We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Mountain Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Ghiandaia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Ghiandaia to your Saves list
La Ghiandaia
Via Case Sparse 105 | Lucolena, 50020 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A Magical Mountain Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I loved my 5 day stay at La Ghiandaia. My room (the Rosa) was very comfortable and had everything I need. Everything was impeccably clean. After a day exploring the area, it was great to come home to make dinner to eat on my little terrace. However, I spent almost all of my time outside on the shared patio overlooking the spectacular mountain view.

Silvia and her family made me feel very welcome. They are lovely hosts! I really enjoyed talking to Silvia, her husband Luca, and especially her mother, Maria Teresa, all of whom speak excellent English.

It is about 20 minutes from Greve and 1.5 km up a private dirt road (with one rather scary hill), so you definitely escape into another magical world.

I loved every minute of my time at La Giandaia and would recommend it highly to all of my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The views from the apartment were amazing and the accommodation was beautifully decorated. The hosts, Sylvia and Luca were friendly and helpfully, even booking our Uffizi tickets in advance for us. The village is quite close to Figline which is well located on the trainline from Florence to Arrezo (and Rome) which meant we could visit both Florence and the jousting festival in Arrezo. There is also beautiful countryside with plenty of hiking trails and of course great food, the restaurant in Dudda served excellent food and is only a short drive away. I wish we could have spent longer exploring the local area, one week was not enough.....

Room Tip: We stayed in the Valle apartment which was on the top floor, it was very spacious and had great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We Visited La Ghiandaia this september and it was wonderfull! the view is amazing, the owner- Silvia is very welcoming and helpfull, she give us advices about places we should visit and restaurants in Chianti. We wormly recommand this place!
Tim&Luba.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The perfect view on an awesome landscape every morning for breakfast. La Ghiandaia, settled in the middle of nowhere is the perfect place to enjoy quietness of nature and go around by car to the cities and museums of Tuscany.
We really enjoyed our stay thanks to Lucas and Silvia, who are very kind and helpful people. It is less than 2 hours drive from any interesting place in Tuscany. So, it is good to have a car, and then enjoy everyday both the countryside and the cultural interests. Nice place, nice people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wow! How can I start?? Ok, it´s a bit tricky to find the way up in the mountains to this fantastic peaceful place. But once you´re there, you just can´t stop smiling. Everything was absolutely perfect for my boyfriend and me. The hosts Silvia and Luca, and by the way their family as well, are one of the most nicest people we ever stayed with. They really made us feel like long missed friends when we arrived, gave us many really good tipps and radiated such a passion for the place they live, the things they make, their family. Especially Luca when he explained the taste and colour of olive oil extra vergine or the changing seasons and every little special about it.
And by the way, the apartment is just lovely and unique. I miss my summer kitchen, half inside, half outside where you can cook and have a wonderful wide view into Tuscany at the same time...breathtaking.
The whole place seems to say:" Relax, eat pasta, dolci or drink the delicious Chianti wine...have a swim in the pool or hike in the mountains. And if you need to see older italian culture than in this place, you just jump in your car and visit wonderful Siena or Florence or one of the little tuscan villages!" We did all that and to be honest, it was always the best thing to come back to the marvellous stone house and sit outside our terrace enjoying the warm tuscan night with a glass of wine...
Silvia and Luca, many many thanks to you both and your lovely family for having us, we want to come back as soon as possible.
Jim and the girl who fought with the tiger

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The very positive reviews guided us to La Ghiandaia for 4 nights - which we extended to 5. Such a beautiful, tranquil location where the hosts, Silvia and Luca have worked so hard to make everything pretty perfect. The rooms were spacious, well appointed and full of character. The views are stunning. Yes, the road in is a bit of a nightmare, but who cares when the accommodation and situation exceeds expectations? Silvia and Luca put themselves out to advise and help and their whole family was charming. A wonderful few days. THANKS! We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomza, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Incredible location well worth steep access road. Amazing landscapes from the windows and the pool. Owners are friendly and very helpful, and are for You almost all the time. The rooms are old style and very tasteful. The house and forest around has certain fragrance, I' miss that already. Greetings to Silvia and Luca.
Dariusz and Marzanna with daugters.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Ghiandaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ghiandaia

Address: Via Case Sparse 105 | Lucolena, 50020 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Ghiandaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ghiandaia Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Ghiandaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.