We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do a favor for yourself and try other option” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casprini Da Omero

Save Saved
You added Casprini Da Omero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casprini Da Omero
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Passo dei Pecorai 68 / 70, 50020 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Porto Alegre, RS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Do a favor for yourself and try other option”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

When I looked for accomodation in Greve in Chianti had checked the comments here and looked promisor. Once there we were receptioned by a man that had more interest in their computer than in us and made few or nothing efforts to provide us the basic information about the hotel and the city. At the same night we needed to change the room due problems with the shower. In the next room the shower had also problems and we had the worst bath of the trip. When discussing about the problem with the same man who receptioned us he was rude and we needed to stay at the room (fortunately it was only one night!). The room itself was large but dark and dirty. With 10 or 15 euros more it's possible to find a decent accomodation in Greve and this is what I'm going to do next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    5
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We wanted to spend a Saturday in Greve to go to one of the best markets in Tuscany and our usual hotel on the coast was full that night so we needed a stopover. Travelling with a teenage son, it was ideal that Casprini offer apartments with bedroom, living space, fridge , kitchenette, cooling fan, tv, shower room and extra beds for kids. We were able to check in and leave our luggage by 11am, giving us plenty of time for shopping at the market followed by a good lunch in Greve's main square. In the afternoon, we relaxed in the hotel garden, swam in the pool and cooled off before going out for drinks and then pizza in neighbouring towns in Chianti. We could also have eaten in the hotel's own outdoor, vine-covered restaurant. and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast next morning with grapes, yoghurt, juice, choice of croissants, bread and pastries and home-produced jams and honey. Friendly owners and staff, on-site parking and very reasonably priced. Not a luxury place, very simple service but clean, friendly, enjoyable and particularly suitable for families.

Room Tip: Check the room plans on the website and book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed here in September 2010, during the wine festival weekend in Greve. Luca's prices were incredibly fair to begin with, and when he discovered that there had been a tiny, tiny oversight in our booking, he went out of his way to fix everything, and in fact make it better than we had asked for. The garden and outdoor areas are lovely, and though we checked in too late to have dinner at the restaurant the first night, it looked charming (and our breakfast there was excellent). All three of us felt that we would stay here again, and that it's worth recommending.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Our stay did not start well when, on arrival, we were informed that the restaurant was closed. Given that the advertised in-house restaurant was a large part of our decision to stay there we were not impressed.

All of the doors required slamming to close resulting in broken sleep. The bathroom was tiny featured someone's poorly designed concept of a wet room. The main things that ended up getting wet were the bedroom floor and the toilet. The toilet seat was broken and resulted in injury to a certain male body part!

You can not trust the cleanliness either. In the morning we went for breakfast and when we came back the room had been cleaned. We weren't due to relinquish the room for another hour. Plenty of time to soil the sheets!
Oh, and don't leave any empty water bottles about. The stupid cleaner decided that we didn't want them any more and binned ours'.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bibisolo63, Direttore at Casprini Da Omero, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Dear Weelspin.
You booked the room through booking com. this service it's NOT owned by us, it's just a GDS where you can ONLY book rooms and not restaurant. After room reservation, you could just call and ask if the restaurant was off for the evening because it was opened for lunch but probably, you didn't need it, so you didn't mentioned.
You arrived and asked information about the surroundings. Hotels are not information offices : the services are guaranteed by the county or the province. You had your answer any way with the plan of all events in the surroinds of florence and after this research with ISDN 128kb/s (adsl do not exist here), you decided to change area, so was Siena.
Then you booked a twin room without bathroom and instead you had a room with bathroom at the same price.
At the end, I'm here with my face and instead you just have a nick name with a tower as representation. Well, I would be gracefull to "AVOID this people" coming here. Many whishes for greatfull 2011.
Your sincerely,

Luca C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

We discovered Casprini Da Omero in May 1997 and have stayed there on three different visits to Italy. It's a family-run operation. Lucca is the son of the owners and manages the hotel. His Dad, Lando, is the veteran wine broker who loves to give wine tours and provide samples, and talk in festive Italian about the good old days of Italian wine growing and winery battles for the number one rated Chianti ranking. Mom, Anna, is the restaurant matron of the kitchen who creates all the wonderful dishes homemade at the time you order. And Lucca's fiance Alessandra is the chef in training.

Don't stay here if you are expecting four stars, attentive service, and staff who speak English. Only Lucca speaks English. But DO stay here if you want to stay in a 200 year-old building with quaint features and furnishings, and rooms with baths. The hotel is about ten kilometers from Greve, in the village of Passo dei Pecorei, with only about 150 inhabitants, surrounded by vineyards and wineries. One of the world famous Ruffino wineries is literally behind the hotel and evening walks through the vineyards are fantastic! Staying here is a great way to enjoy the Italian countryside in a casual, relaxed, and quiet non-pretentious way.

  • Liked — Rustic, inexpensive, quiet location, scenic surrounding.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

My stay at the hotel Casprini, has been the most great experience as a tourist that travel very often in different country can have. The hotel is antique and beautifully maintened, the stuff is very friendly and helpfull, the food is incredibly good, homemade the most, and the wine is the best you can find in Tuscany. The owner, the great Lando and his family really takes allot of pride in what they do and honesty is what you find in this place. If you like to eat, this is the place for you, all the food is incredible, and the great chef, Anna Casprini and her helper Alessandra are impressive. The price, either for the hotel or the restaurant are very competitive and low for the value and the quality that you have back. The sorrounding landscape is beautiful and if you like to swim there is a brand new swimming pool ready for you, very very clean. In the night is easy to sleep because the place is very quite and the ancient walls are so tick that no noice goes tru them. My family and myself had a great experience with the Casprini's family and defenetely we look forward to see them again in the summer 2008.

  • Liked — food, wine, customer service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

My wife and I stayed with another couple on our 25th Anniversary tour of Italy and France in September 2004.

Drove around for a while till we found the spot. Google will assist greatly with that chore now.

The rooms were basic and not fancy. If you want that, look at a higher price point. There were no bellman at this motel so expect to move your own bags to your room.

It is not far from Greve, but you will need a car. Not sure about the local transportation.

The highlight of the 3 day stay was the food. Excellent local cuisine and wine made on the property. The waiter was a little gruff but warmed up to us on the second day.

If you are expecting the Sheraton or Hyatt, this is not the place for you. If you are expecting something of the local cuisine with satisfactory accomodations, Casprini Da Omero should fit the bill.

Stayed September 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casprini Da Omero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casprini Da Omero

Also Known As:
Casprini Da Omero Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany
Address: Loc. Passo dei Pecorai 68 / 70, 50020 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casprini Da Omero 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Casprini Da Omero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casprini Da Omero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.