 50020 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Rough around the edges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First impressions count. When strolling into a country hotel, I don't expect to be greeted by servants throwing rose petals before my feet, but I also don't really expect the person at the front counter to be too interested in something on the internet to bother with checking us in. Even a feigned interest in serving us would have been better than the thinly veiled contempt that we were offered up. Still, it adds to the experience, we thought.

Then we got to the room, which was a little quaint, but given how cheap it was we figured it was awesome. Until the mosquitoes arrived. But you're in a valley in Italy in the summer, what do you expect? And they're not the ferocious jungle mosquitoes of the tropics, so harden up and stop pretending you're Bear Grylls in a desert sand storm.

But, from here on in things got decidedly better. Dinner was in the communal kitchen area, and was actually very nice. And once again, great value. But then, we discovered the wine cellar! They have a proper wine cellar that has been stashing thousands of bottles from the local vineyards that surround the hotel, for decades. And the price for a 40 year old bottle of red? About 80 euro, which is a lot, but for something like that it's nothing. And given you've just saved 80 euro on the accommodation, why not splurge a little on having a rare experience like a bottle of wine from the year you were born?

So sure, there are nicer hotels around, with friendlier staff and less mosquitoes, but this feels like a proper old-school Italian hotel, complete with old Italian wine and contemptuous middle-aged Italian hosts. What price can you put on an experience like that?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    5
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santorini, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Casprini da omero was by far one of the nicest hotels in that price. The location was fantastic the food excellent the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the stuff was adorable. I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I cant believe the negative reports on this place. It is a traditional family owned and run hotel/pensione. No, it is not a contemporary big city hotel, but you can stay in them in any city in the world. We travelled throughout Italy in 2011 and stayed at this lovely place just out of Greve. Imagine looking out your window over the grapevine draped pergola, with trees and view country views in the distance. Papa was trimming the vines (over the outdoor seating area/ beer garden), Nona was doing the housecleaning, and the family members were running the restaurant and the reception. Yes it is laid back and how wonderful. Staying in a local establishment run by locals, eating the local food and wine. It is not walking distance to Greve but it is only 5 minutes by car. We used it as a base. There is a bus stop nearby.They let us use the hotel washing machine, were super helpful even though not much English was spoken. The apartment (really three small rooms) was self contained. There is a garden out the back, area to sit and read, an above ground pool for kids or adults to cool off, trees and shade. This town has only a couple of other buildings in it and you need to go down the road to Grieve to shop. We found it easy to park in Grieve and shop at the local supermarket and visit all the tourist sites. We booked by email after going on the website and asking questions via email. The owners were most helpful. As it is a quiet place, I am guessing there would be some times when the restaurant may not open, but just ask! We look back at this stay as one of the most quaint we had on our trip. But then we prefer to experience life with the locals. The hotel is really a large old building that consists of apartments and double rooms, with the restaurant alongside- which was busy with local workers stopping in for lunch. How more authentic do you want to get!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks over the back garden over the pergola.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

the hotel itself was ok. very far from florence but we had a car s we didnt care so much. the room was nice, and relativly clean but! we had tons of mosquitoes, tiny tv, weird shower and the electricity went off every single night! Also the man at the counter was rude, he really could not care less about us; one day we came back and found ut he movd our things to a different room. he didnt mention breakfast we were supposed to get and didnt offer any help with the questions we had. now when i thonk about it- better to stay away

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

When I looked for accomodation in Greve in Chianti had checked the comments here and looked promisor. Once there we were receptioned by a man that had more interest in their computer than in us and made few or nothing efforts to provide us the basic information about the hotel and the city. At the same night we needed to change the room due problems with the shower. In the next room the shower had also problems and we had the worst bath of the trip. When discussing about the problem with the same man who receptioned us he was rude and we needed to stay at the room (fortunately it was only one night!). The room itself was large but dark and dirty. With 10 or 15 euros more it's possible to find a decent accomodation in Greve and this is what I'm going to do next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We wanted to spend a Saturday in Greve to go to one of the best markets in Tuscany and our usual hotel on the coast was full that night so we needed a stopover. Travelling with a teenage son, it was ideal that Casprini offer apartments with bedroom, living space, fridge , kitchenette, cooling fan, tv, shower room and extra beds for kids. We were able to check in and leave our luggage by 11am, giving us plenty of time for shopping at the market followed by a good lunch in Greve's main square. In the afternoon, we relaxed in the hotel garden, swam in the pool and cooled off before going out for drinks and then pizza in neighbouring towns in Chianti. We could also have eaten in the hotel's own outdoor, vine-covered restaurant. and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast next morning with grapes, yoghurt, juice, choice of croissants, bread and pastries and home-produced jams and honey. Friendly owners and staff, on-site parking and very reasonably priced. Not a luxury place, very simple service but clean, friendly, enjoyable and particularly suitable for families.

Room Tip: Check the room plans on the website and book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed here in September 2010, during the wine festival weekend in Greve. Luca's prices were incredibly fair to begin with, and when he discovered that there had been a tiny, tiny oversight in our booking, he went out of his way to fix everything, and in fact make it better than we had asked for. The garden and outdoor areas are lovely, and though we checked in too late to have dinner at the restaurant the first night, it looked charming (and our breakfast there was excellent). All three of us felt that we would stay here again, and that it's worth recommending.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casprini Da Omero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casprini Da Omero

Also Known As:
Casprini Da Omero Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany
Address: Loc. Passo dei Pecorai 68 / 70, 50020 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casprini Da Omero 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Casprini Da Omero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casprini Da Omero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.