We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can´t wait to go there again...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Ghiandaia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Ghiandaia to your Saves list
La Ghiandaia
Via Case Sparse 105 | Lucolena, 50020 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Wesel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can´t wait to go there again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wow! How can I start?? Ok, it´s a bit tricky to find the way up in the mountains to this fantastic peaceful place. But once you´re there, you just can´t stop smiling. Everything was absolutely perfect for my boyfriend and me. The hosts Silvia and Luca, and by the way their family as well, are one of the most nicest people we ever stayed with. They really made us feel like long missed friends when we arrived, gave us many really good tipps and radiated such a passion for the place they live, the things they make, their family. Especially Luca when he explained the taste and colour of olive oil extra vergine or the changing seasons and every little special about it.
And by the way, the apartment is just lovely and unique. I miss my summer kitchen, half inside, half outside where you can cook and have a wonderful wide view into Tuscany at the same time...breathtaking.
The whole place seems to say:" Relax, eat pasta, dolci or drink the delicious Chianti wine...have a swim in the pool or hike in the mountains. And if you need to see older italian culture than in this place, you just jump in your car and visit wonderful Siena or Florence or one of the little tuscan villages!" We did all that and to be honest, it was always the best thing to come back to the marvellous stone house and sit outside our terrace enjoying the warm tuscan night with a glass of wine...
Silvia and Luca, many many thanks to you both and your lovely family for having us, we want to come back as soon as possible.
Jim and the girl who fought with the tiger

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The very positive reviews guided us to La Ghiandaia for 4 nights - which we extended to 5. Such a beautiful, tranquil location where the hosts, Silvia and Luca have worked so hard to make everything pretty perfect. The rooms were spacious, well appointed and full of character. The views are stunning. Yes, the road in is a bit of a nightmare, but who cares when the accommodation and situation exceeds expectations? Silvia and Luca put themselves out to advise and help and their whole family was charming. A wonderful few days. THANKS! We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomza, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Incredible location well worth steep access road. Amazing landscapes from the windows and the pool. Owners are friendly and very helpful, and are for You almost all the time. The rooms are old style and very tasteful. The house and forest around has certain fragrance, I' miss that already. Greetings to Silvia and Luca.
Dariusz and Marzanna with daugters.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We had no idea what to expect and couldn't have been more delighted with location and
our apartment. Sylvia greeted us and was so helpful with direction, restaurants,
etc. We really felt at home. Sylvia and Luca were very accomodating, friendly and
very down to earth owners. Amazing scenery and a fabulous stay! Stay here if you find yourself in Tuscany! You won't
regret it.

Bernie and Julia
Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Spacious multi-room "apartments". He had 4 rooms, and plenty of space for 4 people.

On Wednesday night, the owner cooks a home cooked 5 course authentic Italian meal -- fantastic!

There was a nice pool and a soccer field.

The view was fabulous over the Tuscan country side (the farmhouse is up in the hills).

We went to Firenze one day (20 minute train ride). There are restaurants and a grocery store 15-20 minutes away. Greve is close, with shops and restaurants.

Owner was fabulously accomodating, helped with getting around, winearies, trains, etc.

We saw a deer and a well known fox came to dinner!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Toscany is one of the most beautiful places in Europe and you couldn't stay anywhere better as in la Ghiandaia. It breathes Toscany in every inch
An isolated authentic rural house with some of the best views you'll ever see.
The loacation, close to Greve is also ideal for exploring all the treasures of the Tuscan area.
Everything is there to make your holiday as special as it should be but the hospitality of the family makes it rise above other accomodations.
Silvia, Luca, la mamma and babbo, you couldn't dream for warmer, better hosts.

Wen staying in la Ghiandaia, you're part of the family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

If somebody must tell you about La Ghiandaia, it will be my family and me! We where there for my Grand-Fathers birthday. But we falled in love with the place and the staff(Hermete, Silvia, Luca and Teresa), 8 times we where there! Every year again, the same week. It's so beautiful out there. You can't imagine! But now my grand- father died, and we can't go anymore, but so, maybe, we go again in 2010!
I can't wait to be there again!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
5.0 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
4.0 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#8 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Buonasera
Villa Buonasera
#15 of 57 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
#17 of 57 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ghiandaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ghiandaia

Address: Via Case Sparse 105 | Lucolena, 50020 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Ghiandaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ghiandaia Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Ghiandaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.