We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Casello Country House B&B

Save Saved
You added Il Casello Country House B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Casello Country House B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Montagliari 26, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Special B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this delightful B & B early September. Our hosts Angelica and Paulo were very welcoming and very accommodating. The location of the B & B is stunning and set amongst the Chianti vineyards and rolling hills of Tuscany. The B & B is quiet with decent size rooms with private spacious bathroom facilities. It has a number of private areas inside and out to relax if that's want you are looking for. It is handy to Florence for a day visit as well as many other local attractions. Breakfast was more than adequate and all in all we had a very memorable 2 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    26
    3
    6
    0
See reviews for
18
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Meeting up with friends in the area, we stayed at Il Casello Country House in late September. The room was spacious and had a beautiful view of the fields behind the B&B. Breakfast was ample with a good selection of primarily cold items (salami/cheese/yogurt/cereals/fresh-baked item/fruit). Because the weather was good, we could enjoy breakfast outside, again with the view. The B&B is easy to get to, right off the main road between Greve and Panzano. We noticed the sound of some road noise during the day, but not at night. And mosquitoes got us through the open windows at night. (No screens. No A/C, which we didn't need, but would have allowed us to close the windows!) If in the area, we would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I just returned from two weeks in Italy. We arranged our lodging before we left, and we sure wished we could stay longer at Casello Country House! The B & B is located between Greve and Panzano and overlooks a valley of vineyards and olive groves. Our room was on the main floor with a door that opened to a lovely terrace surrounded by nicely placed covered tables and chairs. We enjoyed sitting in the sun and viewing the gorgeous surroundings. The owners are delightful and very helpful. Breakfast is served in a beautiful, lovely dining room, but the terrace is a better choice. While we were there, the full moon over the valley was beyond beautiful. We loved our stay here. The attractive landscaping adds to the pleasure of a stay at this B and B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The country house is comfortably located between Greve and Panzano on the highway, very quiet and serene. Paulo and Angelica take extra steps to make it feel like perfect home. Excellent breakfast, aesthetically done gardens and clean rooms. We could sit outside to enjoy morning breakfast or wine in the evenings. Paulo was very helpful in suggesting nearby places, ongoing wine festival and restaurants to visit. The B&B is ideal to be considered as a base to cover nearby villages and towns, great for a day trip to San Gimignano or Sienna. The Panzano, Volpaia and Castellina are just too beautiful, and all at very short drives.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Set in beautiful vineyards and olive groves, we were captivated by the beauty of this charming country house. Our hosts, Paulo and Angelica were delightful and so helpful and informative, even though our Italian was non-existent! Our room was spacious and cool and we loved the presence of cheerful Tako (the family dog) and various kittens as we wandered around the property.

We enjoyed cooling off in the beautiful pool and lovely walks to drink in the peace and serenity of this special place! Breakfast on the terrace every morning was delicious. We highly recommend a stay should you be in the Greve area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a fantastic stay for 7 nights at Il Casello. Angelica and Paulo went out of their way to make our stay special including gathering special ingredients for a birthday breakfast! The property is spectacular in a beautiful location overlooking vineyards and hills. We hired a car from Florence, a car is definitely needed to stay at this B&B. Lots of places to visit nearby. Only 10 minutes out of Greve and 3 minute drive from Panzano. Panzano is a delightful town with great eating options and wineries. It has more of a 'local' feel which we enjoyed. There are some AMAZING restaurants nearby and we did a fantastic cooking class just down the road. The pool is beautiful, gardens to the property are very well maintained. A great base for exploring and relaxing. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection. Nothing was ever too much trouble for Paulo and Angelica, they are very welcoming hosts and gave us great recommendations for places to visit and eat. A fantastic B&B, highly recommended!! We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at II Casello B&B for 3 nights in Sept 2013. We were warmly greeted by Angelica and Tako (the cute dog). Our room was very clean, very nicely decorated. The breakfast was very nicely laid out, and lots to choose from. Paolo was very helpful in suggesting which wineries to go to, and the wine festival we attended at Panzano (as suggested by Angelica ) was fabulous, as we got to try some beautiful Chianti wines. Very well run B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Casello Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casello Country House B&B

Address: Montagliari 26, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Il Casello Country House B&B 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Casello Country House B&B is an old Tuscan farmhouse that offers accommodation in charming rooms or self catering apartments. Located just outside the well-known wine town of Greve in Chianti, halfway between the cities of Florence and Siena, it is a perfect base for exploring this part of Tuscany.Our staff speak English, Italian, French, Spanish and Portugese and are always happy to give information and organise museum and restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Casello Country House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Casello Country House Hotel Greve In Chianti
Il Casello Country House Bed And Breakfast
Il Casello Country House B&B Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Casello Country House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.